ATTORNEY GENERAL DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

33 CAPITOL STREET CONCORD, NEW HAMPSHIRE 03301-6397

GORDON J. MACDONALD
ATTORNEY GENERAL



JANE E. YOUNG DEPUTY ATTORNEY GENERAL

LAW ENFORCEMENT MEMORANDUM

TO:

All New Hampshire Law Enforcement Agencies

All New Hampshire County Attorneys

FROM:

Gordon J. MacDonald, Attorney General

Colonel Kevin J. Jordan, New Hampshire Fish and Game Department and Chairman, New Hampshire Law Enforcement Officers' Memorial Association

DATE: May 14, 2020

RE: Roll of Honor of New Hampshire's Fallen Heroes

This is National Police Week and Friday, May 15, 2020, is Peace Officers Memorial Day. Unfortunately, due to the current public health crisis that this country and the State of New Hampshire are facing, the Law Enforcement Officers' Memorial Association made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 Memorial Ceremony at the New Hampshire Law Enforcement Memorial in Concord. At that annual ceremony, we honor and recognize the dedication and

bravery of those law enforcement and correctional officers who made the ultimate sacrifice.

We did not want this week to pass without recognizing the bravery and dedication of all the men and women serving our communities and state as law enforcement officers and the sacrifices they all make to keep our state safe and secure. We also want to recognize those New Hampshire Fallen Heroes, along with their Agencies, who sacrificed their lives in the protection of all New Hampshire citizens. We especially recognize the unimaginable sacrifices made by the families and friends of these Fallen Heroes who have had to endure not only the pain but the emptiness left by the loss of their loved one.

At this annual ceremony, the Attorney General has the distinct honor of reading the names of each Fallen Hero and the Agency for which they worked at the end of their watch. The reading of the Roll of Honor is the most solemn part of each of these ceremonies.

Attached to this Memorandum is the Roll of Honor. We ask that each Agency leader distribute this Memorandum and the Roll of Honor to all officers and that, during each shift, there be a moment of silence for these heroes.

New Hampshire Roll of Honor

Deputy Sheriff John S. Walker Sr.

Cheshire County Sheriff's Department

Officer George E. Pray

Dover Police Department

Officer Charles H. Dolloff

Laconia Police Department

Deputy Sheriff Charles E. Smith

Strafford County Sheriff's Department

Sergeant Henry McAllister

Manchester Police Department

Inspector William M. Moher

Manchester Police Department

Assistant Marshal John McDonough

Dover Police Department

Officer Albert L. Colson

Exeter Police Department

Officer James Roche

Nashua Police Department

Sheriff Elect Harry M. Leavitt

Carroll County Sheriff's Department

Trooper Raymond Elliott

New Hampshire State Police

Chief Andrew T. Malloy

Lancaster Police Department

Trooper Harold B. Johnson

New Hampshire State Police

Chief Fred T. Towle

Colebrook Police Department

Officer Michael Latvis

Nashua Police Department

Lieutenant Ivan H. Hayes

New Hampshire State Police

Officer George F. Garceau

Hillsborough County Corrections

Officer Joseph H. Platt

Northumberland Police Department

Officer Edward C. Graziano

Nashua Police Department

Conservation Officer William O. Mooney

New Hampshire Fish and Game Department

Conservation Officer Gary E. Waterhouse

New Hampshire Fish and Game Department

Assistant Chief Louis A. Sheets

Farmington Police Department

Officer Robert F. Devoid

Berlin Police Department

Officer Dorman O. Wheelock

Berlin Police Department

Officer Jerome O. Piet

Gorham Police Department

Corrections Officer Robert C. Prescott

Rockingham County Corrections

Conservation Officer James H. Clark

New Hampshire Fish and Game Department

Acting Chief Armand J. Roussel

Nashua Police Department

Chief Charles S. B. Knowles

Seabrook Police Department

Lieutenant Robert Hollis Jr.

Durham Police Department

Sergeant Paul G. Brodeur

Berlin Police Department

Officer Ralph W. Miller

Manchester Police Department

Trooper Richard F. Champy

New Hampshire State Police

Officer Donald R. Kowalski

Somersworth Police Department

Supervisor William E. O'Neil Sr.

Jaffrey Police Department

Chief James H. Collins

Hanover Police Department

Sergeant Thomas C. Kelly

Derry Police Department

Trooper Gary Parker

New Hampshire State Police

Trooper Joseph E. Gearty

New Hampshire State Police

Chief Ralph C. Brooks

Antrim Police Department

Deputy Sheriff Donald E. Callahan

Merrimack County Sheriff's Department

Sergeant James S. Noyes

New Hampshire State Police

Officer Melvin A. Keddy

East Kingston Police Department

Lieutenant Donald Eaton

Auburn Police Department

Trooper Leslie G. Lord

New Hampshire State Police

Trooper Scott Phillips

New Hampshire State Police

Officer Jeremy T. Charron

Epsom Police Department

Officer Michael L. Briggs

Manchester Police Department

Corporal N. Bruce McKay, III

Franconia Police Department

Chief Michael P. Maloney

Greenland Police Department

Officer Stephen J. Arkell

Brentwood Police Department

Please honor these fifty-one officers listed above as well as:

- The memory of all officers who died outside the line of duty.
- The memory of the New Hampshire Officers who died in the line of duty outside of the State of New Hampshire.
- The memory of those soldiers who continue to fight so bravely and have given their lives to protect our freedoms.
- The recognition of the daily sacrifices of all living officers.
- The recognition of those officers injured in the line of duty.

The Law Enforcement Officer's Memorial serves as a reminder to all of us as to how much we owe to the men and women who put their lives on the line to protect our families and our communities every day. It should also serve as a reminder to all of us of the sacrifices made by these officers and their families. We must never forget those sacrifices.

We are looking forward to seeing you all at the 2021 annual Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Ceremony.