New HampshireDepartment of JusticeOffice of the Attorney General

News Release

For Immediate Release
December 14, 2015

John W. Garrigan, Attorney
Consumer Protection Bureau
(603) 271-1252

Attorney General Resolves Allegations of Consumer Protection Act Violations Against Hinsdale, NH Veterinarian

Attorney General Joseph A. Foster announces that the Consumer Protection Bureau has entered into Assurances of Discontinuance with Dr. Carlton Kibbee, DVM and Paula Fitzpatrick to resolve allegations that their veterinary practice engaged in unfair or deceptive business practices in violation of the New Hampshire Consumer Protection Act.

Dr. Kibbee and Ms. Fitzpatrick own and operate Animal Fitness on Monument Road in Hinsdale, NH. Dr. Kibbee is a licensed veterinarian. Ms. Fitzpatrick is not licensed to perform veterinary medicine.

The Department of Justice began an investigation into Animal Fitness after customers filed complaints to the State Board of Veterinary Medicine indicating that Ms. Fitzpatrick was performing veterinary work without a license. The investigation found that Ms. Fitzpatrick had been performing exams on animals, administering vaccinations and anesthetics, and treating animals without Dr. Kibbee's supervision and during times when Dr. Kibbee was not at the practice. Some Animal Fitness customers who contacted the State indicated that they believed that Ms. Fitzpatrick was a licensed veterinarian based on their interactions with her. Animal Fitness's advertisements and website did not distinguish that Dr. Kibbee was the only licensed veterinarian at Animal Fitness and that Ms. Fitzpatrick was not licensed to perform veterinary medicine.

Dr. Kibbee and Ms. Fitzpatrick entered into separate Assurances with the Attorney General's Office. Under the terms of the Assurances, Dr. Kibbee and Ms. Fitzpatrick agree to comply with the Consumer Protection Act and the Veterinary Practice Act. Ms. Fitzpatrick agreed to cease performing veterinary medicine without a veterinary license. Ms. Fitzpatrick must pay $1,000 to the State in lieu of a civil penalty and must reimburse the State $1,500 for the cost of the investigation.

Any person with a consumer protection complaint can file a complaint with the Attorney General's Office at: Consumers can also call the Attorney General's Consumer Information Line at 1-888-468-4454.

New Hampshire Department of Justice
1 Granite Place South | Concord, NH | 03301
Telephone: 603-271-3658