New HampshireDepartment of JusticeOffice of the Attorney General

Victims' Compensation Program Frequently Asked Questions

Questions asked of the Victims' Compensation Program.

Who Can Get Help?

What Must I do To Get Help?

How Long Will It Take?

What Costs May Be Paid?

How To Contact Our Office

Commission Meeting Dates

back to topWho Can Get Help?

  • Any person who sustains physical and/or mental injuries in a felony or misdemeanor crime, which occurred in New Hampshire.
  • Any person who sustains personal injury because of persons driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances in New Hampshire.
  • Immediate family members of a homicide victim.
  • New Hampshire residents injured by any of the above crimes in a country without a compensation program may also be eligible.

back to topWhat Must I do To Get Help?

  • You must report the crime to local law enforcement, unless there is a reasonable explanation why you did not.
  • You must file an application with the commission within 2 years from the date of the crime, unless there is a reasonable explanation why you could not.
  • You must cooperate with the reasonable requests of law enforcement officers and prosecutors in their investigation or prosecution of the crime, unless there is a reasonable explanation why you could not.
  • You must incur at least $100.00 in out-of-pocket loss or liability as a direct result of the crime.
  • You must not have contributed in any way to the injury or death.
  • You must not have been assisting in or committing a criminal act causing your injuries.

back to topHow Long Will It Take?

Once the program receives your application, you will be contacted by mail or email within 2 weeks. Program staff will contact the law enforcement agency where you reported the crime, and request the police reports. Once law enforcement or prosecution provides this office with the requested reports, we will submit your claim to the Commission for review and decision.

It may take several months or longer to determine if you can be helped by the program. You can help speed up the process by responding as soon as possible to requests for additional information/documentation.

back to topWhat Costs May Be Paid?

The program can help with the following types of crime-related losses, which are not covered by insurance or other resources, in an amount not to exceed a total of $30,000.00 per primary victim:

  • Medical and dental care;
  • Mental health counseling (up to $4,000 at the cap of $90.00/hour for individual therapy);
  • Lost wages;
  • Loss of support for the dependents of homicide victims;
  • Funeral, burial and grave marker costs for homicide victims (up to the cap of $7,000 for funeral and grave marker and $3,000 for burial costs);
  • Relocation expenses (Need to meet with Crisis Center Advocate)
  • 10 days of temporary emergency funds (Need to meet with Crisis Center Advocate)
  • Replacement of window and door locks;
  • Installation and one-year of monitoring for security systems (up to the cap of $3,000);
  • Mileage for crime-related health care appointments, court, meeting with prosecutors and advocates.
  • Other eligible out-of-pocket expenses.

The program does not have authority to award money for property loss or pain and suffering.

It is important to note that hospitals and medical providers may not bill a victim or their family for a forensic sexual assault examination. The cost for this type of exam should be direct billed to the Victims' Compensation Program by the health care provider, IF the victim does not have insurance or opts not to use their insurance.

back to topHow To Contact Our Office

New Hampshire Victims' Compensation Program
Department of Justice
33 Capitol Street
Concord, NH 03301-6397
Telephone: (603) 271-1284
Toll Free: 1-800-300-4500 (in NH only)
TDD Access Relay NH 1-800-735-2964
Email: victimcomp@doj.nh.gov

back to topCommission Meeting Dates

The meeting schedule for the Commission is:

  • March 18, 2021
  • April 15, 2021
  • May 20, 2021
  • June 17, 2021
  • July 15, 2021
  • August 19, 2021
  • September 16, 2021
  • October 21, 2021
  • November 18, 2021
  • December 16, 2021

at

Department of Justice Office Building
33 Capitol Street
Concord, NH
(See Receptionist on the Main Floor)

If you need more information, please contact:

NH Victims' Compensation Program
33 Capitol Street
Concord, NH 03301-6397
(603) 271-1284 or victimcomp@doj.nh.gov

New Hampshire Department of Justice
33 Capitol Street | Concord, NH | 03301
Telephone: 603-271-3658