New Hampshire Department of Justice
New Hampshire Department of Justice - an official New Hampshire Government Web site
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size

Section 5, Federal Voting Rights Act

Ten New Hampshire towns are subject to section 5 of the federal Voting Rights Act. Changes to New Hampshire election laws that affect any of these ten towns must be submitted for review by either the Federal Department of Justice or the Federal District Court for Washington DC. The federal Department of Justice will review the changes to New Hampshire's State Senate and House districts to ensure that the change does not have the effect of denying or abridging the right to vote on account of race or color, or membership in a language minority group. Changes to New Hampshire redistricting statutes have been submitted to, and approved by, the US Justice Department since the 1980 census. Federal regulations require that the public be notified that the State has filed a request for preclearance and that the submission be available for public inspection.

The public is invited to make comments on the request directly to the Federal Department of Justice. Telephone 1-800-253-3931 or (202) 307-2385 or write Chief, Voting Section, Civil Rights Division, Room 7354 – NWB, Department of Justice, 950 Pennsylvania Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20530. The envelope and first page should be marked "Comment under section 5."

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.

New Hampshire Department of Justice | 33 Capitol Street | Concord, NH | 03301
Telephone: 603-271-3658