New HampshireDepartment of JusticeOffice of the Attorney General

Civil Rights UnitOther Enforcement Mechanisms

This page provides links to some additional civil rights laws and enforcement agencies. These links do not cover all rights that may apply in a particular circumstance and should not be considered legal advice.

New Hampshire Laws And Enforcement Agencies

  • New Hampshire Law Against Discrimination: The New Hampshire Law Against Discrimination covers discrimination in employment, housing, and places of public accommodations. The list of people protected by the law varies depending on the activity involved.

    The New Hampshire Commission for Human Rights administers and enforces the New Hampshire Law Against Discrimination. The Commission accepts and investigates discrimination complaints. Learn more about the complaint process…

    The New Hampshire Attorney General also has authority to enforce New Hampshire anti-discrimination statutes like the New Hampshire Law Against Discrimination. File a civil rights complaint…

  • Workplace Rights: The New Hampshire Department of Labor enforces workplace rights, such as rights to minimum wage, to timely payment of wages, and to a safe workplace. Filing a workplace complaint…

  • Hate Crimes: State and local law enforcement respond to and investigate crimes. If you are in need of immediate assistance, you should call 911. Otherwise, to report a crime, you should first contact your local law enforcement agency. If you believe that you or someone you know is the victim of a hate crime – that is, one that was substantially motivated because of hostility towards your religion, race, creed, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, or sex – you should also contact the Civil Rights Unit.

Federal Laws And Enforcement Agencies

  • Disability: The Americans with Disabilities Act ("ADA") is a civil rights law that prohibits discrimination against individuals with disabilities in all areas of public life, including jobs, schools, transportation, and all public and private places that are open to the general public. Several federal agencies enforce different sections of the ADA.

    The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission enforces Title I of the ADA.

    The U.S. Department of Education, like many other federal agencies, enforces Title II of the ADA, which prohibit discrimination in programs or activities that receive federal financial assistance from the department.

    The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) also enforces Title II of the ADA relating to access to programs, services and activities receiving HHS federal financial assistance. This includes ensuring that people who are deaf or hard-of-hearing have access to sign language interpreters and other auxiliary aids in hospitals and clinics when needed for effective communication.

  • Employment: Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits employers with 15 or more employees from refusing to hire, firing, or otherwise discriminating against an individual because of race, color, religion, sex, or national origin. The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission accepts and investigates complaints under Title VII.  File A Charge of Discrimination…

  • Education: There are many civil rights laws related to education.  Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits discrimination in public schools and institutions of higher learning on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, and religion.  The Equal Educational Opportunities Act of 1974 requires schools to provide services to English Language Learner students.  Title IX provides that recipients of federal funds may not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, or disability. The U.S. Justice Department's Civil Rights Division enforces these and other provisions of federal law, and accepts complaints of discrimination in education.

  • Housing: The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of housing based on race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, and familial status (pregnancy or having a child under 18). The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development acceptscomplaints of discrimination in housing.

  • Voting: The Civil Rights Division at the U.S. Department of Justice enforces federal laws prohibiting voter discrimination on the basis of race, color, or membership in a language minority group. Federal law also has provisions specific to voters with disabilities and members of uniformed services. How to file a complaint about voting issues …

  • Public Accommodations: Title II of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits discrimination in hotels, motels, restaurants, theaters, and all other places of public accommodation. The Civil Rights Division at the U.S. Department of Justice enforces Title II. Contact Title II…

  • Service members and Veterans: Uniformed Services Employment & Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) prohibits employment discrimination because of past or current military service and provides civilian reemployment rights in some circumstances. The United States Department of Labor enforces USERRA. You can file a USERRA complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor. The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA) provides a variety of protections for military members entering active duty in areas such as rental agreements, loan interest rates, foreclosure, eviction, insurance, and tax payments.  To make a complaint under the SCRA, start by contacting your military legal assistance office through this office locator.

Portable Document Format Symbol Portable Document Format (.pdf). Visit for a list of free .pdf readers for a variety of operating systems.

New Hampshire Department of Justice
33 Capitol Street | Concord, NH | 03301
Telephone: 603-271-3658