New Hampshire Department of Justice
New Hampshire Department of Justice - an official New Hampshire Government Web site
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size

News Release

For Immediate Release
October 17, 2013

Contact:
Catherine L. Bernhard, Senior Assistant Attorney General
NH Insurance Department Fraud Prosecutor
(603) 271-2898 or (603) 271-7973 x 235

State of NH v. Sharon Rolfe

On October 15, 2013, Ms. Sharon Rolfe of Auburn, NH pleaded guilty to one Class A felony insurance fraud in Rockingham County Superior Court. She was sentenced to 12 months at the House of Corrections, deferred for one year and a conditional discharge for three years upon good behavior. The court imposed a fine of $2,000 with $500 due immediately and $1,500 suspended for two years.

The investigation revealed that on May 29, 2012, Sharon Rolfe telephoned her insurance agent asking for quotes to add her son to her automobile policy. During the call, Ms. Rolfe was informed that her auto policy lapsed on October 6, 2011, and she requested quotes for a new policy. She purchased an auto policy with Progressive on May 30, 2012. On June 1, 2012, Ms. Rolfe telephoned Progressive to report that on May 31, 2012, she damaged the side of her car when she struck a rock as she swerved to avoid an animal in the road. The claim for damages to her car totaled approximately $8,000. The investigation into this matter by Progressive and the NH Insurance Department showed that Ms. Rolfe was involved in a single car accident on May 29, 2012 at a time when she had no insurance.

Attorney General Foster and the Commissioner Sevigny warn consumers that this is a form of insurance fraud called "past posting insurance." The crime is committed when an uninsured driver is involved in an accident, purchases insurance, and then, like Ms. Rolfe, falsely reports that the accident occurred after the insurance was in effect. Unfortunately, this scheme is very familiar to insurance companies and the NH Insurance Department. RSA 417:28 requires insurance companies to report any suspected insurance claims to the NH Insurance Department Fraud Unit for investigation and prosecution within 60 days. This investigation was completed as collaboration between the NH Attorney General's Office and the NH Insurance Department Insurance Fraud Unit.


New Hampshire Department of Justice | 33 Capitol Street | Concord, NH | 03301
Telephone: 603-271-3658