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PREFACE 
Child abuse and neglect is a significant problem that can have long lasting consequences 

for children, their families and communities.  Extensive research has demonstrated the 
lifelong negative impacts on health and function that result from adverse childhood 
experiences, particularly abuse and neglect.  Recognizing and responding to child abuse and 
neglect should be a top priority for institutions, agencies and professionals throughout the 
country.   

During Federal Fiscal Year 2018, child welfare agencies across the United States 
received an estimated 4.3 million referrals regarding child abuse or neglect involving 
approximately 7.8 million children.  Additionally in the same timeframe, an estimated 1,770 
died from abuse and neglect.1  

In New Hampshire, 19,478 referrals were made to DCYF with 12,361 being screened in 
during State Fiscal Year 2019.  During this same timeframe, 30,091 children received 
services from DCYF in all open assessment cases.2  New Hampshire’s Child Advocacy 
Centers (CAC) conducted 1,900 interviews with child victims during 2019, and of those 
children, 26 percent were between the ages of 0-6; 38 percent were between 7-12, and 36 
percent were between 13-18. 

The primary objectives of this protocol are: 

• To establish best practice guidelines for the multidisciplinary response to child abuse 
and neglect cases; 

• To minimize the physical and psychological trauma to the victim of child abuse or 
neglect by responding in a compassionate, sensitive and non-judgmental manner; 

• To ensure the opportunity for comprehensive medical care to the child abuse or 
neglect victim; and 

• To hold perpetrators accountable by keeping the investigation focused on the 
perpetrator’s behavior and actions.  

 

HISTORY OF THE NEW HAMPSHIRE CHILD ABUSE 
AND NEGLECT PROTOCOL 

The Attorney General’s Task Force on Child Abuse and Neglect was established in 1989 
with statewide representation from the medical, mental health, legal, law enforcement, victim 
advocacy, forensic science and child protection communities.  The Task Force’s mission is to 
improve the identification, investigation, assessment, prosecution and treatment of child 
abuse and neglect cases in New Hampshire.  In 1993, the Task Force introduced the first 

                                                 
1 U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, Administration 

on Children, Youth and Families, Children’s Bureau. (2020). Child Maltreatment 2018. Available from 
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/cb/research-data-technology /statistics-research/child-maltreatment. 

2 Annual Data Book, 2019.  NH Department of HHS, DCYF 
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multidisciplinary protocols entitled: Child Abuse and Neglect: Protocols for the 
Identification, Reporting, Investigation, Prosecution and Treatment.  A second revised 
edition of the protocols was released in 1998.  

During the 2001-2002 New Hampshire Legislative Session, two bills with similar intent 
were considered.  The end result was a joint recommendation to move towards the 
development of a Child Advocacy Center (CAC) in each of New Hampshire’s ten counties.  
This recommendation utilized the existing Child Advocacy Center of Rockingham County 
(CACRC) as a model. 

In 2003, using the CACRC as a model, an orientation on the collaborative joint 
investigative approach of a CAC was developed and delivered to the other nine counties.  
The result of this effort was the establishment of the New Hampshire Network of Child 
Advocacy Centers (NHNCAC).  NHNCAC’s purpose was to promote an integrated, 
multidisciplinary team (MDT) response to child abuse throughout the state.  

During the 2006 New Hampshire legislative session, the NHNCAC, in collaboration with 
the Attorney General’s Office, the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), and 
law enforcement, worked to pass Senate Bill 370, which created legislation enabling the 
multidisciplinary child abuse team model in New Hampshire.   

As a result of Senate Bill 370 and the collaboration of everyone involved, the Child 
Abuse and Neglect Protocol was updated in 2008 to reflect the development of CACs in New 
Hampshire as a best practice model for handling child abuse and neglect cases.  

Since 2008 there have been significant changes, both in legislation and in practice, that 
impact the assessment, investigation and collaborative approach to handling child abuse and 
neglect cases.  This protocol is an update to the 2008 edition and reflects such changes in 
practice.  

PURPOSE STATEMENT 
It is the expectation of the New Hampshire Attorney General’s Office, the Department of 

Health and Human Services and the Granite State Children’s Alliance that all disciplines 
involved in the response to child abuse and neglect cases will work collaboratively.  The 
complexity of these cases requires cooperative efforts by all professionals involved, not only 
to assess and investigate reports of child abuse or neglect, but also to assist those affected and 
in need of supportive intervention.  No one person or agency can effectively deal with these 
issues alone.   

This protocol is designed to promote the goals and procedures necessary to successfully 
respond to cases of child abuse and neglect, utilizing a cooperative, multidisciplinary 
approach.  Understanding the diversity of the various roles, responsibilities and philosophies 
within each professional discipline, coupled with cooperation and mutual respect, will result 
in a professional, coordinated response, with the least amount of trauma to the children and 
families involved.   

This is particularly important when there is joint investigation involving law enforcement 
and DCYF.  The benefits of DCYF and law enforcement using a collaborative, 
multidisciplinary team approach include the following: 
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• The trauma experienced by children is reduced; 
• Allegations of abuse and neglect are more thoroughly investigated; 
• Relevant questions are asked, and interactions, body language, and presenting 

conditions are observed; 
• The professionals involved are able to share and test impressions, observations, and 

theories during this process; and  
• Interviews are conducted with representatives of both agencies present.  Thus, the 

child and family are spared the hardship of unnecessary and multiple interviews. 

TRAINING 
Child abuse and neglect cases are complex.  They require sophisticated interdisciplinary 

intervention.  It is critical that all professionals who handle child abuse and neglect cases are 
properly trained, feel comfortable working with children, and are willing to work in 
collaboration with other professional disciplines.  Depending on the profession, 
recommended training should include: applicable laws and court procedures; offender 
motivation; victim responses; proper investigative interviewing techniques; 
investigation/assessment strategies; evidence recognition and collection; interrogation 
techniques; and resources and services available for both victims and families.  All 
professionals can benefit from training on the neurobiology of trauma and how it impacts 
children.  Continuing education and skill enhancement is critical for the development of 
expertise. 

A best practice recommendation is that professionals involved in the multidisciplinary 
team interview process will have attended a nationally recognized investigative interviewer 
training.  

SELF CARE 
Although all of the disciplines included in this protocol are accustomed to addressing 

needs that can arise from the propensity for people to mistreat one another, instances of child 
abuse and neglect can be emotionally distressing and exceptionally challenging to process.  
Each person who serves these victims, regardless of their discipline, is subject to the effects 
of direct and vicarious trauma that these cases can bring.  In order to best serve these children 
and their families, it is of the utmost importance that all professionals working in this area 
take care of their own mental and physical health.  Adequate rest, debriefing with peers, 
social connections, time away from work and other self-care practices, along with seeking 
professional help when needed, are essential steps in maintaining effectiveness and 
sustaining a sense of satisfaction about this work.  
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POLICY  
This protocol represents a model - an ideal - for New Hampshire’s handling of child 

abuse and neglect cases.  It was developed with the recognition that an individual agency’s 
ability to follow the recommended guidelines, will depend, to some degree on available 
resources and the facts surrounding each case.  The purpose of this protocol is to define a 
standard to which all agencies involved in the handling of these cases should strive.  It is 
not intended to create substantive rights for individuals.  The goal is to provide a safe 
environment for the evaluation of child abuse and neglect, coordinated services to victims 
and families, and community education.  Consistent compliance with the procedures set 
forth in this protocol provide a trauma-informed approach to the state’s response to 
child abuse and neglect.   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  

The authors of this protocol acknowledge that the professionals involved in 
the multidisciplinary response to child abuse or neglect may utilize different 
language when referencing the person who may have abused or neglected a 
child, and that those terms may change during the course of a discipline’s 
interaction with that person.  These terms include alleged offender, alleged 
perpetrator, accused, offender, perpetrator, respondent, defendant, 
suspect, parent, or abuser.  For consistency within the protocol, and ease of 
the reader, perpetrator is utilized throughout to reference that person.  
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CULTURAL CONSIDERATIONS 
Issues surrounding child abuse and neglect are surprisingly similar across demographic 

lines, age, race, ethnicity, economic status, education, employment status or occupation, 
religious affiliation, urban, suburban or rural residency, immigration status, sexual 
orientation, gender identity, physical and mental disabilities, and marital status.   

Multidisciplinary team members or anyone else working with children and families who 
experience abuse or neglect, should approach attaining cultural competency with an open 
mindedness toward learning about cultures other than one’s own, a readiness to explore one’s 
own biases, and a willingness to see each person, regardless of what community they come 
from, as an individual. 

There are specific ways the criminal justice and child protection systems can address the 
challenges faced by particular cultural and demographic groups.  Professionals within 
multidisciplinary teams investigating child abuse and neglect must have some understanding 
of the barriers faced by groups that are marginalized within today’s society in order to better 
understand how to create policies and procedures that help to eliminate many of the 
obstacles.  

The most successful way to address the needs of all victims is to listen 
to each victim’s story and individual needs, and ensure that resources are 

available. 
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RECOGNIZING CHILD ABUSE 
The first step in helping abused and neglected children is learning to recognize the signs 

and symptoms of child abuse and neglect.  Although these can be divided into different 
categories, they are often found in combination.  

The symptoms listed below are neither exhaustive nor prove abuse, however, they can be 
red flags which may alert individuals to the possibility of abuse or neglect. 

SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS THAT MAY INDICATE SEXUAL ABUSE 
• Genital pain/itching/odors, diagnosis of a sexually transmitted disease or frequent 

urinary infections; 
• Torn/stained/bloody under clothing; 
• Sexualized behavior; 
• Extreme changes in behavior and attitudes; 
• Abrupt and extreme changes in sleep patterns; 
• Depression or excessive crying; 
• Regressive behaviors (i.e., thumb sucking or bed wetting in an older child); 
• Anxious or aggressive behavior toward adults; 
• Fear of a specific location or person; 
• Extreme fears or phobias that are sudden and out of character for a child; 
• Sexual knowledge beyond what is expected of a child’s age; 
• Noticeable change in academic performance; 
• Self-destructive behavior in the form of risk taking, running away, cutting or 

substance abuse; 
• Repeated sexual “play” or coercive sexual behavior, especially with younger 

children; 
• Showing an unusual interest in their own genitals or the genitals of peers, adults or 

animals; 
• Withdrawal or isolation; 
• Difficulty walking or sitting; and 
• Selective mutism. 

SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS THAT MAY INDICATE PHYSICAL ABUSE 
• Extensive bruising; 
• Bruising on multiple body parts or in the shape of an object; 
• Glove or stocking-like immersion bruises; 
• Burns of all types, but especially cigarette burns; 
• Frequent complaints of soreness; 
• Awkward movement as if caused by pain; 
• Sleep disturbances or nightmares; 
• Dramatic change in appetite; 
• Bed wetting, soiling themselves (either urine or feces); 

• Compulsive and repetitive acts for self-soothing and control; 
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• Fixation on security item; 
• Social withdrawal - avoiding physical contact with others; 
• Aggressive acting out toward self, objects, people or pets; 
• Bizarre or self-destructive acts, destructive behavior or cruelty to animals; 
• Extreme anxiety or hypervigilance; and 
• Depression. 

SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS THAT MAY INDICATE PHYCHOLOGICAL 
ABUSE 

• Constant self-berating or belittling; 
• Inability to play as most children do; 
• Sleep problems; 
• Antisocial behaviors such as extreme aggression toward other children or animals; 
• Lagging in emotional and intellectual growth, not related to a documented learning 

disability; 
• Self-destructive feelings or behaviors; 
• Excessive crying; and 
• Lack of eating or excessive eating. 

SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS THAT MAY INDICATE NEGLECT 
• Untreated rashes; 
• Failure to thrive (underweight, significant developmental delays); 
• Constant fatigue; 
• Unattended physical problems or medical needs; 
• Listless, poor responsiveness (does not often smile, cry, laugh, play, relate to others), 

lacks interest and curiosity; 
• Consistently dirty; 
• Chronic hunger; 
• Inadequate or inappropriate clothing for weather; 
• Lack of supervision or child is left with an inadequate caretaker; 
• Unsafe housing/living arrangements; and 
• Abandonment. 
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REPORTING CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

THE LAW 

In accordance with New Hampshire RSA 169-C:29, information by ANY citizen 
regarding the suspected abuse or neglect of a child is not confidential and must be reported to 
the child protection agency, Division for Children, Youth and Families (DCYF).   

The law specifically states: “Any physician, surgeon, county medical examiner, 
psychiatrist, resident, intern, dentist, osteopath, optometrist, chiropractor, psychologist, 
therapist, registered nurse, hospital personnel (engaged in admission, examination, care and 
treatment of persons), Christian Science practitioner, teacher, school official, school nurse, 
school counselor, social worker, day care worker, any other child or foster care worker, law 
enforcement official, priest, minister, or rabbi or any other person having reason to suspect 
that a child has been abused or neglected shall report the same in accordance with this 
chapter.” 

Failure to comply with this law is a misdemeanor offense under RSA 169-C:39. 
 

WHAT IS SUSPICION 
To suspect child abuse or neglect does not require that the 

reporter have proof or evidence that the abuse or neglect occurred.  
It simply means that the reporter has reason to believe that 
something could have happened.  It is the role of DCYF and law 
enforcement to investigate the report and make a determination.   

PROCEDURES FOR REPORTING CHILD ABUSE 
Anyone who has reason to suspect child abuse and neglect must report to the DCYF 

Central Intake Office by telephone at 1-800-894-5533, which is available 24 hours a day.    
In an emergency, life-threatening situation, a violent or near violent situation, 9-1-1 

should be called for an immediate law enforcement response.  The statewide enhanced   9-1-
1 system will automatically connect the caller to the proper law enforcement agency from 
where the call originates.  In this instance, a report will still need to be made to DCYF.  

WHAT NEEDS TO BE IN THE REPORT  
Pursuant to RSA 169-C:30 each report shall, if known, contain the following 

information: 
• The name and address of the child(ren) suspected of being abused or neglected; 
• The name of the parent or caregiver responsible for the child’s welfare; 
• The nature and extent of suspected abuse/neglect (including evidence of previous 

injuries); 
• The identity of the perpetrator; and 
• Any other information that may be helpful to the assessment (e.g., possible threat to 

child’s safety, school dismissal time, the perpetrator’s access to the child). 

Practice Tip! 

When in 
doubt make 
the report.    

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-39.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-30.htm
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While not statutorily required, reporters are encouraged to provide additional 
information, such as the age of the child to DCYF.   

ANONYMITY  
DCYF allows anyone making a report to DCYF to request to remain anonymous.  The 

caller can make that request when making the report to Central Intake.   

IMMUNITY 
New Hampshire requires the reporting of ALL suspected child abuse and neglect.  

Absolute proof of abuse or neglect is not required before reporting.  New Hampshire law 
provides protection against civil and criminal liability if a citizen makes a “good faith” 
report. 

The law also provides protection against similar liability for providing information or 
assisting with DCYF’s investigation or any resulting judicial proceeding.   

According to RSA 169-C:31, “Anyone participating in good faith in the 
making of a report pursuant to this chapter or who provides information or 
assistance, including medical evaluations or consultations, in connection 
with a report, investigation, or legal intervention pursuant to a good faith 

report of child abuse or neglect, is immune from any liability, civil or 
criminal, that might otherwise be incurred or imposed. Any such 

participant has the same immunity with respect to participation in any 
investigation by the department or judicial proceeding resulting from such 

report.” 

FAILURE TO REPORT 
Violation of any part of the New Hampshire Child Protection Act, including failure to 

report is punishable by law.  “Anyone who knowingly violates any provision of this 
subdivision shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.”  (RSA 169-C:39) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-31.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-39.htm
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THE ROLE OF THE DIVISION FOR 
CHILDREN YOUTH AND FAMILIES (DCYF) 

  

 
DCYF is the agency mandated by RSA 169-C:34, to investigate allegations of child 

abuse and neglect.  DCYF will determine if abuse and/or neglect occurred, who is 
responsible for the abuse and/or neglect, the immediate and long-term risk to each child, and 
the protective treatment necessary to help prevent further child abuse or neglect.  The 
primary purpose of DCYF and the child protection act is to provide protection to children 
whose life, health or welfare is endangered.  DCYF will work to prevent future abuse or 
neglect by attempting to improve the home environment and the parents’ ability to 
adequately care for the children by providing services in the least intrusive manner possible 
while respecting the dignity of families. 

 

THE COLLABORATIVE JOINT INVESTIGATIVE RESPONSE 
Investigating a report of abuse or neglect against a child is a duty shared by both law 

enforcement and DCYF.  When both DCYF and law enforcement are required to investigate 
the same incident, then a joint, collaborative approach best serves the needs of all agencies 
and individuals, particularly the child and family.   

Once the reported allegations are shared and the determination has been made that a joint 
DCYF/law enforcement investigation is to be conducted, DCYF and law enforcement need 
to collaborate on how best to proceed.  Ongoing dialogue and collaboration between law 
enforcement and DCYF is critical to ensure the safety of the child, serve the child and family, 
and ensure that law enforcement is able to bring any necessary criminal charges.  

During joint investigations, law enforcement will learn that DCYF has a number of 
policy and statutory requirements that are not present in criminal investigations, including: 

• Timeframes established as to when a victim must be seen face-to-face; 
• Requirements as to who must be interviewed during an investigation; 
• Timeframes as to when an investigation must be completed; and 
• Timeframes and requirements specific to the court process if DCYF must go to court 

to ensure the safety of a child. 
 

DCYF and law enforcement must work collaboratively to ensure that 
each agency is conducting an investigation in accordance with each 

other’s requirements.   

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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DCYF RESPONSE  

CENTRAL INTAKE 
The DCYF Central Intake Office serves the critical role of determining whether reports 

meet DCYF’s criteria for a child protective investigation, also known as an assessment of 
child abuse or neglect.  

All individuals with a suspicion of abuse or neglect are required by law to report their 
concern to DCYF immediately by calling 1-800-894-5533 or (603) 271-6556.  DCYF has 
trained staff available to accept calls 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 

When DCYF receives a report of child abuse and/or neglect, Intake Staff will: 

• Encourage the caller to provide all information about the family and the concerns for 
abuse and/or neglect; 

• Ask questions of the caller to obtain accurate and complete information concerning 
the specific, descriptive facts of the abuse and/or neglect and document the 
information; 

• Request a written report, if the caller is a professional, to be provided within 48 
hours; 

• Review all information received, obtain prior history, review if the information 
available meets the criteria for further assessment of child abuse or neglect, and 
determine the response priority level; 

• Discuss the report with the Intake Supervisor who will assist the Intake Staff in: 
o Making determinations regarding the level of response; 
o Deciding if collateral contacts are necessary to clarify allegations and other 

information received; and  
o Sending all reports that meet the criteria for an assessment of child abuse or 

neglect electronically to the appropriate District Office for investigation.   

SCREEN-IN CRITERIA FOR A DCYF INVESTIGATION 
DCYF will initiate a child protective investigation when the content of the report meets 

the definition for alleged child abuse and neglect and:  

• The perpetrator is a household or family member; 
• The perpetrator is a non-household member however, 

the parents of the victim are not protecting or are 
unable to protect the child; 

• The perpetrator is not yet identified and the information 
obtained by the reporter meets the criteria to warrant an 
investigation; or 

• There is any accidental or untimely child death. 

PLANS OF SAFE CARE 
When DCYF receives a report of abuse or neglect that includes an infant born exposed to 

alcohol, misused prescription/over the counter medications, inhalants, or illicit drugs, DCYF 
will review the medical provider’s plan of safe care for the infant, including parental 
education and community referrals. 

NOTE: If none of these apply 
then a DCYF investigation 
will not be initiated unless 
assistance is specifically 
requested by law 
enforcement.  
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DCYF AFTERHOURS RESPONSE   
Effective February 14, 2017, DCYF established After Hours Intake to respond to reports 

of abuse or neglect between 4:30 p.m. and 8:00 a.m., Monday through Friday and on 
weekends and holidays, when there are concerns that a child is in imminent danger of abuse 
or neglect.  When a report is made after hours, Central Intake will forward the report to an 
On-Call Child Protective Services Supervisor to determine the appropriate response.   

In certain situations, this may include immediately deploying on-call staff to intervene 
and collaborate with law enforcement.  If necessary, DCYF will seek a court order for the 
removal of children.  On the following business day, the report of abuse or neglect will be 
forwarded from Central Intake to the appropriate District Office for ongoing assessment. 

DCYF RESPONSE TIME 
Following the receipt of a child abuse or neglect report in the District Office, a 

determination will be made regarding the face-to-face response time and whether an 
immediate response is required by policy.  DCYF considers many factors, which may 
include, but are not limited to, the following:  

• The age of the child; 
• Whether the child has a physical, emotional, or cognitive disability;  
• Whether there is a risk of the perpetrator having access to the child; 
• What information, if any, is available regarding the non-offending caregiver’s 

response to the allegation; and 
• The seriousness of the allegations in the report and the urgency of the safety of the 

child. 
A DCYF investigation must commence within 72 hours, including weekends and 

holidays, per RSA 169-C:34,I.  Commencing an investigation occurs when the Child 
Protective Service Worker (CPSW) takes some action to gain additional information to 
assess the allegation.  This will occur for all investigations regardless of whether it was 
opened as the result of an after-hours response. 

DCYF SPECIAL INVESTIGATIONS (SI)  
The child protective investigation is assigned to Special Investigations if the perpetrator 

is believed to be one of the following persons: 

• A staff member or other resident of a state-administered or contracted institution; 
• A foster parent or other resident of a foster home when the allegation is regarding a 

foster child; 
• A childcare provider in a residential setting; 
• A staff member or resident of a group home or rehabilitation center; and 
• A staff member employed by the Division for Children, Youth and Families or an 

immediate family member of the employee.  
Once assigned to the Special Investigations Unit, investigations follow the standard 

investigatory procedures, with the exception of investigations into state-run facilities that will 
have oversight of the investigatory outcome through the Attorney General’s Office. 

https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/documents/dcyf-policy-1171.pdf
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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DCYF REPORTING TO THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
When a report of child abuse or neglect is received by DCYF involving public or private 

teachers or personnel, and the reported incident is alleged to have occurred in the school or 
during school activities, DCYF Central Intake shall be responsible for notifying law 
enforcement and the Department of Education.  The Division will provide information to the 
Department of Education as statutorily authorized under RSA 170-G:8-a.  

DCYF REPORTING TO THE CHILD CARE LICENSING UNIT 
When a report of child abuse or neglect is received involving a licensed childcare 

provider, DCYF is responsible for notifying the Child Care Licensing Unit.  Both of these 
divisions within the Department of Health and Human Services, in collaboration with law 
enforcement, will coordinate efforts to conduct a joint investigation of the reported incident.  

DCYF REPORTING TO LAW ENFORCEMENT  
In accordance with RSA 169-C:38,I, DCYF must immediately report to law enforcement 

all cases in which, DCYF has reason to believe that any person under the age of 18 years has 
been: 

• Sexually molested; 
• Sexually exploited; 
• Intentionally physically injured so as to cause 

serious bodily injury;  
• Physically injured by other than accidental means 

so as to cause serious bodily injury; or  
• A victim of a crime. 

 
Some examples of situations DCYF will refer to law 

enforcement include, but are not limited to, the 
following: 

• Child fatalities; 
• Unexplained injuries, or other injuries consistent with abuse;  
• Fractures that are unexplained, multiple, or in various stages of healing or when the 

reason given for the fracture is inconsistent with the injury; 
• Cigarette burns, or other burns consistent with abuse; 
• Lacerations to the face, genitalia, or extremities that are unexplained or when the 

reason given is inconsistent with the nature of the injury; 
• Suspected cases of child sexual abuse and exploitation, or attempts of sexual abuse 

and exploitation; 
• Suspected cases of human trafficking (sex or labor); 
• Small children left alone at home for several hours without supervision;  
• Negligent or dangerous behavior by a parent (i.e., dangling a child over an 

inappropriate location like a balcony or a bridge or driving an ATV with an infant in 
their lap); and 

• A parent threatening to commit a crime of violence against a child (i.e., punch them 
in the face, shoot them or run them over with the car). 

NOTE: If the location where the incident 
occurred cannot be determined for the 
purposes of notifying the appropriate 
law enforcement agency, DCYF must 
contact the agency where the child 
resides with their custodial parent or 
guardian.  If residency cannot be 
determined, DCYF must contact the 
appropriate law enforcement agency 
where the child is found. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/170-G/170-G-8-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-38.htm
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DCYF shall submit a written notification to the appropriate law enforcement agency 

within 48 hours (weekends and holidays excluded).  This notification shall also be sent to the 
County Attorney’s Office (RSA 169-C:38, I). 

DCYF REPORTING TO THE OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 
Immediate notification should be made to the Civil Bureau of the Office of the Attorney 

General when it becomes aware of a child's death or pending death.  The notification will be 
made by DCYF, through its Legal Director.   

REQUESTING ASSISTANCE FROM LAW ENFORCEMENT 
DCYF may encounter situations requiring law enforcement assistance even though a 

criminal act has not been alleged.  DCYF may request and should receive the assistance of 
law enforcement when: 

• Making any face-to-face contact between 4:30 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. Monday through 
Friday, or on weekends or holidays;  

• Meeting with parents alleged or known to be violent or dangerous, or when the 
environment is known to be dangerous; 

• Meeting with parents alleged to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol; 
• Meeting with parents who have threatened the safety of the CPSW or any other 

individuals involved; 
• Removing a child; or 
• Executing a court order to enter a residence or other location. 

 

CONDUCTING THE DCYF INVESTIGATION  
DCYF policy requires that a thorough investigation be completed in order to accurately 

determine whether abuse or neglect occurred and what steps DCYF should take to ensure the 
ongoing safety of a child.  In order to do this, DCYF must meet with, and interview, the 
victim, caregivers of the victim, any siblings or other children in the home, the perpetrator, as 
well as any other household members.   

Information gained from interviews is critical to both DCYF and law enforcement in 
determining whether or not a child has been abused or neglected or if a crime has occurred.  
As such, it is critical for both agencies to be present during interviews and to ensure this 
information is shared.  However, DCYF and law enforcement may make different 
arrangements regarding who will be involved in the interviews based on the needs of the 
case.  If any interview takes place without DCYF or law enforcement present, then a detailed 
account of that interview needs to be promptly shared with the agency not present. 

REMOVAL OF A CHILD FOR SAFETY CONCERNS 
If at any time during its investigation, DCYF determines that a child is immediately 

unsafe, a CPSW will obtain the required court order and arrange for the removal of the 
children as necessary under RSA 169-C:6-a.  Law enforcement may be asked to wait with the 
family for the arrival of DCYF or provide other support to DCYF. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-38.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6-a.htm
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INTERVIEWING THE VICTIM 
DCYF Collaboration with a Child Advocacy Center (CAC)/Multidisciplinary Team 

(MDT) 
The primary goal of the multidisciplinary approach to the investigation of child abuse and 

neglect is the avoidance of multiple interviews with the child.  When a joint investigation is 
necessary, DCYF will notify law enforcement of a crime and refer the matter to a CAC for a 
forensic interview.  The CAC will schedule the soonest available forensic interview time for 
all Multidisciplinary Team members and family.  See The Role of CACs, page 45 for more 
information.  

The fact that a forensic interview at the CAC is scheduled should not preclude the 
ongoing gathering of information or taking photographs, nor preclude DCYF from making 
additional face-to-face contact with the child or family. 

Minimal Facts Interview  
During a joint investigation, based on the available information, it may not be possible to 

wait for a CAC interview.  DCYF and law enforcement will need to determine if a minimal 
facts interview is necessary prior to a forensic interview in order for DCYF and law 
enforcement to assess the immediate safety of the child and whether any immediate actions 
need to be taken to ensure the child(ren)’s ongoing safety.   

The purpose of the minimal facts interview is to allow DCYF and law enforcement to 
obtain the very basic facts concerning what happened to the child in order to make an 
assessment of immediate safety.  Attempts to obtain the following information should be 
made during a minimal facts interview: 

• What happened?  
• Where did it happen (to determine jurisdiction(s))? 
• When was the last time it happened (to determine if immediate medical evaluation is 

required)? 
• Who is/are the perpetrator(s)? 
• What is the perpetrator’s relationship to the child?  
• Are there other victims? 

 
A determination should be made regarding the following: 

• Is the child physically and emotionally safe? 
• Are other steps necessary to assure the safety of the child and other potential victims? 
• Is there a need for immediate medical attention for the child’s health or to gather 

physical evidence? 
 

DCYF and law enforcement will then determine if a forensic interview will take place at 
a CAC.   

Exceptions to Scheduling a CAC Interview 
Circumstances may arise for DCYF and law enforcement to act in emergency situations 

in which a CAC interview may not be practicable.  Examples include if the child is 



 

Model Protocol for the Multidisciplinary Response to Child Abuse and Neglect, 2021 Page 17 

hospitalized, if the perpetrator needs to be quickly identified, or if a parent is not cooperative 
and refuses to take the child to a CAC.  

In some circumstances, the child may be interviewed without parental notification or 
consent under the following statute: 

New Hampshire RSA 169-C:38, IV states “Law enforcement personnel or department 
[DCYF] employees who are trained caseworkers shall have the right to enter any public 
place, including but not limited to schools and child care agencies, for the purpose of 
conducting an interview with a child, with or without the consent or notification of the parent 
or parents of such child, if there is reason to believe that the child has been:   

(a) Sexually molested.   
(b) Sexually exploited.   
(c) Intentionally physically injured so as to cause serious bodily injury.   
(d) Physically injured by other than accidental means so as to cause serious bodily 
      injury.   
(e) A victim of a crime.   
(f) Abandoned.   
(g) Neglected.”   

For any interview conducted pursuant to paragraph IV, the interview with the child 
SHALL be videotaped if possible.  If the interview is videotaped, it shall be videotaped 
in its entirety.  If the interview cannot be videotaped in its entirety, an audio recording 
of the entire interview shall be made (RSA 169-C:38, IV).  

IDENTIFYING AND INTERVIEWING THE NON-OFFENDING PARENT OR 
CAREGIVER 

DCYF engages with the non-offending parent or caregiver to 
determine if they have additional information.  When a non-offending 
parent is not identified in an initial report, the CPSW will seek the 
identity of the non-offending parent to further investigate if the children 
are abused or neglected and if the non-offending parent is fit to care for 
the children.  At times, DCYF will request information from law 
enforcement, medical providers, and school districts on the non-
offending parent’s name and last known contact information.  Law 
enforcement and school districts must cooperate with DCYF pursuant 
to RSA 169-C:30 and RSA 169-C::34, III.    

When and if the non-offending parent is identified, DCYF must 
then interview them in order to fully assess the situation.  DCYF and law enforcement should 
conduct this interview together as part of the joint investigation unless it is otherwise agreed 
upon by the team.  It is important for DCYF to obtain any information this parent may have 
regarding family dynamics and the child’s behavior patterns.  The interviewer should seek to 
establish whether this individual may have participated in the abuse or neglect, either actively 
or by failing to protect the child from harm or whether this individual was even aware of the 
reported abuse or neglect.  At the conclusion of this initial interview, the parent or caregiver 
should be advised that they may be contacted again for follow-up as the child protective 
investigation continues.  

It is critical, as part 
of the joint 
investigative 
response, that 
team members 
continue to 
communicate with 
one another. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-38.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-38.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-30.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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Potential background information topics to cover include, in no particular order: 

• When and how did the non-offending parent or caregiver first learn of the allegation 
or disclosure?  Did they confront the perpetrator?  Describe the reaction or response.  
What, if anything, did the non-offending parent or caregiver do to ensure the 
child(ren)’s safety and well-being? 

• What is the non-offending parent or caregiver’s relationship with the perpetrator?  
How long have they known each other?  Did the relationship change once the non-
offending parent or caregiver learned of the described abuse or neglect? 

• What is the perpetrator’s relationship with the child?  What activities are shared?  Are 
the shared activities appropriate?  Is any child favored or given special attention over 
the other siblings?  

• Who is responsible for what tasks in the family?  Who bathes the children?  Describe 
bedtime routines.  Who is the primary disciplinarian?  What types of discipline are 
used? 

• What is the non-offending parent or caregiver’s schedule?  Are they employed?  
Where?  What hours?  For how long?  This information may provide times when the 
child and perpetrator could be alone or when abuse may have occurred. 

• Is there a history of domestic violence or abuse within this family?  Or with the 
perpetrator? 

• Have protective orders previously been sought or obtained?  From which court were 
the protective orders sought or obtained?  What protective orders are currently in 
effect or awaiting service? 

• Does the perpetrator have a history of arrest or substance (alcohol or drug) misuse?  
• Does the perpetrator have any weapons in the home or access to weapons elsewhere? 
• Will the non-offending parent or caregiver support the child throughout the disclosure 

process? Or are they advocating for the perpetrator against the child? 
• Did the non-offending parent or caregiver tell anyone else about the abuse or neglect 

who may now be contacted to assist with the investigation?  
• Who are the household members?  Do they pose a safety threat to the child(ren)? 
In speaking with the non-offending parent or caregiver, it is important to note any 

behavior changes that they may have observed in the child since the onset of the abuse or 
neglect and/or the child’s disclosure.  These behavior changes could appear to be sudden and 
unexplained.  For example, behavioral changes might include, but are not limited to: 

• Different sleep patterns, nightmares, or bedwetting; 
• Thumb-sucking; 
• Soiling pants; 
• Self-harm; 
• Sudden rages; and  
• Acting out aggressively or sexually.  
See Recognizing Child Abuse, page 6 for additional information. 
DCYF also looks to reports from law enforcement for information related to the non-

offending parent or caregiver’s response to protective measures related to the child.   
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INTERVIEWING SIBLINGS AND OTHER CHILDREN  
After the victim is interviewed, any other children in the household or otherwise having 

contact with the perpetrator, should be interviewed to determine: 

• If they are a possible victim; 
• If they are aware of what the victim is experiencing; and 
• If they can provide additional information regarding the abuse or neglect. 

MOTIONS TO ENTER 
RSA 169-C:34, VI states parents may refuse to make their children available for a DCYF 

interview to assess child abuse and neglect.  
If a child's parents refuse to allow a social worker or state employee on their premises as 

part of a DCYF investigation, and the worker or employee has probable cause to believe that 
the child has been abused or neglected, DCYF is required by RSA 169-C:34, VII to seek a 
court order to enter the premises.  

If the court finds probable cause to believe that the child has been abused or neglected, 
the court will issue an order permitting a police officer, Juvenile Probation and Parole Officer 
(JPPO) or CPSW to enter the premises to further DCYF’s investigation and to assess the 
child's immediate safety and well-being.  The statute requires the CPSW or JPPO to be 
accompanied by a police officer when an order pertaining to a motion to enter is served or 
executed.   

INTERVIEWING THE PERPETRATOR 
The interview with the perpetrator is an important interview in helping to determine the 

actual manner of abuse or neglect that a child may have suffered.  DCYF and law 
enforcement should communicate as to how to proceed in the most effective manner possible 
to obtain critical information during the interview with the perpetrator.   

If it is determined that DCYF will not participate in this interview, then DCYF needs to 
provide the questions it would like law enforcement to ask during the interview.  If law 
enforcement conducts an interview without DCYF present, it should ensure DCYF is 
provided with a summary of the interview.  Regardless of the criminal investigation, DCYF’s 
policy requires an interview with the perpetrator during the DCYF investigation, barring 
exigent circumstances.   

Throughout the joint investigation, it is critical that DCYF and law 
enforcement work together in coordinating interviews in a timely manner 

to support the safety of children. 

When law enforcement determines criminal charges will not be pursued, DCYF will still 
need to conduct an interview with the perpetrator without law enforcement being present.   

An interview with the perpetrator should include: 

• The perpetrator’s account of the events that precipitated DCYF involvement; 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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• Their relationship with the child and their daily routine; 
• Their perception of the child, the child’s behavior and the child’s role in the family; 
• Their role in disciplining the child and if so, what methods do they use;  
• Their understanding as to why DCYF and law enforcement are involved; 
• Family strengths; 
• Family access to resources and supports; 
• Stress affecting the family; and 
• The parent’s attitude and willingness to be involved, as well as their ability to protect 

the child. 

DIRECT OBSERVATIONS 
Observations are an integral part of interviews conducted during investigations.  DCYF 

and law enforcement will make direct observations during all interactions with families.  All 
agencies should share their observations among each other.  This will enable the team to 
complete a comprehensive investigation. 

Notes should be taken of: 

• All the household members, including all of the children; 
• The sleeping and living arrangements of all the children usually living in the home; 
• The physical condition of all individuals in the home, including their general 

appearance and any observable injuries or conditions; 
• The safety of the residence: 

o Are there unprotected open windows, exposed wiring, vermin, or human or 
animal waste? 

o What is the general condition of the home, including the degree of cleanliness 
and adequacy of sleeping, eating and washing areas? 

o Is there availability of food, water and sanitary facilities? 
o Is there adequate heat, light, and space? 
o Are weapons present and if so, how are they stored? 

• Visual signs of substance misuse or dependency, including the presence of any drugs 
or drug paraphernalia; 

• The behavior of the parent(s), child(ren) and other household members, including all 
nonverbal messages such as eye contact between family members, facial expressions, 
tones of voice, and willingness to listen, express feelings or to engage in physical 
closeness; and  

• Who is responsible for the care of the child(ren).  

COLLATERAL CONTACTS BY DCYF DISTRICT OFFICE  
After the initial report of the abuse or neglect, it will be necessary to corroborate as much 

of the information obtained as possible regarding the perpetrator(s) and family pursuant to 
RSA 169-C:34,III.  The confidentiality of the family will be respected when seeking 
collateral information, however, DCYF will speak with any collateral contacts necessary to 
get the facts needed to complete their investigation. 

DCYF staff may only share information necessary to carry out their official function of 
investigating if a child was abused or neglected, unless otherwise authorized by the parent or 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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guardian of the child.  Collateral sources can be told that “a referral” was received and that 
clarifying information is being sought.  When seeking information from any collateral source 
the CPSW should attempt to contact the individual who has the most accurate and relevant 
information about the child and or family, as well as the specific allegation. 

The CPSW should obtain as much information as possible about the child and family.  
Collateral contacts may include, but are not limited to: 

• The treating provider and primary health care provider;   
• The mental health counselor or therapist, if the family is in treatment; 
• School personnel (e.g., school nurse, teachers, counselors, administrators); 
• Human services agencies; and 
• Any other person who may have relevant information for example, a neighbor, friend, 

or relative. 
Through making collateral contacts, the CPSW seeks to gain an understanding of: 

• Immediate safety of the child(ren); 
• Composition of the family and relationships between 

family members; 
• Persons responsible for care of the child(ren); 
• Patterns of behavior that impact safety of the child(ren), 

including the likelihood of serious impairment; and 
• Any safety factors (mental health, substance misuse, 

domestic violence) that may be present and can impact 
the child’s safety. 

HANDLING OF EVIDENCE DURING A DCYF 
INVESTIGATION 

Evidence gathering is part of the criminal case preparation and process.  DCYF staff must 
not touch, handle, or process physical evidence in any way.  If, during the course of the child 
protective investigation, DCYF comes upon an item believed to be of evidentiary value, law 
enforcement should be contacted immediately to collect, package, and document the 
evidence.  It is not DCYF’s responsibility to conduct a criminal investigation. 

PHOTOGRAPHIC DOCUMENTATION 
The necessity of taking photographs should be determined on a case-by-case basis.  The 

following should be considered when there is suspected abuse or neglect: 

• Attempt to minimize the potential damaging effect that photography could have on 
the child by not surprising the child with the use of a camera.  The child should be 
made aware, in advance, that photographs are going to be taken and what purpose 
they will serve;  

• Only visible injuries, bruises, cuts, lacerations, bite marks, etc. should be 
photographed.  Care should be taken to protect the child’s modesty with appropriate 
draping of non-affected areas;  

• Regardless of whether there is an injury to the child’s face or not, an initial photo 
needs to be taken showing the child’s face for identification purposes; 

DCYF must notify the 
primary health care 
provider regarding the 
nature of the investigation 
when the primary health 
care provider is known 
(RSA 169-C:34,VIII). 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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• Overall distance photos should be taken to identify the 
injury in relation to the rest of the body, with close up shots 
to further document the appearance of injuries; 
• The injured areas should be photographed as they 
appear.  In order to show the size of the injury and relative 
location, use a measuring device.  Do not cover the injury 
with the measuring device.  It is also important to keep the 
measuring device on the same plane as the injury, or in close 
proximity in order to depict an accurate representation of the 
injury; 
• The nature of most injuries requires that photographs be 
taken in a timely manner due to the speed of the normal 

healing process.  Injuries such as bruising will be better demonstrated by taking the 
initial photographs and then follow-up photographs should be taken as necessary to 
document the evolution of the injuries; 

• When there is suspected sexual abuse, photographs of the genitalia, with or without 
injury, should ONLY be taken by the medical provider during the medical 
evaluation; and 

• Photographs of the place in which the abuse or neglect occurred should be taken as 
soon as possible to accurately document the conditions of the area.  Examples 
include: 

• The area where the injury is alleged to have occurred if it is claimed that the 
child has been injured in a fall; and 

• Hazardous living conditions that pose a threat to the health or safety of the 
child. 

DCYF COLLABORATION WITH MEDICAL SERVICES 
DCYF nurses and CPSWs performing screenings and assessing reported cases of child 

abuse and neglect will have access to and receive guidance from experienced on-call health 
care specialists 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.   

MEDICAL CARE OF CHILDREN WHO HAVE OR MAY HAVE BEEN ABUSED OR 
NEGLECTED  

Any child who appears severely ill, injured or acutely 
emotionally traumatized should be immediately referred to 
a medical facility for evaluation and care.  Transportation 
may be delegated to a responsible non-offending 
parent/caregiver if EMS care is not indicated.  

The following urgent situations may require immediate 
evaluation, ideally by a medical provider with training and 
experience in abuse and neglect.  Consultation with a child 
abuse medical expert is advised to determine the optimal 
location, timing, and clinician for the evaluation:  

• Visible injuries or an unwell appearance: 

Practice Tip! 

All children who have 
been sexually abused, 
physically abused, or 
severely neglected should 
receive a medical 
evaluation.  See The Role 
of the Medical 
Community, page 51, for 
more information. 

Practice Tip! 

If there is a joint 
investigation, law 
enforcement and 
DCYF should 
coordinate the 
taking of 
photographs.   
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o Particularly infants age 6 months or less with any injury (even if an “accidental” 
reason is given); and 

o Children age 4 years or less with bruising of the torso, ears or neck;; 
• Physical complaints (including those related to passage of urine or stool); 
• Suspected head trauma; 
• Described sexual contact in the past 3 days;  
• Described penetration of an adolescent female in the past 5 days; 
• Possible victim of human trafficking; 
• Potential that child/adolescent will injure themselves or someone else; 
• Possible administration of drugs in the past 5 days; and 
• Exposure to methamphetamine. 
In non-urgent situations, the child may be evaluated at a later time.  Consultation with a 

child abuse medical professional is strongly recommended. 
If a CPSW is uncertain about a child’s medical condition, immediate consultation should 

be obtained with the District Office nurse as available, the local emergency department or an 
available child abuse specialist.  

SHARING OF INFORMATION  
Throughout the entire joint investigation, information and findings by both DCYF and 

law enforcement should be fully shared between the two entities.  According to RSA 169-
C:34, III,  DCYF "may request and shall receive from any agency of the state or any of its 
political subdivisions or any schools, such assistance and information as will enable it to 
fulfill its responsibilities.…” 

Pursuant to RSA 170-G:8-a,II-a(9), DCYF may 
share case records with law enforcement when law 
enforcement requires the information to carry out its 
responsibility under law to protect children from 
abuse or neglect.  

Additionally, if medical records exist, RSA 169-
C:25-a allows law enforcement to obtain a court order 
requiring medical providers and DCYF to share 
medical records with law enforcement.  Law 
enforcement in possession of medical records is also 
authorized to re-disclose the medical records it obtains 
to DCYF or other law enforcement for the purpose of 
conducting investigations of child abuse or neglect, 
child fatalities, other crimes against a child, and any 
subsequent child protection actions or criminal 
proceedings.  

To provide additional guidance to law enforcement and DCYF, the Attorney 
General’s Office, with the Department of Health and Human Services issued “Joint 
Guidelines for DCYF/Law Enforcement on Mandatory Notification, Record Sharing and 
Investigations” in April 2016.  That document is attached as Appendix D: Joint 
Investigative Guidelines.   

NOTE: As a reminder, the rules 
governing the confidentiality 
of information differ between 
the civil child abuse and 
neglect proceedings and 
criminal proceedings. 
Information gathered in a 
criminal investigation is often 
subject to 91-A, whereas 
information in a DCYF 
investigation is not.   

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/170-G/170-G-8-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-25-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-25-a.htm
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CONCLUDING THE DCYF INVESTIGATION 
DCYF has 60 days from the date of the initial report to complete its investigation and 

make a determination of abuse or neglect, regardless of the status of any law enforcement 
investigation.   

If DCYF does not make a finding of abuse or neglect, the assessment will be closed and 
DCYF will no longer be involved with the family unless the family accepts voluntary 
services from DCYF.  Investigations without findings will be closed as either unfounded or 
unfounded with reasonable concerns.  A report that is "unfounded but with reasonable 
concern" means a report made pursuant to RSA 169-C for which DCYF determines that there 
is probable cause to believe the child was abused or neglected, but for which there is 
insufficient evidence to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that the child was 
abused or neglected.  

If abuse or neglect can be substantiated, then DCYF must determine if safety concerns 
are resolved.  Founded investigations can be closed as either: founded problem resolved, 
founded before court case opened, or founded court case.   

If DCYF does not file petitions in Circuit Court – Family Division, law enforcement may 
request DCYF delay their final determination in order to allow law enforcement to conclude 
its criminal investigation.  Once concluded, law enforcement should notify DCYF as to the 
outcome of their criminal investigation.   

This is necessary in order to: 

• Allow DCYF to determine if the abuse or neglect occurred and determine who is 
responsible as mandated by RSA 169-C:34; and 

• Allow DCYF, in the interests of child safety, if a determination of abuse or neglect is 
founded, to enter the information regarding the person responsible for the abuse or 
neglect into the DCYF Central Registry,3 as mandated by RSA 169-C:35.   

If the criminal investigation results in a delay beyond 60 days, law enforcement should 
provide DCYF regular updates and a final determination of the investigation per the above 
stated mandates.   

Should DCYF believe that provision of services would benefit the family and help them 
reduce further risk of abuse and neglect, then DCYF can provide voluntary services to the 
family during and after the investigation (RSA 169-C:34,V-a).  

If it is determined that abuse or neglect took place, then DCYF must determine the 
ongoing safety of the children and whether any interventions can be made to prevent removal 
and maintain the child safely in their home.  
 

   

                                                 
3 An individual’s name is entered on the DCYF Central Registry only after the DCYF assessment is 

completed, the individual has been determined to be responsible for the abuse or neglect, and they have been 
afforded their right to appeal DCYF’s finding. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-35.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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THE ROLE OF LAW ENFORCEMENT 

 
The duty of law enforcement is to uphold the Constitution and enforce the laws of the 

United States and the State of New Hampshire.  Law enforcement will determine what crime, 
if any, has occurred.  Child abuse can involve criminal acts under the homicide, kidnapping, 
sexual assault, assault, offenses against families’, or domestic violence statutes of the New 
Hampshire Criminal Code. 

If law enforcement determines that there is not enough evidence that a crime occurred, 
the investigation may still result in the filing of a civil abuse or neglect petition by the 
Division for Children, Youth and Families (DCYF), which law enforcement will support.  
Law enforcement investigations should be complete, objective, and professional. 

It is acknowledged that not all law enforcement agencies have the resources to take on 
these complex and lengthy investigations.  Agencies should consider asking for support from 
the State Police or the local Sherriff’s Department if needed to conduct a thorough and 
complete investigation.   

If there is a law enforcement agency that has been, or feels it should be, investigating 
these cases and there is a conflict with the protocol, that agency should contact their local 
County Attorney for guidance.  

The Child Protection Act (RSA 169-C:29) requires that any individual suspecting a 
child has been abused or neglected, is required to immediately report (RSA 169-C:30)  
their concerns to DCYF.  This includes, any officer, detective, chief or civilian employed 
by a department.  Regardless of the ways in which the individual becomes suspicious of 
abuse or neglect, including hearing a disclosure, the individual is required by law to 
make the report. 

It is important to note that it is the individual who suspects abuse and neglect who 
must immediately make the report directly to the Division for Children, Youth and 
Families (DCYF) Central Intake Office by telephone at 1-800-894-5533, which is 
available 24 hours a day.  This requirement is mandated by New Hampshire state law, 
RSA 169-C:29, regardless of any agency’s policy which might be contrary.   

Any notification required by an agency or institution’s policy to superiors should not 
delay the report or defer the obligation to report.  The purpose of the law is to ensure that 
the report is made with firsthand knowledge and minimizes the trauma to the child by 
eliminating the need for the child to repeatedly tell their story. 

Failure to comply with this statute may result in a misdemeanor charge to the 
individual who did not report (RSA 169-C:39). 

Anyone acting in good faith in making a report or providing information or 
assistance to DCYF, is immune from liability.  See RSA 169-C:31 or Immunity, page 9 
for more information. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-30.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-39.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-31.htm
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THE COLLABORATIVE JOINT INVESTIGATIVE RESPONSE 
Investigating a report of abuse or neglect against a child is a duty shared by both law 

enforcement and DCYF.  When both DCYF and law enforcement are required to investigate 
the same incident, then a joint, collaborative approach best serves the needs of all agencies 
and individuals, particularly the child and family.   

Once the reported allegations are shared and the determination has been made that a joint 
DCYF/law enforcement investigation is to be conducted, DCYF and law enforcement need 
to discuss how best to proceed.  Ongoing dialogue and collaboration between law 
enforcement and DCYF is critical to ensure the safety of the child, serve the child and family, 
and ensure that law enforcement is able to bring any necessary criminal charges. 

During joint investigations, law enforcement will learn that DCYF has a number of 
policy and statutory requirements that are not present in criminal investigations, including: 

• Timeframes established as to when a victim must be seen face-to-face; 
• Requirements as to who must be interviewed during an investigation; 
• Timeframes as to when an investigation must be completed; and 
• Timeframes and requirements specific to the court process if DCYF must go to court 

to ensure the safety of a child.  

Throughout the joint investigation, it is critical that law enforcement 
and DCYF work together in coordinating interviews in a timely manner to 

support the safety of children. 

RESPONDING TO THE SCENE OF A CHILD ABUSE CALL 
Any child who appears acutely ill, injured or emotionally traumatized 

should be immediately transported to a medical facility for evaluation 
and care.  This should take precedence over all other responsibilities of 
the investigating officer.  Transportation may be delegated to a 
responsible non-offending caregiver/parent if EMS care is not indicated.  

The following urgent situations require immediate assessment, 
ideally by a medical provider with training and experience in abuse and 
neglect:  

• Visible injuries or an unwell appearance: 
o Particularly infants age 6 months or less with any injury (even if an “accidental” 

reason is given); and 
o Children age 4 years or less with bruising of the torso, ears or neck. 

• Physical complaints (including those related to passage of urine or stool); 
• Suspected head trauma; 
• Described sexual contact in the past 3 days;  
• Described penetration of an adolescent female in the past 5 days; 
• Possible victim of human trafficking;  

Practice Tip! 

Law enforcement 
should treat every 
one of these calls as 
a potential crime 
scene.   
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• Potential that child/adolescent will injure themselves or 
someone else; 

• Possible administration of drugs in the past 5 days; and 
• Exposure to methamphetamine production.  
If an officer is uncertain about a child’s medical status, 

they should consult the local emergency department or the on-
call provider for the Child Advocacy and Protection Program 
of Children’s Hospital at Dartmouth (reachable through the 
Dartmouth-Hitchcock page operator at (603) 650-5000).  

PRELIMINARY INVESTIGATION 
If the initial reporting of the activity is to law enforcement and there is a suspicion of 

child abuse or neglect, law enforcement shall report to DCYF immediately as outlined 
below.  The prompt reporting to DCYF is vital to initiating an effective collaborative 
response.  See Law Enforcement Reporting to DCYF, page 29 for more information. 

It will be necessary for law enforcement to corroborate as much of the information 
obtained as soon as possible regarding the individuals involved.  Collateral sources can be 
told that a report was received and that clarifying information is being sought.   

When the initial report is made directly to law enforcement, and the reporter is not the 
victim, the officer should conduct an in-depth interview with the person to whom the child 
first disclosed.  The officer should obtain as much information as possible about the 
perpetrator and the crime itself.  This may include, but is not limited to: 

• Presence of any witnesses (including other children); 
• Location of crime (to determine jurisdiction); 
• Perpetrator’s access to and relationship with victim and other children;  
• Contact information of parents, guardians, custodians, caregivers or other family 

members of the victim or other children who have had contact with the perpetrator;  
• Perpetrator’s criminal history and any prior contact with law enforcement; and 
• Any other relevant information (perpetrator’s personality traits, place of work, motor 

vehicle information, etc.). 

INTERVIEWING THE VICTIM  
Law Enforcement Collaboration with a Child Advocacy Center (CAC) 

Multidisciplinary Team (MDT) 
The primary goal of the multidisciplinary approach to the investigation of child abuse and 

neglect is the avoidance of multiple interviews with the child.  When a joint investigation is 
necessary, law enforcement will notify DCYF and refer the matter to a CAC for a forensic 
interview.  The CAC will schedule the soonest available forensic interview time for all 
Multidisciplinary Team members and family.  See The Role of CACs, page 45, for more 
information.  

The fact that a forensic interview at the CAC is scheduled should not preclude the 
ongoing gathering of information or other evidence by law enforcement. 

NOTE:  The (free) app called 
“ChildProtector” is 
recommended to help non-
medical first responders 
understand the medical 
evaluation for possible 
physical abuse. 
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Minimal Facts Interview  
When the initial reporter is the victim, it may not be possible to wait for a CAC interview 

based on the available information.  Law enforcement is required to obtain basic information 
to assess the child’s safety, emotional state, physical condition and public safety.  In this 
instance a minimal facts interview should be conducted, the information reported to DCYF 
and the case referred to the Child Advocacy Center (CAC). 

Law enforcement should be reassuring, observant and objective.  Law enforcement 
should not silence a verbal, forthcoming child; but should not ask for details that go beyond 
the immediate health and safety assessment of the child.  Prior to any conversation with a 
child, law enforcement should consider the age and/or ability of the victim to determine how 
a minimal facts interview should be conducted.   

Attempts to obtain the following information should be made during a minimal facts 
interview: 

• What happened?  
• Where did it happen (to determine multiple jurisdictions)? 
• When did it happen (first time/last time/frequency)? 
• Who is/are the perpetrator(s) and the relationship to child? 
• Are there other victims? 
A determination should be made regarding the following: 

• Is the child physically and emotionally safe? 
• Are other steps necessary to ensure the safety of the child 

and other potential victims? 
• Is there a need for immediate medical attention for the 

child’s health or to gather physical evidence? 
Law enforcement should refer to agency SOPs and/or the 

County Attorney for guidance regarding whether or not a 
minimal facts interview should be recorded.  

Exceptions To Scheduling A CAC Interview 
Circumstances may arise for DCYF and law enforcement to act 

in emergency situations in which a CAC interview may not be practicable; for example, if the 
child is hospitalized, or if the perpetrator needs to be quickly identified or if a parent is not 
cooperative and refuses to take the child to a CAC.  

In some circumstances, the child may be interviewed without parental notification or 
consent under the following statute: 

New Hampshire RSA 169-C:38, IV “Law enforcement personnel or department [DCYF] 
employees who are trained caseworkers shall have the right to enter any public place, 
including but not limited to schools and child care agencies, for the purpose of conducting 
an interview with a child, with or without the consent or notification of the parent or parents 
of such child, if there is reason to believe that the child has been:   

(a) Sexually molested.   
(b) Sexually exploited.   

Practice Tip! 

Based on the minimal 
facts interview, law 
enforcement should 
gather evidence as 
appropriate; they do 
not need to wait until 
after the forensic 
interview at a CAC.  In 
fact, additional 
evidence gathered may 
be helpful to the 
forensic interviewer.   

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-38.htm
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(c) Intentionally physically injured so as to cause serious bodily injury.   
(d) Physically injured by other than accidental means so as to cause serious bodily 
injury.   
(e) A victim of a crime.   
(f) Abandoned.   
(g) Neglected.”   

For any interview conducted pursuant to paragraph IV, the interview with the child 
SHALL be videotaped if possible.  If the interview is videotaped, it shall be videotaped 
in its entirety.  If the interview cannot be videotaped in its entirety, an audio recording of the 
entire interview shall be made.”  Violation of this statute is a misdemeanor (RSA 169-C:39).  

CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE MATERIAL 
Both the manufacturing and distribution of child sexual abuse images and/or videos are 

felony level offenses.  While some perpetrators commit sexual offenses directly against 
children and others commit offenses with images and/or videos, many perpetrators do both.  

Since each image and/or video is a child who was sexually victimized, law enforcement 
should always explore whether child sexual abuse victims are also victims of child sexual 
abuse material.  In some instances, the abuse a child was subjected to may have been 
recorded.  In other instances, a child may have been forced to view such images and/or 
videos to groom them.  Exploring the potential of crossover between these offenses could 
lead to additional charges or to the identification of other victims. 

Child sexual abuse material (CSAM) investigations can be highly complicated, and 
require trained forensic examiners and forensic resources.  Law enforcement should contact 
the New Hampshire Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force (NH ICAC) unit at (603) 
629-2758 for assistance with these cases. 

LAW ENFORCEMENT REPORTING TO DCYF  
In accordance with RSA 169-C:29 , any law enforcement officer or staff member of 

a law enforcement agency having reason to suspect that a child has been abused or 
neglected must report it immediately to the DCYF Central Intake Office.  

Reports should be made immediately by telephone to 1-800-894-5533 or (603) 271-6556 
and then followed within 48 hours by a report in writing.  The follow-up, written report can 

NOTE: The forensic interview is only one piece of the investigation.  For a variety of 
reasons, it is common for a child to not initially disclose abuse.  Disclosure is a process not 
an event.  If a full disclosure does not happen during a forensic interview, law 
enforcement should still conduct a thorough investigation.  One reason for continuing 
the investigation is that by doing so, potentially relevant evidence or information can be 
obtained, which may help to determine if a crime has been committed.  Additionally, in 
the event a subsequent disclosure takes place, potentially relevant evidence or 
information will not be lost. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-39.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
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be submitted by facsimile to (603) 271-6565 or via e-mail to Central Intake at DCYF:  
DCYF.CentralIntake@dhhs.nh.gov.  

When making the initial report to DCYF, the investigator or other law enforcement staff 
must provide the following information:  

• The name and address of the child suspected of being 
neglected or abused; 

• The person responsible for the child's welfare; 
• The specific information indicating neglect or the nature 

and extent of the child's injuries (including any evidence 
of previous injuries); 

• The identity of the perpetrator; and 
• Any other information which may be helpful or relevant. 

 
Law enforcement should also provide: 

• The name of the investigator or staff member to whom 
DCYF should address further questions and/or provide 
information;  

• Whether the law enforcement agency is conducting an investigation; and  
• Whether any immediate danger to the child is perceived, which would require 

removal of the child from parental custody.  (See Removal of a Child below) 

REMOVAL OF A CHILD  
There are times when law enforcement encounters a child they believe is in imminent 

danger and removal of the child may be necessary to ensure the child’s safety.  Law 
enforcement needs to be aware that this can be a traumatic event for a child, and any siblings 
present at the scene.   

Situations or incidents which may require the need for removal include but are not 
limited to: 

• The parent(s) has been arrested for any reason, and there is no one available to care 
for the child; 

• The child was assaulted, that is, hit, poisoned, or burned so severely that serious 
injury resulted or could have resulted;   

• The child has been sexually abused or sexually exploited and the non-offending 
parent cannot or will not protect the child; 

• The parent(s) refuses to obtain or to consent to medical or psychiatric care for the 
child that is needed immediately to ensure safety, prevent serious harm or death; 

NOTE: Law enforcement 
should be aware that when 
DCYF is assigned a case, 
they are required to 
commence their assessment 
no later than 72 hours after 
the case has been assigned 
to the District Office, per 
statute (RSA 169-C:34,I). 

If after reporting to DCYF, it is determined the case does not involve a family/household 
member and therefore DCYF will not be involved, law enforcement should immediately 
arrange an in-depth interview of the child at the CAC.  The CAC will coordinate with the 
multidisciplinary team members to set up the interview.  

mailto:DCYF.CentralIntake@dhhs.nh.gov
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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• The parent(s) appears to be suffering from mental illness, 
developmental disabilities, or substance misuse so severe 
they cannot provide for the child’s basic needs; 

• The parent(s) has abandoned the child. This could include 
a situation where the parent has left the child in the custody 
of persons who have not agreed to care for the child and 
who do not know how to reach the parent(s); 

• There is reason to believe that the parent(s) may flee with 
the child; 

• There is specific evidence that the parent(s)’ reaction to the 
abuse or neglect report and subsequent investigation will result in retaliation against 
the child; and 

• The parent(s) has threatened to harm the child in any way or states that they cannot 
control their actions toward the child anymore. 

Before initiating the removal of a child, law enforcement should consider requesting 
from the court ex parte orders, pursuant to RSA 169-C:6-a, II, for the alleged perpetrator to 
be removed from the home.  The court may issue such orders over a child who appears to 
be abused or neglected and in imminent danger, pursuant to RSA 169-C:6,VI.  

If the primary custodial parent or caregiver is arrested, every effort must be made to see if 
the child can be cared for by the non-custodial parent or caregiver.  If that person is 
unavailable or is believed to be inappropriate, law enforcement should make every effort to 
identify a relative or others with whom the child is familiar for placement.  

WHEN AN APPROPRIATE CAREGIVER CANNOT BE IDENTIFIED   
When all options have been explored and an appropriate caregiver cannot be identified, 

DCYF Central Intake must be contacted at 1-800-894-5533.  DCYF will discuss the specifics 
of the case with law enforcement and together develop a coordinated response to the 
situation.  

WHEN A CHILD MAY BE REMOVED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT  
Law enforcement may remove a child, either with or without a court order, as described 

below and pursuant to RSA 169-C:6-a and RSA 169-C:6. 

REMOVAL OF A CHILD WITH A COURT ORDER (RSA 169-C:6-a) 
Both DCYF and law enforcement have the authority, pursuant to RSA 169-C:6-a, to 

request from the court an ex parte order to remove a child.  This request may be made when 
the child is found “to be in imminent danger in such circumstances or surroundings and 
where immediate removal appears necessary to protect the child from imminent danger”.  
Best practice in such circumstances is for DCYF, whenever possible, to make this request, 
and therefore it is imperative that law enforcement contact DCYF, as soon as possible, if 
they believe the child is in imminent danger.  After contacting DCYF, law enforcement may 
be asked to wait with the child or family for the arrival of DCYF or provide other support to 
DCYF.   

If, for any reason, DCYF is unavailable or unable to contact the court, law enforcement 
may request from the court an ex parte order to remove the child.  Pursuant to RSA 169-C:6-

Practice Tip! 

A child should be 
removed from the 
home only as a last 
resort to ensure a 
child’s safety.  

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6-a.htm
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a,II, law enforcement shall provide to the court “in person or by telephone, either orally 
under oath or by sworn written affidavit, the following information: 

(a) A statement of the specific danger requiring either 
immediate placement of the child or removal of the 
alleged perpetrator.  
(b) The time, place, and manner in which the child was 
removed from danger, if relevant.  
(c) If the child was removed prior to the court order, a 
brief statement why it was not possible to obtain the 
order prior to removal.  
(d) Why there is not sufficient time to notify the parent, 
guardian, or custodian prior to the order.  
(e) The names and addresses of custodial parents, non-
custodial parents, legal custodians, other legal guardians 
of the child, and any other person responsible for the 
welfare of the child at the time of removal.  
(f) When removal of the child is requested, those 
alternatives to foster care which were considered, such as removal of the alleged 
perpetrator, or placement of the child with relatives or others with whom the child is 
familiar.” 
Law enforcement should call DCYF at 1-800-894-5533 to locate an appropriate 

placement for the child.  Thereafter a decision will be made where to take the child.   
If, pursuant to RSA 169-C:6-a,IV, the court finds reasonable cause to believe the child is 

in such circumstances or surroundings as would present an imminent danger to the child, the 
court will issue ex parte orders as are necessary to protect the child.  Additionally, the court 
must schedule the matter for a hearing to be held no later than 5 days from the ex parte 
orders, Saturdays, Sundays and holidays excluded.  In order to prepare for this hearing, an 
incident report stating the facts, which led to the concern of imminent danger must be 
completed promptly by law enforcement.  DCYF Central Intake Office (1-800-894-5533) 
must be notified and provided with a copy of the incident report. 

REMOVAL OF A CHILD WITHOUT A COURT ORDER (RSA 169-C:6) 
Law enforcement may, pursuant to RSA 169-C:6, take a child into protective custody, 

without the consent of the parents or other person legally responsible, if the child is in such 
circumstances or surroundings as would present an imminent danger to the child’s health or 
life unless immediate action is taken and there is not enough time to petition the court for 
an ex parte order.  “Imminent danger” is defined as “circumstances or surroundings 
causing immediate peril or risk to a child’s health or life.”  (RSA 169-C:3,XV)  This is a 
serious decision and must be handled with utmost care.   

After taking a child into protective custody:    

• Law enforcement is required, pursuant to RSA 169-C:6,II(a) to contact the court 
immediately to request continued protective custody, pending a hearing; 
The officer must contact the judge for the court where the emergency matter would be 
heard.  If that judge cannot be reached, officers are encouraged to contact the judge in 

NOTE: Since DCYF cannot 
remove a child without a court 
order, there may be times that 
DCYF has arrived at the scene, 
but they have not yet received 
the ex parte order.  In these 
instances, law enforcement may 
be asked to wait at the scene, 
with DCYF, until the court order 
is received.   

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-3.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6.htm
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the next closest court within the same catchment group.  The Circuit Court has 
provided the “After Hours Roster of Judges” to law enforcement agencies throughout 
the state.  Officers should contact their supervisor to ensure they have a current copy 
of the roster.   
Note: Law enforcement should be prepared to articulate to the judge the steps taken to 
identify an appropriate temporary caregiver.   

• Law enforcement should call DCYF at 1-800-894-5533 
to locate an appropriate placement for the child.  
Thereafter a decision will be made where to take the 
child;  

• Law enforcement is required, pursuant to RSA 169-
C:6,II(d), to make every reasonable effort to inform 
both parents or other persons who are legally 
responsible for the child’s care, when the child is 
removed from an individual other than a parent or a 
person legally responsible for the child; and  

• Law enforcement should, at the beginning of the next 
business day, fax their affidavit and/or copy of the 
police report to the judge. 

A court hearing on the removal of the child must be held 
within 48 hours, Saturdays, Sundays and holidays excluded 
(RSA 169-C:6, IV).  In order to prepare for this hearing, an 
incident report stating the facts, which led to the concern of imminent danger, should also be 
shared with DCYF Central Intake Office (1-800-894-5533) as soon as possible. 

WHEN TO REPORT TO THE COUNTY ATTORNEY’S OFFICE 
Law enforcement should notify the appropriate County Attorney’s Office with 

jurisdiction when a child has suffered serious bodily injury or felony level offense. 

WHEN TO REPORT TO THE ATTORNEY GENERAL’S OFFICE 
Law enforcement must notify the Criminal Justice Bureau Office of the Attorney 

General when a child's death or impending death, is suspicious and is a potential 
homicide at (603) 271-3671.  For reporting after hours, call the on-call homicide prosecutor 
at (603) 931-9060.  

CHILD CARE LICENSING UNIT 
When a report of child abuse and/or neglect is received involving a licensed childcare 

provider, DCYF is responsible for notifying the Child Care Licensing Unit.  Both of these 
divisions within the Department of Health and Human Services, in collaboration with law 
enforcement, will coordinate efforts to conduct a joint investigation of the reported incident.  

Law enforcement may 
take a child into 
protective custody … if 
the child is in such 
circumstances or 
surroundings that would 
present an imminent 
danger to the child’s 
health or life unless 
immediate action is 
taken and there isn’t 
enough time to petition 
for a court order (RSA 
169-C:6). 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-6.htm
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INTERVIEWING THE NON-OFFENDING PARENT/CAREGIVER 
Law enforcement should gather information to determine if the non-offending parent or 

caregiver has additional information regarding the disclosure.  DCYF should be included in 
these interviews in order to determine what action, if any, DCYF must take to assure 
the safety of the child(ren) involved.  It is also important to obtain pertinent background 
information regarding family dynamics and the child’s behavior patterns.   

The interviewer should seek to establish whether this individual may have participated in 
the criminal activity, either actively or by failing to protect the child from harm or whether 
this individual was even aware of the reported activities.  At the conclusion of this initial 
interview, the parent or caregiver should be advised that they may be contacted again for 
follow up as the investigation continues.  

Potential background information topics to cover include, in no particular order: 

• When and how did the non-offending parent or caregiver first learn of the allegation 
or disclosure?  Did they confront the perpetrator?  Describe the reaction or response.  
What, if anything, did the non-offending parent or caregiver do to ensure the 
child(ren)’s safety and well-being? 

• What is the non-offending parent or caregiver’s relationship with the perpetrator?  
How long have they known each other?  Did the relationship change once the non-
offending parent or caregiver learned of the described abuse or neglect? 

• What is the perpetrator’s relationship with the child?  What activities are shared?  Are 
the shared activities appropriate?  Is any child favored or given special attention over 
the other siblings?  

• Who is responsible for what tasks in the family?  Who bathes the children?   Describe 
bedtime routines.  Who is the primary disciplinarian?  What types of discipline are 
used?  

• What is the non-offending parent or caregiver’s schedule?  Are they employed?  
Where?  What hours?  For how long?  This information may provide times when the 
child and perpetrator could be alone or when abuse may have occurred. 

• Is there a history of domestic violence or abuse within this family?  Or with the 
perpetrator?     

• Have protective orders previously been sought 
or obtained?  What protective orders are currently in 
effect or awaiting service? 
• Does the perpetrator have a history of arrest or 
substance (alcohol and drug) misuse?  
• Does the perpetrator have any weapons in the 
home or access to weapons elsewhere? 
• Will the non-offending parent or caregiver 
support the child throughout the disclosure process or 
side with the perpetrator against the child? 
• Did the non-offending parent or caregiver tell 
anyone else about the abuse or neglect who may now 
be contacted to assist with the investigation? 

NOTE:  DCYF is required to 
make every effort to meet 
with the perpetrator during 
its investigation.  DCYF 
should work with law 
enforcement to determine 
the earliest possible date 
that DCYF can interview the 
perpetrator.   
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• Who are the household members?  Do they pose a safety threat to the child(ren)? 
In speaking with the non-offending parent or caregiver, it would be important to note any 

behavior changes that had been observed since the onset of the alleged abuse or neglect or 
the child’s disclosure.  These behavior changes could appear to be sudden and unexplained.  
For example, behavioral changes might include, but are not limited to: 

• Different sleep patterns, nightmares, or bedwetting; 
• Thumb-sucking; 
• Soiling pants; 
• Self-harm;  
• Sudden rages; or  
• Acting out aggressively or sexually.  
See Recognizing Child Abuse, page 6 for additional information. 
Law enforcement should also document the non-offending parent or caregiver’s response 

to protective measures related to the child victim. 
Based on the information gathered from the non-offending parent or caregiver interview, 

combined with the total DCYF assessment, DCYF may find it necessary to open a case in 
order to monitor the safety of the child and assist in securing services for the family.  It is 
important for law enforcement to understand DCYF’s timeframes.  

INTERVIEWING SIBLINGS AND OTHER CHILDREN  
After the victim is interviewed, any children (less than 18 years old) in the household or 

otherwise having contact with the perpetrator should be interviewed at a CAC as soon as 
possible to determine: 

• If they are a possible victim; 
• If they are aware of what the victim is experiencing; and 
• If they can provide additional information regarding the abusive/neglectful situation. 

These interviews should be referred to the CAC and multidisciplinary team.  These 
interviews should be conducted by a forensic interviewer.   

Per RSA 169-C:34, VI parents can refuse to make their children 
available for a DCYF interview to assess child abuse and neglect.  DCYF 

can seek a court order to conduct the interviews if DCYF can show that the 
children are in imminent risk of harm.  In situations where parents deny 

law enforcement access to the victim’s siblings, consultation with the 
appropriate County Attorney’s Office is recommended. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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INTERVIEWING THE PERPETRATOR 
In cases in which law enforcement is pursuing criminal 

charges, the investigator will proceed in the most effective manner 
possible to obtain critical information during the interview with the 
perpetrator.  It should be pre-determined if DCYF will be involved 
in this interview or not.  If possible, allow DCYF to observe the 
interview from a remote location or video monitoring device.  If it 
is determined that DCYF will not participate in the interview, then 
DCYF needs to provide the questions that it would like law 
enforcement to ask during the interview.  If law enforcement 
conducts an interview without DCYF present, it should ensure 
DCYF is provided with a full summary of the interview.  Regardless, DCYF will interview 
the perpetrator during their investigation, barring exigent circumstances.   

Law enforcement should be prepared for the perpetrator to feel threatened.  They may be 
hostile, angry, defensive, belligerent or frightened.  The interviewer needs to be patient with 
the perpetrator and avoid assuming a judgmental attitude. 

Efforts should be made to build rapport with the perpetrator.  Many perpetrators will 
minimize or justify the event by offering reasons such as an unhappy marriage, the loss of a 
job, being intoxicated, their own sexual abuse as a child, etc.  Allowing this to occur may 
facilitate a disclosure of what happened. 

In addition, the following points should be considered: 

• The investigator(s) who will be conducting the interview with the perpetrator should 
consider whether or not it would be appropriate to consult with an experienced 
interviewer prior to conducting the interview; 

• At the beginning of the interview, if the perpetrator is not in custody and the 
interviewer has no expectation of arresting the perpetrator immediately following the 
interview, the interviewer may consider conducting a “non-custodial interview.”  In 
such an interview, Miranda requirements may not apply.  Advise the perpetrator 
either written or verbally that they are not under arrest, are free to leave, are 
participating voluntarily and that they may end the conversation at any time.  
Whenever practicable, the interview should be recorded with permission.  Law 
enforcement should follow their departmental policies; 

• At the beginning of the interview, if the perpetrator is in custody, they must be 
advised of their constitutional rights consistent with Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 
436, 86 S.Ct. 1602, 16 L.Ed.2d 694 (1966).  If the perpetrator is a juvenile then they 
must be advised of their rights consistent with State v. Benoit, 126 N.H. 6 (1985); 

• The perpetrator may be asked if they know why they are being interviewed.  Be very 
cautious about revealing detailed case information to the perpetrator.  Speak of the 
allegations in general terms not specifics.  The perpetrator may be trying to learn how 
much investigators know.  Telling some specifics of what the victim has disclosed 
may jeopardize the child’s safety.  The investigator may ask the perpetrator for their 
version of the incident(s).  If possible, this interview should be recorded; and 

It is critical, as part 
of the joint 
investigative 
response, that 
team members 
communicate with 
each other.   

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=Y&serNum=1966131580&pubNum=708&originatingDoc=Ibc5230f7948311d9a707f4371c9c34f0&refType=RP&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Keycite)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=Y&serNum=1966131580&pubNum=708&originatingDoc=Ibc5230f7948311d9a707f4371c9c34f0&refType=RP&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Keycite)
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• Law enforcement may use a polygraph exam as 
part of the investigative process.  This 
investigative tool provides an additional 
mechanism for seeking to establish the facts.  
The polygraph exam should only be requested 
upon the completion of normal investigative 
procedure and include background history.  
Polygraph exam results are not generally 
admissible at trial, but may help to focus the 
investigation or obtain a confession from a 
deceptive subject.  The results of a polygraph 
exam should not be used as the sole determinant 
of whether or not a perpetrator is prosecuted.   

Based on statements given by the perpetrator, evidence gathered and statements obtained 
from the victim and others, law enforcement should then determine whether probable cause 
exists to justify an arrest and possible subsequent prosecution.  In some cases, discussion 
with a prosecutor may result in the facts being presented to a grand jury in lieu of seeking a 
custody arrest.   

SEARCH WARRANTS 
Serious consideration must be given to using search warrants as an investigative tool.  A 

search warrant should be used to seize physical evidence whenever the suspect would have 
an expectation of privacy in the area to be searched.  For a more complete discussion, see the 
New Hampshire Attorney General's Law Enforcement Manual.  

Anything the investigator wishes to seize or photograph/video by warrant that can 
corroborate the victim’s statement should be described in detail in the search warrant.  This 
may include, but is not limited to, instrumentalities, contraband, weapons, latent fingerprints, 
or the description of a room not usually available to a victim.  The execution of a warrant 
may reveal that a crime has or has not been committed.  As part of the investigation, the 
scene needs to be documented. 

A search warrant executed at the home of a perpetrator may result in the identification of 
other victims.   

If there is a concern that a perpetrator’s body might contain evidence, an examination by 
a SANE should be considered in order to collect the evidence.  If the investigator believes 
that this is appropriate then they should consult with the prosecuting authority for the case 
prior to an examination being conducted.  Please refer to the Sexual Assault: An Acute Care 
Protocol for Medical/Forensic Evaluation for more information.  Please note that a cost 
may be incurred to the law enforcement agency for this collection of evidence.   

In homicide cases, search warrant applications must be reviewed by the Assistant 
Attorney General assigned to the case.  In all other cases, law enforcement should consult 
with the County Attorney’s Office.   

It is important for law 
enforcement to communicate 
with DCYF regarding any safety 
concerns they may have.  If 
child safety is a concern, DCYF 
may create a safety plan or, 
when there is an open case, 
determine if visitation must be 
supervised.   

https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/documents/law-enforcement-manual.pdf
https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/documents/acute-care-protocol.pdf
https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/documents/acute-care-protocol.pdf
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COLLECTION OF EVIDENCE BY LAW ENFORCEMENT   
The identification, collection, and preservation of evidence 

are law enforcement functions and must be accurately 
documented.  All physical evidence gathered in abuse or 
neglect cases should be collected exclusively by law 
enforcement or medical personnel.  Law enforcement should 
collect any physical evidence as soon as possible either with 
consent of the non-offending parent or caregiver or by 
obtaining a search warrant, when necessary.  This evidence 
might include the instrument used to inflict injury, guns or 
poison left within reach of unsupervised children, or evidence 
obtained from a physical examination.  Collection and 
packaging of physical evidence must be done in accordance 
with current New Hampshire Forensic Laboratory submission 
requirements.  Refer to the Forensic Laboratory Handbook for guidelines. 

Evidence gathering is part of the criminal case preparation and processing.  If, during the 
course of the case, DCYF comes upon an item believed to be of evidentiary value, law 
enforcement should be contacted immediately to collect, package and document the 
evidence.  It is not DCYF’s responsibility to conduct a criminal investigation. 

MEDICAL EVIDENCE 
Law enforcement should obtain signed releases of information for all medical records.  

Most medical facilities will require the use of their own release of information form, not one 
provided by law enforcement.  It is important to be specific that ALL information is 
requested including any recordings, images and Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner records 
(which are often stored separately from routine medical records).   

PRESERVATION AND STORAGE CONSIDERATIONS OF SEXUAL ASSAULT 
EVIDENCE COLLECTION KITS  

If during the medical evaluation a New Hampshire Sexual Assault Evidence Collection 
Kit is obtained, law enforcement should: 

• Properly secure the evidence (e.g., refrigerate the kit if 
it contains a blood sample and keep urine on ice or frozen) 
until transport to the New Hampshire State Police Crime 
Laboratory;  
• Transport the kit and all other evidence for analysis to 
the New Hampshire State Police Crime Laboratory as soon 
as possible.  Under no circumstances should untested 
kits be left at the police department.  All kits, regardless 
of whether the case is moving forward or not, must be 
transported to the lab; and  
• Properly secure the kit and any other evidence in the 
case, upon return from the state lab.   

Examples of things to 
document may include:  

• Taking measurements 

• Documenting the water 
temperature of a water 
heater 

• Describing the placement 
of furniture where an 
incident occurred 

All kits should be 
transported to the 

State Police Forensic 
Laboratory as soon 

as possible and 
should NOT be kept 

at the Police 
Department or in a 

vehicle. 
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SPECIAL CONSIDERATIONS 
Due to the limited time allowed for the adjudication of matters involving juvenile 

offenders it is imperative that law enforcement agencies submit any related physical 
evidence to the New Hampshire State Police Forensic Laboratory in a timely manner.  This is 
especially important if DNA analysis is requested.  The forensic laboratory will generally 
need a minimum of two weeks to complete both serological and DNA testing.  Furthermore, 
investigators must remember to obtain and submit known DNA samples from all relevant 
individuals (victim(s) and perpetrator(s) for comparison to the evidence). 

PHOTOGRAPHIC EVIDENCE 
The necessity of taking photographs should be determined on a case-by-case basis and 

there are several items to consider.   

WHEN THERE IS VISIBLE PHYSICAL TRAUMA 

• Attempt to minimize the potential damaging effect that photography could have by 
not surprising the child with the use of a camera.  Let the child know in advance that 
photographs will be taken, explain why they are being taken and what purpose they 
will serve; 

• Only visible injuries (bruises, cuts, lacerations, bite marks, etc.) should be 
photographed.  Care should be taken to protect the child’s modesty with appropriate 
draping of non-affected areas; 

• The first image should have a placard consisting of the following information: 
Photographer, Date, Time, Location, Type of Crime and Incident Case Number. (See 
Appendix A Photograph Template); 

• Regardless of whether there is an injury to the child’s face or not, an initial photo 
needs to be taken showing the child’s face for identification purposes; 

• Overall distance photos should be taken to identify the injury in relation to the rest of 
the body, with close up shots to further document the appearance of injuries; 

• The injured areas should be photographed as they appear.  In order to show the size of 
the injury and relative location, use a measuring device.  Do not cover the injury with 
the measuring device.  It is also important to keep the measuring device on the same 
plane as the injury, or in close proximity in order to depict an accurate representation 
of the injury; 

• The nature of most injuries requires that photographs be taken in a timely manner due 
to the speed of the normal healing process.  Injuries such as bruising will be better 
demonstrated by taking the initial photographs and then follow-up photographs the 
next day or up to 48 hours after the initial assault, whenever practicable.  The first 
image of the follow-up photographs should have a placard consisting of the following 
information: Photographer, Date, Time, Location, Type of Crime and Incident Case 
Number; and 

• The law enforcement investigator taking photographs should submit them as evidence 
consistent with their departmental policies on evidence.  Photographs taken by 
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medical personnel become part of the medical records and cannot be given to law 
enforcement without proper signed releases.  

WHEN THERE IS SUSPECTED SEXUAL ABUSE  
Photographs of the genitalia, with or without injury, should ONLY be taken by the 

medical provider during a medical evaluation.  

CRIME SCENE 
Photographs of the crime scene should also be taken immediately to prevent alteration or 

contamination of the area.  For instance, if it is claimed that the child has been injured in a 
fall, the area where the injury is alleged to have occurred should be photographed.  It may be 
necessary or advisable to obtain a search warrant in order to photograph a scene if written 
consent to search is not obtained.  If the investigator is unsure if a search warrant is 
necessary, they should request clarification from the County Attorney.  

SHARING OF INFORMATION 
Throughout the entire joint investigation, information and findings by both DCYF and 

law enforcement should be fully shared between the two agencies.  According to RSA 169-
C:34, III, DCYF "may request and shall receive from any agency of the state or any of its 
political subdivisions or any schools, such assistance and information as will enable it to 
fulfill its responsibilities….” 

According to RSA 169-C:38, II, DCYF may share information from its case records to 
the extent permitted by law with the partnering law enforcement agency in order to assist 
them with an investigation and evaluation of a report of abuse or neglect.  “Investigating 
police officers shall not use or reveal any confidential information shared with them by the 
department [DCYF] except to the extent necessary for the investigation and prosecution of 
the case.”  (RSA 169-C:38, II)    

To provide additional guidance to law enforcement and DCYF, the Attorney 
General’s Office, with the Department of Health and Human Services issued “Joint 
Guidelines for DCYF/Law Enforcement on Mandatory Notification, Record Sharing and 
Investigations” in April 2016.  That document is 
attached as Appendix D: Joint Investigative Guidelines.   

Additionally, if medical records exist, RSA 169-C:25-a 
allows law enforcement to obtain a court order requiring 
medical providers and DCYF to share medical records with 
law enforcement.  Law enforcement in possession of 
medical records is also authorized to re-disclose the 
medical records it obtains to the department or other law 
enforcement for the purpose of conducting investigations 
of child abuse or neglect, child fatalities, other crimes 
against a child, and any subsequent child protection actions 
or criminal proceedings.  

NOTE:  As a reminder, the rules 
governing the confidentiality of 
information differ between the 
civil child abuse and neglect 
proceedings and criminal 
proceedings. Information 
gathered in a criminal 
investigation is often subject to 
91-A, whereas information in a 
DCYF investigation is not.   

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-38.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-38.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-25-a.htm
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LAW ENFORCEMENT FOLLOW-UP WITH DCYF 
DCYF has 60 days from the date of the initial report in which to make a determination of 

abuse or neglect.  If safety considerations are resolved, law enforcement may request DCYF 
to delay their final determination, in order to allow law enforcement to conclude its criminal 
investigation.  Once concluded, law enforcement should notify DCYF as to the outcome 
of their criminal investigation.   

This is necessary in order to: 

• Allow DCYF to determine if the abuse or neglect occurred and determine who is 
responsible as mandated by RSA 169-C:34; and 

• Allow DCYF, in the interests of child safety, if a determination of abuse or neglect is 
founded, to enter the information regarding the person responsible for the abuse or 
neglect into the DCYF Central Registry4, as mandated by RSA 169-C:35.   

If the criminal investigation results in a delay beyond 60 days, law enforcement 
should provide DCYF regular updates and a final determination of the investigation 
per the above stated mandates.   

If a DCYF investigation remains pending as "incomplete" while awaiting the results of a 
criminal investigation, the individual's name is not entered into the Central Registry.  It is 
therefore very important that law enforcement provide timely notice to DCYF of the outcome 
of its criminal investigation.  In the absence of this information, the individual’s name will 
not be entered in the DCYF Central Registry and the individual may become employed in 
licensed or departmentally funded childcare without DHHS’s knowledge. 

ASSISTING WITH MOTIONS TO ENTER 
If a child's parents refuse to allow a social worker or state employee on their premises as 

part of a DCYF investigation, and they have probable cause to believe that the child has been 
abused or neglected, DCYF is required by RSA 169-C:34, VII to seek a court order to enter 
the premises.  

If the court finds probable cause to believe that the child has been abused or neglected, 
the court will issue an order permitting a police officer, juvenile probation and parole officer, 
or child protection service worker to enter the premises to further DCYF’s investigation and 
to assess the child's immediate safety and well-being.  The statute also states that any 
juvenile probation and parole officer or child protection service worker who serves or 

                                                 
4 An individual’s name is entered on the DCYF Central Registry only after the DCYF assessment is 

completed, the individual has been determined to be responsible for the abuse or neglect, and they have been 
afforded their right to appeal DCYF’s finding 

Individuals involved with child-care, placement or adoption, in settings that are 
licensed or funded by the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human 
Services (DHHS) are screened against the DCYF Central Registry of founded 
reports of abuse and neglect.    

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-35.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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executes a motion to enter issued under this statute shall be accompanied by a police 
officer. 

ORDERS OF PROTECTION UNDER THE CHILD PROTECTION ACT 
(169-C) 

There are two different orders of protection that may be issued under the Child Protection 
Act.  While the parties requesting the protection, the relief awarded and the service of the 
orders may differ, enforcement procedures are the same and are found in RSA 169-C:21-a.    

JUVENILE ABUSE/NEGLECT ORDERS OF PROTECTION PURSUANT TO RSA 169-
C:16 OR 169-C:19 

Orders issued under RSA 169-C:16 or RSA 169-C:19, II(a) may be issued by the Circuit 
Court – Family Division, at the request of DCYF, CASA or another party to the case, when 
there is an open abuse and neglect case.   

If the person against whom the order is issued is present at the abuse and neglect 
proceeding, the order will be served at that time.  If the person is not present, the order shall 
be served by law enforcement.   

JUVENILE ABUSE ORDER OF PROTECTION PURSUANT TO RSA 169-C:7-a (AKA 
JADE’S LAW) 

Orders issued under RSA 169-C:7-a may be filed by a parent or guardian on behalf of a 
minor child, alleging abuse by a member of the child’s family or household.  A child’s 
parent may not file a petition against the other parent.   

While the process is similar to that of a domestic violence order under RSA 173-B, in 
that there is a petition for a temporary order, there are no emergency or telephonic protective 
orders available for RSA 169-C:7-a orders.  If a temporary order is granted, the court will 
schedule a hearing for 30 days, however the respondent may request a hearing within 5 days.  
These orders must also be served by law enforcement. 

ENFORCEMENT OF RSA 169-C ORDERS OF PROTECTION  
For both types of orders, if an officer has probable cause to believe a person has violated 

an order, an arrest SHALL be made.  The arrest may be made without a warrant if there is 
probable cause to believe the violation occurred within 6 hours of the arrest (RSA 169-
C:21-a).  

The provisions of RSA 169-C do not authorize the court to order the seizure of weapons 
or firearms when the protective order is issued.  However, subsequent to an arrest for the 
violation of a RSA 169-C Order of Protection, officers SHALL SEIZE any firearms and 
ammunition in the control, ownership, or possession of the defendant. Officers shall also 
seize any other deadly weapons in the control, ownership or possession of the defendant 
which may have been used, or were threatened to be used, during the violation of the 
protective order (RSA 169-C:21-a).  

An individual arrested for a violation of a RSA 169-C Order must be detained until 
arraignment and cannot be released on bail.  Any criminal complaint brought for a violation 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-21-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-16.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-19.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-7-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-7-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-21-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-21-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-21-a.htm
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of a RSA 169-C Order must be filed as a class A misdemeanor; it cannot be reduced to a 
lesser charge.   

REPORTING TO DCYF 
When law enforcement makes an arrest for a violation of a Juvenile Abuse/Neglect Order 

of Protection pursuant to a RSA 169-C:16 or RSA 169-C:19, II(a) order, they must 
immediately notify DCYF Central Intake by telephone at 1-800-894-5533, which is available 
24 hours a day.  This report should contain: 

• The parties involved; 
• The nature of the violation (e.g., threats via text; showing up at the child’s school); 
• When and where the violation occurred;  
• Who was present; 
• The impact on the child;  
• What other charges the defendant may be charged with; and 
• Whether firearms, ammunition or deadly weapons were seized. 
Central Intake may ask additional questions and request that law enforcement submit a 

written report as follow-up.   

USE OF BODY-WORN CAMERAS (BWCs) IN NEW HAMPSHIRE 
RSA 105-D, which regulates the use of body worn cameras by law enforcement, became 

effective in January 2017.  This statute does not mandate the acquisition of body worn 
cameras.  Rather it requires any New Hampshire law enforcement agency that opts to 
implement BWCs as a tool for policing to adopt policies and procedures relating to their use 
and the retention and destruction of data (RSA 105-D:2).  There are currently several 
national resources available to assist law enforcement with the development of policies and 
protocols and curriculum for officer training.  See Resources in Appendix B for more 
information.  

Agencies are strongly encouraged to develop policies that are victim-centered, trauma 
informed and compliant with both RSA 105-D and RSA 91-A (Right to Know) requirements.  
Around the country, policy decisions are currently being made without sufficient evidence-
based research regarding the use of BWCs, and its effects on law enforcement interactions 
with crime victims, such as building trust and privacy issues, as well as concerns as to how 
BWC footage will be used.5 

Policies and protocols should specifically address the use of BWC’s when responding to 
a child abuse victim and provide clear guidance to officers as to when it is permissible to 
capture audio and/video recordings.   

                                                 
5 Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence (MNADV) Guidance on the Use of Body-Worn Cameras 

(BWC) During the Administration of the Lethality Assessment Program (LAP), Issued June 2016, pg. 7. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-16.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-19.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/VII/105-D/105-D-mrg.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/VII/105-D/105-D-mrg.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/VII/105-D/105-D-mrg.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/vi/91-a/91-a-mrg.htm
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CONSIDERATIONS FOR RECORDING VICTIM INTERVIEWS 

• Law enforcement should refer to agency SOPs or the County Attorney for guidance 
regarding whether or not a minimal facts interview should be recorded utilizing a 
BWC; 

• If law enforcement is conducting an interview of a child in a public place pursuant to 
RSA 169-C:38, IV when wearing a BWC, then the interview shall be recorded; 

• If there needs to be a comprehensive interview in a private place, when a CAC is not 
an option, then law enforcement needs to get parental consent to record the interview.  
If consent is not given then the interview should not be recorded; and 

• The head of the law enforcement agency (or their designee) may waive the need for 
consent to record an interview of minor with a BWC when the parent or guardian is 
the subject of the investigation to which the child is a victim (RSA 105-D:2,IV(d)).  

Body Worn Cameras should not be utilized during MDT meetings and CAC interviews of 
children.   

When an officer is responding to a healthcare facility, the BWC should be turned off due 
to patient privacy rights,6 unless the officer is responding to a 911 call at that facility. 

DOCUMENTATION PROCEDURES  
The investigative agency is responsible for completing a report documenting the results 

of the interview with the child.   
 
  

                                                 
6 Pub.L., 104-191 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-38.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/VII/105-D/105-D-mrg.htm
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THE ROLE OF CHILD ADVOCACY CENTERS (CAC) 
All New Hampshire Child Advocacy Centers (CAC) follow national best practice 

standards.  CACs adhere to a set of county based operational protocols that were developed 
by and for the multidisciplinary team of professionals utilizing the CACs.  This collaborative 
interagency approach covers both the investigation of cases of child abuse and arranging 
support services for the child and non-offending parent(s) or caregiver(s).  Although each 
CAC adheres to its own protocols, all CAC protocols throughout the state share many 
similarities and are nearly identical in their investigative procedures.  The protocols 
contained here closely mirror individual CAC protocols across New Hampshire.  Agencies 
that refer cases to a CAC agree to adhere to that CAC’s protocols as agreed to in the jointly 
established Memoranda of Understanding (MOU).  

CAC REFERRAL CRITERIA 
Referrals to a CAC are received from the Division for Children, Youth and Families 

(DCYF) or law enforcement agencies, and should meet the following criteria: 

• Those interviewed should be children under the age of 18 years old.  The CAC can 
make exceptions on a case-by-case basis; 

• Allegations to be evaluated should fall within the 
parameters of abuse or neglect as defined by the New 
Hampshire Child Protection Act (RSA 169-C) or 
allegations within the parameters of New Hampshire’s 
criminal code that impact the safety or well-being of 
the child victim or witness; 

• The referring agency is required to provide relevant 
disclosure and preliminary information including a 
history to the CAC at the time of the initial referral; 
and  

• Cases where there is a history of investigative interviews related to the same incident 
will be reviewed for acceptance and may be accepted at the discretion of the CAC. 

CAC/MULTIDISCIPLINARY TEAMS (MDT) 
The purpose of the CAC/MDT is to review case investigations and develop two action 

plans: one related to investigation and prosecution; the second related to making 
recommendations for the protection, safety and future well-being of the person being 
interviewed.  The members of the MDT may include, but are not limited to, individuals from 
the following agencies or disciplines: 

• Prosecution (US Attorney’s Office, County Attorney’s Office, Attorney General’s 
Office, local prosecutors)*; 

• Law Enforcement*; 
• Division for Children, Youth and Families*; 
• Health Care; 
• Mental Health Care; 
• Prosecution based Victim/Witness services*; 

NOTE: This referral 
process does not replace 
an individual’s 
requirement to report 
suspected abuse/neglect 
to DCYF in accordance 
with RSA 169-C.   

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xii/169-c/169-c-mrg.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xii/169-c/169-c-mrg.htm
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• Crisis Center Advocacy; and 
• Child Advocacy Center*. 
*Denotes members of the MDT that have investigative responsibilities (referred to as the 

“Investigative Team”).  The Investigative Team may be expanded to include other 
professionals to augment the Team’s purpose.   

INFORMATION SHARING  

All MDT members are bound by each discipline’s applicable statutes, 
rules of confidentiality, and ethical obligations.  They are precluded from 

sharing privileged information unless written consent to release 
information has been obtained (where applicable) or a court order has 

been issued (when required by law).  MDT members must make every effort 
to obtain releases of information, where authorized, if privileged matters 

need to be presented or discussed.   

In 2006, the New Hampshire Legislature passed enabling legislation encouraging the use 
of the CAC multidisciplinary approach, and the sharing of information among the team 
members.  According to RSA 169-C:34-a, III, DCYF may share information from its case 
records to the extent permitted by law with members of a MDT in order to assist the team 
with its investigation and evaluation of a report of abuse or neglect.  The statute also dictates 
that MDT members shall be required to execute a confidentiality agreement and shall be 
bound by the confidentiality provisions of RSA 169-C:25 and RSA 170-G:8-a.  

Throughout the entire joint investigation, information and findings by both DCYF and 
law enforcement should be fully shared.  According to RSA 169-C:34,III,  DCYF "may 
request and shall receive from any agency of the state or any of its political subdivisions or 
any schools, such assistance and information as will enable it to fulfill its responsibilities.…” 

To provide additional guidance to law enforcement and DCYF, the Attorney 
General’s Office and the Department of Health and Human Services issued “Joint 
Guidelines for DCYF/Law Enforcement on Mandatory Notification, Record Sharing and 
Investigations” in April 2016.  That document is attached as Appendix D: Joint 
Investigative Guidelines.   

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING (MOU) 
The CAC/MDT has a written interagency agreement signed by authorized representatives 

of all MDT components that clearly commits the signed parties to the CAC/MDT model for 
its multidisciplinary child abuse intervention response.  The interagency agreement includes: 

• Law Enforcement; 
• Child Protective Services; 
• Prosecution; 
• Mental Health; 
• Medical; 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-25.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/170-G/170-G-8-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-34.htm
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• Victim Advocacy; and 
• Children’s Advocacy Center. 
Written agreements formalize interagency cooperation and commitment to CAC/MDT 

policy, ensuring continuity of practice.  Written agreements may be in differing forms 
including memoranda of understanding (MOUs), and/or interagency agreements (I/As), and 
are signed by the leadership of participating agencies (e.g. police chiefs, prosecuting 
attorney, agency department heads, supervisors, etc.) or their designees.  

INTAKE PROCEDURES  
• CAC staff receives a referral requesting services for a child 

and reviews the referral to ensure it meets CAC criteria; 
• CAC staff document all needed information; 
• If the criteria are met, the CAC staff will coordinate a 

forensic interview with relevant members of the MDT; and 
• Based on the safety of the child and the underlying 

circumstances, the forensic interview will be scheduled at 
the most appropriate time and the CAC staff will notify the 
appropriate agencies. 

PRE-INTERVIEW TEAM BRIEFING  
The CAC pre-interview information-sharing meeting will occur 30-60 minutes prior to 

the scheduled forensic interview.  During this stage, it is critical that team members come 
prepared with relevant information such as initial disclosure, family history and dynamics, 
and suspect information.  These factors will help develop the forensic interview approach.    

PROCEDURES PERTAINING TO THE FAMILY 
• Upon their arrival at the CAC, the child and the non-offending parent or caregiver 

will be welcomed by CAC staff and introduced to the appropriate team members; 
• CAC staff will request a signed Authorization for Release of Information Form from 

the non-offending parent or caregiver permitting the sharing of information among 
the team members; 

• The team will meet with the non-offending parent or caregiver prior to and following 
the forensic interview to provide information, support, and recommendations for 
follow-up steps and services; and 

• CAC staff will request a local Crisis Center Advocate or other supportive staff to be 
available to the non-offending parent or caregiver during the CAC process.  For more 
information please refer to Crisis Center Advocates, page 63.   

FORENSIC INTERVIEW PROCEDURE AT THE CAC 
• All members of the Investigative Team should be present during the CAC forensic 

interview(s); 
• The forensic interview will be conducted in a manner that is trauma informed, 

developmentally appropriate, and culturally competent; 

NOTE: When making a 
referral to the CAC, 
agencies should assess 
for any special needs or 
considerations the child 
and family may have 
and communicate this 
information to the CAC. 
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• The forensic interview must be conducted by a specially 
trained forensic interviewer.  CAC forensic interviewers 
should meet the standard set forth by the National 
Children’s Alliance (NCA) current best practice 
standards;  

• Only members of the Investigative Team will observe 
the forensic interview.  Family members and/or their 
representatives will not be permitted to observe the 
interview; and 

• Observers should be able to communicate with the forensic interviewer during the 
interview process by an agreed upon method.   

PROCEDURE FOR RECORDING THE INTERVIEW OF THE CHILD 
VICTIM 

Audio/visual recordings of investigative interviews are evidence and should be secured, 
according to the department guidelines of each investigative agency.  When there is a joint 
investigative interview of a child at a CAC, both DCYF and law enforcement will be 
provided a copy of the recorded interview.  CACs do not retain a copy of the interview.  
DCYF, the CAC, the law enforcement agency and the prosecutors should limit disclosure of 
the recorded interview to the greatest extent possible in order to protect the child’s privacy 
and the integrity of any law enforcement investigation. 

If DCYF finds that the recorded interview is relevant and necessary evidence for the 
adjudication of a child protection case, DCYF will communicate with law enforcement and 
the prosecutors and will take the following preliminary steps:    

• Identify and consider all relevant evidence and witnesses in the child protection case; 
• Consider whether the recorded interview is clearly necessary and relevant in the child 

protection case; and 
• Consider whether there is alternative evidence, such as a transcript or audio recording 

of the interview or witness testimony, which could be used for the adjudication of the 
child protection case that would eliminate the need for the recording. 

POST-INTERVIEW BRIEFING 
Following the conclusion of the interview, MDT members will meet to de-brief the 

results of the interview and meet with the non-offending parent or caregiver for relevant 
updates and next steps. 

The CAC will document relevant follow-up activities and referrals for services.   
When follow-up contact is made by the CAC, CAC staff will remind the family that crisis 

center services are available to them.   

DOCUMENTATION PROCEDURES  
The investigative agency is responsible for completing a report documenting the results 

of the interview with the child.   

The non-offending 
parent or caregiver’s 
interview will be 
conducted at a 
separate place and 
time.   
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RELEASE OF INFORMATION  
The CAC will not release any information regarding recordings or interviews except to 

authorized individuals.  Any requests to view recordings by parents or others will be referred 
to the prosecutor (if there is criminal investigation) and DCYF (if there is a child protection 
case).    

CASE REVIEW 
Case review represents the true multidisciplinary spirit of the CAC model as it provides a 

forum for team members to utilize the specialized expertise of all disciplines participating in 
the ongoing status of the investigation.  

CAC staff coordinates case review monthly meetings.  Prior to the meeting a notice 
regarding the date, time and agenda shall be sent out to all MDT members.   

MDT members are precluded from sharing privileged information unless written consent 
to release information has been obtained or a court order has been issued.  Non Investigative 
Team members are responsible for obtaining appropriate releases of information (i.e., 
HIPAA compliance) if privileged matters need to be presented or discussed during case 
review.   

Participants in case review should include members from the County Attorney's Office, 
law enforcement, DCYF, and CAC staff, as well as medical and mental health providers.  
Additional team members may be added as needed for individual case consultation.  
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THE ROLE OF THE MEDICAL COMMUNITY 

 
The medical community plays an essential role in the prevention, recognition, and 

treatment of child abuse and neglect.  The long term resources and trusting relationships 
available in the child’s medical home are key factors in supporting families and keeping 
children safe, secure and healthy.  Because healthcare providers see infants, children and 
adolescents frequently as part of routine health 
maintenance and ongoing care, problems can be 
noted and addressed early, hopefully before harm 
results.  When signs of suspected abuse and/or 
neglect appear, a prompt referral shall be made to 
DCYF for assessment and any further intervention 
needed.  Additional referrals should be made to 
agencies that can intervene to minimize the impact 
of adverse childhood experiences and promote the 
child’s health and well-being.  

THE MEDICAL EVALUATION  
When abuse and/or neglect are suspected, a comprehensive medical evaluation is an 

essential part of the multidisciplinary response.  The medical evaluation in suspected child 
abuse and/or neglect includes: 

The American Academy of 
Pediatrics defines a medical home 
as a primary care office that 
provides accessible, family –
centered, continuous, 
comprehensive, coordinated, 
compassionate, and culturally 
effective care. 

The Child Protection Act (RSA 169-C:29) requires that any individual suspecting a child 
has been abused or neglected is required to immediately report (RSA 169-C:30) their concerns 
to DCYF.  This includes, a doctor, nurse, physician assistant or any other medical practitioner.  
Regardless of the ways in which a practitioner becomes suspicious of abuse or neglect, 
including hearing a disclosure, the practitioner is required by law to make the report. 

It is important to note that it is the individual practitioner who suspects abuse and neglect 
who must immediately make the report directly to the Division for Children, Youth and 
Families (DCYF) Central Intake Office by telephone at 1-800-894-5533, which is available 24 
hours a day.  This requirement is mandated by New Hampshire state law, RSA 169-C:29, 
regardless of any hospital’s, office’s or other medical facility’s policy which might be contrary.   

Any notification required by an agency or institution policy to superiors should not delay 
the report or defer the obligation to report.  The purpose of the law is to ensure that the report is 
made with firsthand knowledge and minimizes the trauma to the child by eliminating the need 
for the child to repeatedly tell their story. 

Failure to comply with this statute may result in a misdemeanor charge to the individual who 
did not report (RSA 169-C:39).   

Anyone acting in good faith in making a report or providing information or assistance to 
DCYF, is immune from liability.  See RSA 169-C:31 or Immunity, page 9 for more information. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-30.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-39.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-31.htm
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• Immediate stabilization of active medical conditions; 
• Obtaining consent for treatment and permission for information sharing as needed; 
• Conducting a comprehensive assessment of the child’s physical, psychological and 

developmental health;  
• Diagnosing, documenting, and addressing medical conditions resulting from abuse 

and/or neglect; 
• Differentiating medical findings that are indicative of abuse and/or neglect from those 

which may be explained by other medical conditions; 
• Collecting forensic evidence as indicated; 
• Making any necessary referrals for specialty care, including to pediatric abuse 

specialists, if appropriate; 
• Assessing for social determinants of health and involving social service personnel if 

needed; 
• Supporting and educating the child and family;  
• Recommending medical evaluations for any siblings or other children potentially 

affected by the abuse and/or neglect;  
• Communicating the results of the evaluation to the child’s primary care provider, if 

that provider has not done the above evaluation;  
• Communicating the results of the evaluation with non-medical members of the 

multidisciplinary team as authorized; 
• Report any new or additional findings of suspected abuse and/or neglect to DCYF; 
• Providing or delegating follow-up care;  
• Educating the non-medical members of the multidisciplinary team about the involved 

medical issues; and 
• Providing testimony as required. 

WHEN THE SITUATION IS AN EMERGENCY 
Reasons for emergency evaluation include, but are not limited to: 

• A child appears acutely ill (bleeding, injured, not responsive etc.); 
• A child was exposed to drugs or other toxic substances within the past 120 hours 

including via possible drug-facilitated sexual assault; 
• An infant under age 6 months may have been injured; 
• Any patient experienced sexual abuse within the preceding 72 hours; additionally, it 

is also an emergency if the patient is a pubertal female who experienced 
penile/vaginal penetration within the preceding 120 hours; and 

• Any child or family is experiencing a crisis (i.e., is a suicidal, homicidal, or flight 
risk) and may require an immediate mental health assessment. 

WHO SHOULD PERFORM THE EVALUATION 
The evaluation is conducted by a health care provider as described below.  
Other medical team members may include an office nurse or nursing assistant, a social 

worker, an office-based behavioral health specialist, or a Child Life Specialist.  Depending 
on the situation, the medical evaluator might be: 
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• The child’s Primary Care Provider who may specialize in pediatrics or family 
practice as a: 

o Physician (medical doctor [MD] or doctor of osteopathy [DO]); 
o Nurse practitioner (advanced practice registered nurse [APRN]); or  
o Physician’s assistant [PA]. 

This provider will likely know the child and family best but may not have the training 
and experience to address the medical concerns arising from the suspected abuse or 
neglect, in which case consultation with a specialist would be advised.  

• An Emergency Medicine Practitioner who is particularly skilled at stabilizing a 
child with acute medical issues.  Some, such as Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners 
(SANEs), have particular competence in caring for patients 
who have recently been sexually assaulted.  A SANE may 
be further identified as one trained in the care of adults, 
adolescents or prepubescent (not yet sexually developed) 
children and may or may not hold national Board 
certification as a SANE-A ® or SANE-P ®.  Following 
emergency stabilization, specialty referral may be indicated;  

• A Board Certified Child Abuse Pediatrician who is a 
pediatrician with specialized education and experience in 
the care of abused and neglected children, has passed a 
written examination and maintains their certification by 
completing medical education credits, quality improvement 
activities and periodic written examinations in the field; or 

• A Nurse Practitioner, Physician’s Assistant or Physician 
with additional child abuse training as specified by the National Children’s Alliance 
(NCA). 

THE ROLE OF THE MEDICAL PROVIDER WITHIN A CAC 
MULTIDISCIPLINARY TEAM  

When a child with suspected abuse or neglect is referred to a Child Advocacy Center 
(CAC), they will be offered a medical evaluation.  The CAC will have an established 
agreement with a medical provider with expertise in pediatrics and child abuse and 
neglect available to perform comprehensive evaluations.  The provider may be a physician, 
nurse practitioner, Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner or physician’s assistant who will: 

• Have specialized training and experience in the field of child maltreatment; 
• Collaborate with the CAC in establishing and implementing guidelines for when, 

where and by whom a child will receive medical care depending on the level of 
urgency of the case and with the goal of preventing unnecessary repeated medical 
evaluations; 

• Follow established guidelines for evaluation of patients including photo-
documentation of findings;  

• Participate in the multidisciplinary team process;  
• Engage in peer review of cases; 

Standards for CAC 
medical providers are 
available on the 
National Children’s 
Alliance webpage at 
http://www.nationalchil
drensalliance.org/wp-
content/uploads/2015/
06/NCA-Standards-for-
Accredited-Members-
2017.pdf. 

http://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/NCA-Standards-for-Accredited-Members-2017.pdf
http://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/NCA-Standards-for-Accredited-Members-2017.pdf
http://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/NCA-Standards-for-Accredited-Members-2017.pdf
http://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/NCA-Standards-for-Accredited-Members-2017.pdf
http://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/NCA-Standards-for-Accredited-Members-2017.pdf
http://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/NCA-Standards-for-Accredited-Members-2017.pdf
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• Keep up with the medical literature and engage in regular medical education in the 
field; 

• Agree to see families regardless of their ability to pay; and 
• Provide translation services as necessary (standards for CAC medical providers are 

available on the national children’s alliance webpage at 
http://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/nca-standards-
for-accredited-members-2017.pdf).  

PARTICULAR CHALLENGES FOR MEDICAL PROVIDERS 
All medical providers should be familiar with the particular challenges of addressing 

possible child abuse or neglect.  

INJURIES 
Injuries are a common part of childhood but any injury can potentially result from abuse 

or neglect.  Especially concerning are any injuries, even small bruises, in infants who do not 
yet crawl or pull up to a standing position (including those explained as due to siblings); 
repeated injuries; injuries for which the offered explanation is at odds with the child’s 
developmental abilities or the mechanics required for the injury; and injuries for which no 
explanation is given. 

TAKING A CHILD’S HISTORY 
An accurate medical history is essential in making the medical diagnosis and determining 

treatment but the history offered may be incomplete, exaggerated, misleading or falsified.  
The history taken from a parent or accompanying caregiver should be done without the child 
(or other verbal children) present.  Talking to a child may reveal important information about 
the cause of a health concern, but if the child is in the presence of the perpetrator or a non-
abusive caretaker who the child believes will be distressed by a disclosure, the reported 
history may be inaccurate.  

It is therefore preferable to talk to the child alone for at least part of the encounter.  Even 
then, a child may be ashamed, afraid, or unwilling to disclose maltreatment especially at the 
hands of someone close to them.  

It is also essential to ask the child questions without hinting at what the “right” answer 
should be.  More accurate information is likely to be shared by the child if the discussion 
requires a narrative rather than a single-word response, for example, saying “tell me how that 
happened.”  Because children learn the helping role of doctors and nurses at a very young 
age, they may disclose information to medical personnel that they might not share with 
others.  

It is not the role of a medical provider to conduct a lengthy interview of the child. Rather, 
if a child with suspected abuse or neglect is evaluated by a medical provider before DCYF or 
law enforcement is involved, it is important to limit details of the situation to those facts 
necessary to address the medical and safety needs of the child. These facts include: 

• What happened?  A brief description is adequate provided sufficient detail is 
obtained to address potential medical issues. 

• Who is the perpetrator and what is their relationship to the child? 

http://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/NCA-Standards-for-Accredited-Members-2017.pdf
http://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/NCA-Standards-for-Accredited-Members-2017.pdf
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• Where did it happen? 
• When did it happen (especially, when was the most recent time)? 
• Are there other potential victims? 
• Is the child safe now? 

In order to maintain the integrity of any potential investigation, the role of comprehensive 
questioning of the child should, if possible, fall to trained forensic interviewers.   

PHYSICAL ASSESSMENT 
The physical assessment of any child with an injury or where there is a concern for 

possible abuse or neglect should be a complete examination during which every body part is 
examined unclothed.  A chaperone should be present and that person’s identity documented 
in the medical record.  Patients will benefit from trauma-informed care which means 
(adjusting as appropriate for the child’s developmental level):  

• Being sensitive to signs of stress and offering to take a break(s) as needed; 
• Explaining the steps of the evaluation beforehand so the patient can prepare 

themselves; 
• Allowing the patient as much control over the exam as possible (choice of support 

person, use of gown/drape, etc.); 
• Asking for permission before discussing sensitive topics; and  
• Asking for permission before doing anything, particularly steps that involve physical 

contact. 

RSA 169-C:33 states that any medical person or the department 
[DCYF] preparing or investigating a report under this chapter, may take, 
or cause to be taken, photographs of the areas of trauma visible on a child 

who is the subject of a report and, if medically indicated, cause to be 
performed a radiological examination of the child without the consent of 
the child’s parents or guardians.  All photographs and X-rays taken, or 

copies of them, shall be sent to the appropriate offices of the department as 
soon as possible.   

SCREENING 
Screening for effects of trauma and resilience factors in the child and family are part of 

many providers’ plans of care.  See Medical References below for more information.  
Screening for medical complications via specific laboratory tests (including drug screening) 
and imaging (x-ray, Computerized Tomography [CT] scanning, Magnetic Resonance 
Imaging [MRI] etc.) may be indicated depending on the age of the child and circumstances of 
the case.  

In particular, any child under 2 years of age with suspected physical abuse should have a 
skeletal survey and any young infant with suspected physical abuse should also have head 
imaging.  See Medical References below for more information. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-33.htm


 

Model Protocol for the Multidisciplinary Response to Child Abuse and Neglect, 2021 Page 56 

REPORTING  
Under New Hampshire’s child protection statute (RSA 169-C:29), everyone is a 

mandated reporter.  Any medical provider or healthcare staff member is mandated to report 
suspected child abuse and neglect to the Division for Children, Youth and Families (DCYF).  
This report shall be made immediately (RSA 169-C:30) to the DCYF Central Intake 
Office by telephone at 1-800-894-5533, which is available 24 hours a day. Written 
permission from, or notification of the patient and/or guardian(s) is not required. This is 
because the need to provide medical information to protect the safety of the child takes 
precedence over confidentiality concerns, including those covered by the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).  See the American Academy of Pediatrics’ 
policy statement on this topic at http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/125/1/197. 

Each medical provider is legally responsible for making a report for which they have 
information.  DCYF needs first-hand information from the provider and delegating this task 
can lead to a missed report.  

Each report shall contain, if known: 

• The name and address of the child(ren) suspected of 
being abused or neglected; 

• The name of the parent or caregiver responsible for the 
child’s welfare; 

• The nature and extent of suspected abuse/neglect 
(including evidence of previous injuries);  

• The identity of the perpetrator; and  
• Any other information that may be helpful to the 

assessment (e.g., possible threat to child’s safety; the 
perpetrator’s access to the child). 

While not statutorily required, reporters are encouraged to 
provide additional information to DCYF, such as:   

• The age of the child; 
• A complete medical description of known injuries (location, size, severity etc.) and 

plans for further assessment; 
• Explanations provided by the child or others about the child’s injuries or other 

concerns; 
• Direct observations of parent-child interactions (while at the medical evaluation);  
• Concerns and recommendations; and 
• The availability of medical reports, hospital charts, or any other pertinent medical 

information. 
If the medical provider does not have all of the above information, the report should not 

be delayed.  It is more important to initiate the multidisciplinary response to the situation.  A 
written report may also be requested by DCYF Central Intake and if so, should be provided 
promptly.  

If the medical provider has reason to believe the child is in immediate danger, the 
provider should call the law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where the abuse and 
neglect has occurred (if known) or local law enforcement.  This disclosure of immediate 

It is recommended 
that the medical 
provider inform the 
parent(s)/caregiver(s) 
that a report is being 
made to DCYF and/or 
the police and why.  
An exception would be 
if such a report might 
result in a safety 
concern for the child 
or another person.   

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-30.htm
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/125/1/197
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safety-related medical information to law enforcement without express consent or 
notification of the patient or guardian(s) is also protected under HIPAA and other statutes.  In 
this instance, a report will still need to be made to DCYF.  

The response from DCYF and/or law enforcement will be the development of a safety 
plan, which should be implemented before the child is discharged from immediate medical 
care. 

OTHER CHILD CONTACTS  
Siblings and other child contacts of a child with suspected abuse or neglect are at 

increased risk of abuse or neglect.  A medical evaluation of these other children may be 
indicated. 

LOCATION OF MEDICAL EVALUATION 

Where a medical evaluation is performed can impact its effectiveness.  Some children 
first come to the attention of the child protection system when they are brought to a hospital 
emergency department (ED).  The visit may be prompted by an acute event or following a 
disclosure that something may have happened in the past.   

The concern about possible child abuse or neglect may be the presenting complaint or 
may be raised by the ED staff once the child’s evaluation is underway.  While the child’s 
emergent medical needs may be well served in the ED, it is often challenging and sometimes 
impossible to provide a place to perform the necessary history gathering from the child and 
the caretakers separately and provide support for a traumatized family. 

When the ED is the site where an evaluation for child abuse or neglect begins, a written 
protocol that addresses the procedural, medical, social service, child protection and law 
enforcement issues is strongly recommended.  That protocol should include procedures to 
follow when families present in crisis (domestic violence, mental health emergencies, etc.) 
and should indicate how the child’s primary care provider will be notified of the abuse or 
neglect concerns so that follow-up is guaranteed. 

OBTAINING PERMISSION 
Medical providers typically obtain permission from the child’s parent or legal guardian 

before evaluation or treatment begins.  Permission is not required for any child presenting 
with a life-threatening condition; such a child should be immediately stabilized.  If parental 
refusal of necessary medical care causes a child to be unsafe then local law enforcement and 
DCYF shall be contacted immediately.  When abuse or neglect is suspected, the child may be 
evaluated with radiologic studies (such as X-rays, CT scan or MRI) even if the parent or 
guardian is unreachable or unwilling to give consent.  In any situation, whenever possible, 
age-appropriate assent should also be obtained from the child. 

ADOLESCENTS 
An adolescent presenting for medical care may, under New Hampshire state law, give 

their own consent for care of a substance use issue if over age 12 (RSA 318-B:12-a) and for 
treatment of a possible sexually transmitted infection if over age 14 (RSA 141-C:18 and RSA 
141-F:7).  

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXX/318-B/318-B-12-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/X/141-C/141-C-18.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/X/141-F/141-F-7.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/X/141-F/141-F-7.htm
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In addition, no medical evaluation of any adolescent should be performed without their 
assent.  The provider should explain that for patients under the age of 18, if abuse or neglect 
is suspected, the provider is obligated to notify the Division for Children, Youth and 
Families.  

It is important to consider the possibility that any child, but particularly an adolescent, 
may be involved in human trafficking if the medical concerns include untreated chronic 
medical conditions or injuries, sexually transmitted infections, pregnancy, unusual behavior, 
emotional symptoms, substance misuse, runaway behavior and/or multiple sexual partners.  
Medical providers should be familiar with local and national resources for addressing the 
issues of trafficked patients. 

DOCUMENTATION 
All medical records are potential legal documents.  The medical history and physical 

examination findings in suspected child abuse and neglect must be carefully and thoroughly 
documented in the medical record.  Diagnostic-quality photographic documentation using 
still and/or video documentation of examination findings is recommended.  Photographic 
documentation allows for peer review, quality improvement and obtaining an expert or 
second opinion; it may also reduce the need for a repeat examination of the child. 

RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
Legal and technological advice should be sought regarding the release of written 

documentation or any images.  Whether electronic or printed, medical records should not be 
released if doing so might endanger the child or others.  This includes inadvertent release 
when a parent or guardian has access to online parts of the record. 

FAMILY SUPPORT 
Many medical providers find that reporting abuse and neglect to state agencies is 

distressing.  Families are frequently and understandably upset.  Fear of the unknown and the 
threat of the possible loss of their children can cause intense reactions.  It is helpful to remind 
family members that their goal is the same as that of the provider, the child protection 
system, and law enforcement: to assure that each child is safe.  

Explaining how the evaluation of a case will proceed and assuring the family that the 
provider will maintain close communication over time can help families feel supported and 
understood.  It is sometimes helpful to explain that that medical provider is mandated to 
report suspicion of abuse or neglect so that a careful investigation can be done by 
professionals specifically trained for this task and that it is not the role of the medical 
provider to cast blame on anyone.  

Human Trafficking Resources 
 
Local crisis centers: https://www.nhcadsv.org/member-programs.html  

Polaris National Hotline for TIPS and Help (888) 373-7888/ 
www.humantraffickinghotline.org  

https://www.nhcadsv.org/member-programs.html
http://www.humantraffickinghotline.org/
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Families may also need support in knowing what to say to siblings, other family 
members, friends, the child’s school, etc., about the situation.  Involvement of a crisis 
counselor and/or social worker can be helpful.  

COURT PROCEEDINGS 
A medical provider may be more likely called to participate in legal proceedings 

(depositions and trials) when the concern is abuse or neglect than for other medical 
situations.  There are two principal reasons why a medical provider might be called: either to 
report on what first-hand knowledge they had of a case (in which case the provider is a “fact 
witness”), or to provide a medical opinion (as an “expert witness”).  

The medical provider should have a discussion ahead of time with the person who asked 
them to come to the deposition or court so that it is clear what kinds of questions will be 
asked.  This is the time to clear up any uncertainties about the court process.  During the 
deposition or trial, the testimony given by the provider should be the same regardless of who 
makes the call to appear.  Thus, a fact witness should describe their involvement with a case 
the same way whether asked by a prosecutor or a defense attorney and an expert witness 
should similarly provide the same opinions about a case.  

The provider should be prepared to back up statements about the case with citations from 
the medical literature.  The American Academy of Pediatrics cautions medical providers 
against offering unique theories about what happened to a child or denying well-established 
medical consensus.  After the proceeding is over, the medical provider might consider asking 
for feedback from the attorney that requested their testimony to learn what went well and 
what could be done better in subsequent court appearances.  See Medical References below 
for more information.   

LONG-TERM FOLLOW-UP 
Medical providers typically follow patients until resolution or stabilization of medical 

issues and primary care providers typically follow patients indefinitely.  Consequently, it is 
essential that recommendations for long-term medical care be communicated to all members 
of the healthcare team.   

Medical records should document plans for future care to maximize the child’s potential 
for health, growth, development and safety.  Primary care providers should see children who 
have been identified as abused or neglected more frequently and should monitor the child and 
family for potential issues that are more common in this population.  Examples of the effects 
of abuse and/or neglect include developmental difficulties, behavioral and mental health 
concerns and medical complications.  Patients exhibiting these effects, as well as their 
siblings and parents will benefit from referrals to community-based services for ongoing 
support and preventive services.  

Child abuse can result in lifelong trauma.  The promotion of resilience is another 
important role played by the primary care provider.  In addition, the primary care provider is 
in a unique position to identify and intervene if signs of abuse or neglect recur, as 
unfortunately happens with some children.  See Medical References below for more 
information.   



 

Model Protocol for the Multidisciplinary Response to Child Abuse and Neglect, 2021 Page 60 

PAYMENT FOR THE MEDICAL EVALUATION 
As with payment for any other medical care, the child’s health insurance, if available, is 

billed first (provided that doing so does not endanger the child or family).  Other potential 
financial resources exist, including the New Hampshire Victims' Compensation Program.   

MEDICAL REFERENCES  
Many national and international organizations have guiding documents that can assist 

medical providers in standardizing the most appropriate approach to child maltreatment. This 
non-exhaustive list identifies several of the more critical ones: 

State of New Hampshire: Office of the Attorney General 

• Sexual Assault: an Acute Care Protocol for Medical/Forensic Evaluation can be 
found at: https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/documents/acute-care-
protocol.pdf  

American Academy of Pediatrics 
A list of 30 policies and publications from the American Academy of Pediatrics on a 

variety of child maltreatment issues can be found at 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/collection/council-child-abuse-and-neglect. These are 
updated regularly. Topics include: 

• Physical abuse  
o The Evaluation of Suspected Child Physical Abuse (2015): 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/135/5/e1337 
o Evaluating Children with Fractures for Child Physical Abuse (2014): 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/133/2/e477    
o Evaluation for Bleeding Disorders in Suspected Child Abuse (2013): 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/131/4/e1314 
o Evaluating for Suspected Child Abuse: Conditions That Predispose to Bleeding 

(2013): http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/131/4/e1357 
o Abusive Head Trauma in Infants and Children (2009) reaffirmed 2013: 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/123/5/1409  
o Caregiver-Fabricated Illness in a Child: A Manifestation of Child Maltreatment 

(2013): http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/132/3/590  
• Sexual abuse 

o The Evaluation of Children in the Primary Care Setting When Sexual Abuse is 
Suspected (2013): http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/132/2/e558  

o Care of the Adolescent After an Acute Sexual Assault (2017): 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/139/3/e20164243 

o Global Human Trafficking and Child Victimization (2017): 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/early/2017/11/22/peds.2017-3138  

o The Evaluation of Sexual Behaviors in Children (2009) reaffirmed 2013: 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/124/3/992   

• Psychological abuse 
o Psychological Maltreatment (2012): 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/130/2/372  

https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/documents/acute-care-protocol.pdf
https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/documents/acute-care-protocol.pdf
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/collection/council-child-abuse-and-neglect
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/135/5/e1337
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/133/2/e477
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/131/4/e1314
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/131/4/e1357
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/123/5/1409
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/132/3/590
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/132/2/e558
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/139/3/e20164243
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/early/2017/11/22/peds.2017-3138
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/124/3/992
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/130/2/372
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• Manifestations of abuse 
o Clinical Considerations Related to the Behavioral Manifestations of Child 

Maltreatment 2017: 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/139/4/e20170100 

o Oral and Dental Aspects of Child Abuse and Neglect (2017): 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/140/2/e20171487  

o The Eye Examination in the Evaluation of Child Abuse (2018): 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/142/2/e20181411  

• Neglect 
o Recognizing and Responding to Medical Neglect (2007) reaffirmed 2016: 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/6/1385  
• Prevention 

o The Pediatrician's Role in Child Maltreatment Prevention (2010) reaffirmed 2014: 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/4/833  

o Protecting Children From Sexual Abuse by Health Care Providers (2011) 
reaffirmed 2015: http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/128/2/407  

• Promoting resilience 
o Early Childhood Adversity, Toxic Stress, and the Role of the Pediatrician: 

Translating Developmental Science into Lifelong Health (2012) reaffirmed 2016: 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/1/e224 

o The Pediatrician's Role in Family Support and Family Support Programs (2011) 
reaffirmed 2017: http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/128/6/e1680 

o Child Life Services (2014) reaffirmed 2018: 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/133/5/e1471   

• Foster care 
o Health Care Issues for Children and Adolescents in Foster Care and Kinship Care 

(2015): http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/136/4/e1142    
o Health Care of Youth Aging Out of Foster Care (2012) reaffirmed 2017: 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/130/6/1170   
o Responding to the Experiences of Children Adopted or in Foster Care: 2019 

www.aap.org/safe&sound.   
• Miscellaneous 

o Distinguishing Sudden Infant Death Syndrome from Child Abuse Fatalities 
(2006) reaffirmed 2013: http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/118/1/421  

o Child Fatality Review (2010) reaffirmed 2014: 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/3/592 

o Intimate Partner Violence: The Role of the Pediatrician (2010) reaffirmed 2014: 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/125/5/1094 

o Child Abuse, Confidentiality, and the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act (2010) reaffirmed 2014: 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/125/1/197    

o Maltreatment of Children With Disabilities (2007) reaffirmed 2011: 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/119/5/1018  

o The Child Witness in the Courtroom (2017): 
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/139/3/e20164008. 

o Ongoing Pediatric Health Care for the Child Who Has Been Maltreated (2019) 
https://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/early/2019/03/15/peds.2019-0284  

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/139/4/e20170100
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/140/2/e20171487
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/142/2/e20181411
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/6/1385
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/4/833
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/128/2/407
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/1/e224
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/128/6/e1680
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/133/5/e1471
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/136/4/e1142
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/130/6/1170
https://urldefense.com/v3/__http:/www.aap.org/safe&sound__;!eeWmBe9sc1cuNw!E3Kn9wTQicIQm2UUnxQ-Xizuy4zka7_GkQBePVmDwwY8T4RMELqPbczFeTsFApWLlQ0tdZU$
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/118/1/421
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/3/592
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/125/5/1094
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/125/1/197
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/119/5/1018
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/139/3/e20164008
https://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/early/2019/03/15/peds.2019-0284
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Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
o Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention (2018): 

https://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/childabuseandneglect/  
o Sexually Transmitted Disease Treatment Guidelines (2015): 

https://www.cdc.gov/std/tg2015/  
The International Association of Forensic Nurses 

o Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Education Guidelines, Pediatric and Adult 
(2018): 
https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.forensicnurses.org/resource/resmgr/education/2018_
sane_edguidelines.pdf   

o National Protocol for Sexual Abuse Medical Forensic Examinations – Pediatric 
(2016): 
https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.safeta.org/resource/resmgr/protocol_documents/nati
onal_pediatric_protocol_.pdf  

o National Protocol for Sexual Assault Medical Forensic Examinations – 
Adults/Adolescents (2013): 
https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.safeta.org/resource/resmgr/Protocol_documents/SA
FE_PROTOCOL_2012-508.pdf  

https://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/childabuseandneglect/
https://www.cdc.gov/std/tg2015/
https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.forensicnurses.org/resource/resmgr/education/2018_sane_edguidelines.pdf
https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.forensicnurses.org/resource/resmgr/education/2018_sane_edguidelines.pdf
https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.safeta.org/resource/resmgr/protocol_documents/national_pediatric_protocol_.pdf
https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.safeta.org/resource/resmgr/protocol_documents/national_pediatric_protocol_.pdf
https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.safeta.org/resource/resmgr/Protocol_documents/SAFE_PROTOCOL_2012-508.pdf
https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.safeta.org/resource/resmgr/Protocol_documents/SAFE_PROTOCOL_2012-508.pdf
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THE ROLE OF VICTIM ADVOCACY  

CRISIS CENTER ADVOCATES 
There are thirteen crisis center programs throughout the state that provide services and 

support to victims of sexual assault, domestic violence, stalking and sexual harassment.  
These services, when available, include supporting both the victim and non-offending family 
members.  Crisis center services are free and are available to everyone regardless of age, 
race, religion, sexual orientation, physical ability or financial status.   

The services provided include: 

• 24-hour crisis hotline; 
• Access to emergency shelter; 
• Legal advocacy in obtaining restraining orders;  
• Hospital and court accompaniment; 
• Information about resources and referrals; and 
• Safety planning with non-offending family members. 
A victim’s communication with a crisis center advocate is privileged and confidential 

under RSA 173-C, except in situations when there is suspicion of child abuse and neglect, in 
which case a mandated report is required per RSA 169-C:29. 

 

The Child Protection Act (RSA 169-C:29) requires that any individual suspecting a child 
has been abused or neglected is required to immediately report (RSA 169-C:30)  their 
concerns to DCYF.  This includes any victim advocate, whether they are a volunteer or an 
employee of a governmental agency or non-profit organization.  Regardless of the ways in 
which the individual becomes suspicious of abuse or neglect, including hearing a disclosure, 
the individual is required by law to make the report. 

It is important to note that it is the individual who suspects abuse and neglect who must 
immediately make the report directly to the Division for Children, Youth and Families 
(DCYF) Central Intake Office by telephone at 1-800-894-5533, which is available 24 hours a 
day.  This requirement is mandated by New Hampshire state law, RSA 169-C:29, regardless of 
any agency’s policy which might be contrary.   

Any notification required by an agency or organization to superiors should not delay the 
report or defer the obligation to report.  The purpose of the law is to ensure that the report is 
made with firsthand knowledge and minimizes the trauma to the child by eliminating the need 
for the child to repeatedly tell their story. 

Failure to comply with this statute may result in a misdemeanor charge to the individual 
who did not report (RSA 169-C:39).   

Anyone acting in good faith in making a report or providing information or assistance to 
DCYF, is immune from liability.  See RSA 169-C:31 or Immunity, page 9 for more 
information. 

 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-XII-173-C.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-30.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-39.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-31.htm
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THE ROLE OF CRISIS CENTER ADVOCATES WITHIN THE CHILD ADVOCACY 
CENTER (CAC) MODEL 

The crisis center is a member of the multidisciplinary team (MDT).  CACs and crisis 
centers maintain a Memorandum of Understanding.  The MDT includes all agencies that are 
critical to the functioning of the CAC.   

The CAC staff is encouraged to contact the crisis center for every interview to provide 
advocacy and support to the non-offending parent or caregiver.  Parents or caregivers always 
have the right to choose whether or not to utilize crisis center services. 

The CAC should notify the crisis center of any special circumstances with a case in order 
to allow the crisis center and CAC to work together to determine the most appropriate 
response.  Information sharing may need to be of a general nature prior to the family signing 
releases.   

The crisis center advocate is encouraged to be at the CAC at an agreed-upon time prior to 
the family’s arrival in order to be available to welcome the family when they arrive.   

The crisis center advocate will be given time with the family in order to clarify their role.  
Parents and caregivers may be given the opportunity to have the crisis center advocate with 
them during the post-interview investigative team meeting, to provide support and 
information about follow up and next steps. 

In cases where the victim is an adolescent, they may be given the option to meet privately 
with a crisis center advocate.  Because the adolescent victim is a primary victim, the crisis 
centers may provide separate advocates whenever possible for an adolescent victim and the 
non-offending family member.   

Crisis center advocates have the ability to provide long-term services to primary and 
secondary victims, regardless of the outcome of the interview.  

VICTIMS’ ASSISTANCE PROVIDERS  
Victims’ assistance providers are prosecution based victim service providers, whose goal 

is to reduce the impact that the crime and resulting involvement in the criminal justice system 
have on the lives of victims and witnesses.  Victims’ assistance providers are committed to 
ensuring that all victims of crime in New Hampshire are treated with the dignity and respect 
that they deserve, recognizing that the criminal justice system can be confusing, frightening 
and re-traumatizing.  The New Hampshire Crime Victim Bill of Rights, RSA 21-M:8-k, 
outlines the rights victims have under the law.  Unlike with the crisis center advocate, a 
victim’s communication with a victims’ assistance provider is not privileged and confidential 
under RSA 173-C.   

Victims’ assistance providers offer the following services to victims of crime as they 
move through the criminal justice system:    

• Information on their rights as a victim; 
• Crisis intervention and support; 
• Orientation to the criminal justice system; 
• Information regarding case status and disposition; 
• Support at court hearings in the criminal matter; 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/I/21-M/21-M-8-k.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-XII-173-C.htm
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• Assistance with Victim Impact Statements; and 
• Resource and referral information. 

THE ROLE OF VICTIMS’ ASSISTANCE PROVIDERS WITHIN THE CAC MODEL  
The victims’ assistance provider should be a member of the MDT.  The Director of the 

Victim Assistance Program, in consultation with CAC staff, will determine if the victims’ 
assistance provider is brought into the MDT at the time of the CAC interview, or thereafter.   

The assistant county attorney will brief the victims’ assistance provider on what is known 
regarding the child and the case.  The victims’ assistance provider may observe the interview 
while it is being conducted.  It is possible that they may meet with the non-offending family 
member(s) during the child’s interview.  Prior to meeting the family member(s), the victims’ 
assistance provider may coordinate with the crisis center advocate regarding support, 
information and services to be provided at that time (see Crisis Center Advocates above).  
Services of the crisis center advocate may be provided without the presence of the victims’ 
assistance provider, pursuant to the confidentiality laws of crisis center advocates.   

The victims’ assistance provider may be available to provide support services and 
information to child victims and their non-offending family members before, during, and/or 
after the CAC interview.  At the request of law enforcement or DCYF, the victims’ 
assistance provider may be able to provide:    

• A brief introduction and description of their role; and 
• Discuss the child’s immediate needs and concerns, answer questions and provide 

support. 
Upon a case referral to the County Attorney’s Office, the victims’ assistance provider is 

the primary contact for the victim and the non-offending parent or caregiver.  The victims’ 
assistance provider will focus attention on meeting the needs of child victims and witnesses 
by ensuring that consideration is given to the child’s age, schedule, privacy and any special 
needs of the child.    

Victim assistance services during the course of the case may include information about 
the court process and what is expected of the victim on each occasion, preparation for 
testimony, orientation to the courtroom environment, case status notification, and victims’ 
rights.  Age-appropriate instructions in legal procedure and terminology are given to child 
victims and witnesses.  In most cases, case status notification is given to the parent or 
caregiver of the child, along with tips and assistance in providing verbal notice to the child 
and deciding what notice should be given.    
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THE ROLE OF MENTAL HEALTH PRACTITIONERS 

DIFFERENT TYPES OF PRACTITIONERS 
Mental health practitioners represent a range of training from clinical social work 

(LICSW or MSW), marriage and family counseling (MFT), clinical psychology (PhD or 
PsyD), mental health counseling (LCMHC, M.S. or M.Ed.) and pastoral counseling (M.Div, 
D.Min).  They may be licensed through the New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice 
or the New Hampshire Board of Psychologists. 

Whether a practitioner is located within a community mental health center, agency, 
private practice, inpatient, outpatient, school, medical office, hospital or any other setting, the 
practitioner should have a clear understanding of how to respond to a disclosure or suspicion 
of child abuse or neglect.  

As part of the intake procedure with clients seen in outpatient settings, written as well as 
ongoing verbal informed consent as to the reporting laws and limits of confidentiality relative 
to the safety of children is standard practice.  Each mental health discipline has a Code of 
Ethics which clarifies the duty to follow the best interests of children relative to safety.  The 
New Hampshire Mental Health Bill of Rights is provided to clients receiving mental health 
services and clarifies key aspects of the clinical relationship.  Clients are made aware that 
abuse or neglect reports will be shared with appropriate agencies for the protection and safety 
of children.   

The Child Protection Act (RSA 169-C:29) requires that any individual suspecting a 
child has been abused or neglected is required to immediately report (RSA 169-C:30)  
their concerns to DCYF.  This includes, a psychiatrist, psychologist, therapist, social 
worker or any other any mental health practitioner.  Regardless of the ways in which a 
practitioner becomes suspicious of abuse or neglect, including hearing a disclosure, the 
practitioner is required by law to make the report. 

It is important to note that it is the individual practitioner who suspects abuse and 
neglect who must immediately make the report directly to the Division for Children, 
Youth and Families (DCYF) Central Intake Office by telephone at 1-800-894-5533, 
which is available 24 hours a day.  This requirement is mandated by New Hampshire 
state law, RSA 169-C:29, regardless of any agency’s policy which might be contrary.   

Any notification required by an agency or institution policy to superiors should not 
delay the report or defer the obligation to report.  The purpose of the law is to ensure that 
the report is made with firsthand knowledge and minimizes the trauma to the child by 
eliminating the need for the child to repeatedly tell their story. 

Failure to comply with this statute may result in a misdemeanor charge to the 
individual who did not report (RSA 169-C:39).   

Anyone acting in good faith in making a report or providing information or 
assistance to DCYF, is immune from liability.  See RSA 169-C:31 or Immunity, page 9 
for more information. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-30.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-39.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-31.htm
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Prior to treatment, informed consent should be received from both parents, if possible. 

The practitioner will provide treatment and referral to the child and family as their needs 
indicate.   

The Mental Health Bill of Rights is provided by law to persons 
receiving mental health services in the State of New Hampshire.  Its 

purpose is to protect the rights and enhance the well-being of clients, by 
informing them of key aspects of the clinical relationship.  This includes 
requirements by the practitioner regarding duty to report child abuse. 

RESPONDING TO A DISCLOSURE  
When a child discloses abuse or neglect, the practitioner should remain neutral, respectful 

and open to the information the child shares.   
A mental health practitioner: 

• Should remain focused on child safety and clarity of professional boundaries to report 
and not make judgments; 

• Should obtain enough information to make an initial report, leaving detail gathering 
and determination of abuse and/or neglect to DCYF and law enforcement; 

• Should understand the role of the practitioner is to help the child and family with their 
reactions to the disclosure and move forward;   

• Should explore with the child how best the practitioner can support them going 
forward; 

• Should encourage the child to continue to speak 
with responsible adults, especially if they feel 
unsafe or have questions;  

• Should follow through on their legal and ethical 
responsibility to report suspicion of abuse and 
neglect; 

• Should partner with the family if possible, in the 
initial reporting to DCYF;  

• Should ask the non-offending parent or caregiver 
how they can best ensure the child’s safety and if 
they have any concerns for the child’s or their own 
safety; 

• For the safety of the child, advise the child and 
responsible adults not to discuss the disclosure with the perpetrator;  

• Should follow the relevant professional Code of Ethics including requirements around 
scope of practice and the New Hampshire Mental Health Bill of Rights;  

• Should provide support in the form of handouts, links to websites or connection to 
community resources (i.e., New Hampshire Department of Justice, Office of 
Victim/Witness Assistance, New Hampshire Judicial Branch, Circuit Court Family 
Division, DCYF, Granite State Children's Alliance ). 

Practice Tip! 

Practitioners should obtain 
training, collaboration and /or 
supervision in understanding 
the effects of child abuse and 
trauma in order to provide 
trauma informed services to 
their clients.  See Appendix B - 
Resources for more 
Information. 

https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/victim-resources.htm
https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/victim-resources.htm
https://www.courts.state.nh.us/fdpp/index.htm
https://www.courts.state.nh.us/fdpp/index.htm
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/index.htm
https://www.cac-nh.org/


 

Model Protocol for the Multidisciplinary Response to Child Abuse and Neglect, 2021 Page 69 

• Should provide information and referrals to the New Hampshire Victims' 
Compensation Program; 

• Should collaborate with other resources (i.e., DCYF or law enforcement) as to the 
steps needed to ensure ongoing safety to child and family;  

• Should not make assumptions about what the child’s reaction ought to be;  
• Should not discount information shared or make a judgment based on what they think 

may or may not have occurred; 
• Should not promise a child that everyone will believe them;  
• Should not promise a child what will happen next or how family members or others 

may respond; 
• Should not impose their own value system on the child’s disclosure.  It is important 

for practitioners to be aware that abuse and neglect of children are most often 
perpetrated by someone they know, trust and/or love.  For example, do not assume 
how the child felt about the disclosure or what the incident(s) meant to them; the 
abuse may not have been physically hurtful or frightening; and 

• Should not discuss the disclosure with the perpetrator.  This is the role and 
responsibility of DCYF and law enforcement. 

REPORT DETAILS 
Reports to DCYF Central Intake can be made by calling 1-800-894-5533, which is 

available 24 hours a day.  Each report shall, if known, contain the following information: 

• The name and address of the child(ren) suspected of 
being abused or neglected; 

• The name of the parent or caregiver responsible for 
the child’s welfare; 

• The nature and extent of suspected abuse/neglect 
(including evidence of previous injuries); 

• The identity of the perpetrator; and 
• Any other information that may be helpful to the 

assessment (e.g., possible threat to child’s safety, 
school dismissal time, the perpetrator’s access to the 
child).  

While not statutorily required, reporters are encouraged 
to provide additional information, such as the age of the child, to DCYF.   

Reports can be made confidentially to DCYF, yet due to the specifics of disclosures, it is 
often not possible to protect privacy of the reporter.  The reporter should be informed of this.  
Should the reporter’s identity be disclosed, an open dialogue between parent and practitioner 
should take place in which the reason for reporting and the need to work/continue to work 
together is discussed. 

DURING THE INVESTIGATION  
Based on the information obtained from the practitioner, the DCYF Central Intake Office 

will make a determination as to whether the report is screened in.  If screened in, Central 
Intake determines the level of risk to the child.  The DCYF Central Intake Office then 

NOTE: DCYF may ask for 
additional information, if 
available, such as the 
potential danger or volatility 
of the family situation, safety 
of the child, presence of 
weapons or substance misuse 
in the home. 



 

Model Protocol for the Multidisciplinary Response to Child Abuse and Neglect, 2021 Page 70 

contacts the appropriate District Office to advise of all high-risk reports.  If Central Intake 
determines that the child does not appear to be in imminent danger, the report will be sent to 
the appropriate District Office for a response within 72 hours. 

When the risk level is determined to be high, the local District Office will make every 
effort to send a Child Protective Service Worker (CPSW) to see the child the same day the 
report was made.  It is for this reason that it is imperative that the practitioner report 
suspected child abuse or neglect immediately.   

In cases of serious physical injury or sexual abuse, the law requires that DCYF notify law 
enforcement.  After an initial conversation between DCYF and law enforcement, it may be 
determined that due to immediate danger of the child, an interview may be necessary prior to 
the CAC interview.  In some cases, when the perpetrator does not live in the same household 
as the child and does not have ready access to the child, law enforcement may be the primary 
investigators.  

During the course of the investigation, the practitioner:  

• Should report any new disclosures of abuse and or neglect made during treatment; 
• Should provide ongoing care and treatment as is appropriate to the child’s needs and 

the practitioner’s skill and training; 
• Should be aware that though the treatment record contains privileged information, 

parents possess the right of access to their children’s mental health record (with 
certain exceptions, (In re: Berg, 152 N.H. 658, 886 A.2d 980 (N.H. 2005) and a court 
can order release of a mental health record in the course of legal involvement.  This 
information should be part of standard written informed consent at the onset of 
treatment.  An attorney knowledgeable in mental health confidentiality and state law 
should be consulted before responding to a subpoena or court order.  
(https://www.nhbar.org/); 

• Should support and educate non-offending parents and caregivers about how to 
provide safety and support to their child; and 

• Should provide ongoing assistance and consultation to DCYF as needed or requested.  
See Immunity, page 9 for more information. 

CONTINUATION OF TREATMENT  
Whether an investigation has commenced or has concluded the mental health 

practitioner:  

• Should report any new disclosures of abuse and/or neglect made during treatment; 
and 

• Should provide ongoing care and treatment as is appropriate to the child’s needs and 
the practitioner’s skill and training.     

https://www.nhbar.org/
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THE ROLE OF SCHOOL EMPLOYEES  

Any individual who holds a New Hampshire teaching credential is required by the New 
Hampshire Code of Ethics and Code of Conduct for New Hampshire Educators to report a 
suspicion of abuse and neglect to DCYF.  A “credential” as 
defined in Ed 501.02(g), and includes a beginning educator 
license (BEL), experienced educator license (EEL), in process of 
licensure authorization (IPLA), intern authorization (IA), 
emergency authorization, statement of eligibility (SOE), para-
educator I & II, school nurse, and master teacher license (MTL).  
Any credential holder who fails to make the required report could 
face a sanction by the Board of Education against their teaching 
credential. 

School psychologists, social workers or guidance counselors 
may refer to The Role of Mental Health Practitioners, page 67, 
for additional information.   

REPORT DETAILS 
As stated above, the school employee who suspects that a child has been abused or 

neglected shall make an oral report immediately to DCYF Central Intake Office by 
telephone and then notify the school principal that a report has been made.     

Practice Tip! 

If a school employee 
suspects that abuse or 
neglect is happening to a 
child, the school employee 
is required to report.   

If you are wondering if 
you should report, you 
should!      

The Child Protection Act (RSA 169-C:29) requires that any individual suspecting a 
child has been abused or neglected is required to immediately report (RSA 169-C:30)  
their concerns to DCYF.  This includes, but is not limited to, a teacher, administrator, 
guidance counselor, school nurse, volunteer, bus driver, janitor, coach, tutor, independent 
contractor or any other adult having contact with a child in any public or non-public 
educational setting. 

It is important to note that it is the individual school employee who suspects abuse and 
neglect who must immediately make the report directly to the Division for Children, Youth 
and Families (DCYF) Central Intake Office by telephone at 1-800-894-5533, which is 
available 24 hours a day.  This requirement is mandated by New Hampshire state law, 
RSA 169-C:29, regardless of any school policy which might be contrary to the state 
reporting statute.   

Any notification required by school policy to superiors within the educational setting 
should not delay the report or defer the obligation to report.  The purpose of the law is to 
ensure that the report is made with firsthand knowledge and minimizes the trauma to the 
child by eliminating the need for the child to repeatedly tell their story. 

Failure to comply with this statute may result in a misdemeanor charge to the individual 
who did not report (RSA 169-C:39).   

Anyone acting in good faith in making a report or providing information or assistance to 
DCYF, is immune from liability.  See RSA 169-C:31 or Immunity, page 9 for more 
information. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-30.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-39.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-31.htm
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Each report shall, if known, contain the following information: 

• The name and address of the child(ren) suspected of 
being abused or neglected; 

• The name of the parent or caregiver responsible for the 
child’s welfare; 

• The nature and extent of suspected abuse/neglect 
(including evidence of previous injuries); 

• The identity of the perpetrator; and  
• Any other information that may be helpful to the 

assessment (e.g., possible threat to child’s safety, 
school dismissal time, the perpetrator’s access to the 
child). 

While not statutorily required, reporters are encouraged to provide additional 
information, such as the age of the child to DCYF.   

As a school employee (teacher, guidance counselor, child study team member, etc.), the 
person making the report to DCYF may be privy to additional information about the child, 
which could include, but is not limited to the following: 

• The child’s progress and achievement in school; 
• Observable behaviors and changes over time, including day-to-day behaviors, 

attitudes, social interactions with adults and peers; 
• Characteristics of child’s friends in school; 
• Whether the child has any siblings at the house who could also be in potential danger 

of abuse or neglect; 
• Any history of observable injuries and any explanation provided by the child.  
• Any unusual behaviors observed; 
• Availability of psychological evaluations, diagnostic materials, and other tests;  
• Circumstances precipitating the referral; 
• Parental involvement; and 
• Any action taken by the school. 

In most cases, it will be requested that a school employee 
submit a written report to the DCYF Central Intake Office 
within 48 hours of making the oral report. A copy of the 
report should be kept in accordance with the school’s policy.  
The purpose of this report is primarily to assist school 
employees in accurately recalling what led them to suspect that 
abuse or neglect was occurring, should law enforcement, 
DCYF or the court need that information at a future date.   

It is strongly recommended that the written report be kept 
in a CONFIDENTIAL file, apart from the student’s academic 

or counseling files.  Keeping the report separate from the student’s academic or counseling 
files will ensure that the report is not inadvertently released, if the student’s files are released 
pursuant to a routine academic request.     

Practice Tip! 

Typically, children will 
disclose to an educator in 
the morning; school 
employees should call DCYF 
immediately to avoid end 
of the day emergencies.  

The role of the 
school employee is 
to listen and support 
the child, not to ask 
questions or 
interview the child.   
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REPORTING TO LAW ENFORCEMENT 
If a school employee suspects that abuse or neglect has occurred they must report to 

DCYF immediately.   
If the school employee believes the child is in imminent danger of further abuse or 

neglect, the employee should promptly contact the law enforcement agency in the 
jurisdiction where the employee suspects the abuse or neglect occurred.   

If the school has a School Resource Officer (SRO) on site, the notification may be made 
through that individual.  In such an instance, a report will still need to be made to DCYF.   

WHEN THE SUSPECTED ABUSER IS A SCHOOL EMPLOYEE 
A school employee who suspects that another school employee has abused a 

student, or receives such a disclosure from a student, must report directly:  

• To the DCYF Central Intake Office (RSA 169-C:29); 
• To the local law enforcement agency (RSA 193-D, Safe School Zones); 
• Administration within the school (principal and/or superintendent); and 
• The New Hampshire Department of Education pursuant to the New Hampshire 

Code of Conduct for New Hampshire Educators (Ed. 510.05*).  
*The New Hampshire Code of Conduct for New Hampshire Educators in its entirety can 

be found at https://www.education.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt326/files/inline-
documents/code_conduct.pdf  

At a minimum, a “romantic” or sexual relationship between a school employee and 
student, even if the student has reached the age of consent, is considered unprofessional 
conduct.  It may also be sexual abuse and a crime; therefore the conduct must be 
reported as above.   

NOTE:  The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) allows schools to disclose 
records, without consent, to the following parties or under the following conditions (34 
CFR § 99.31): 

• School officials with legitimate educational interest; 
• Other schools to which a student is transferring; 
• Specified officials for audit or evaluation purposes; 
• Appropriate parties in connection with financial aid to a student; 
• Organizations conducting certain studies for or on behalf of the school; 
• Accrediting organizations; 
• To comply with a judicial order or lawfully issued subpoena;  
• Appropriate officials in cases of health and safety emergencies; and 
• State and local authorities, within a juvenile justice system, pursuant to specific 

State law. 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-29.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-XV-193-D.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/ed500.html
https://www.education.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt326/files/inline-documents/code_conduct.pdf
https://www.education.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt326/files/inline-documents/code_conduct.pdf
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CHANGES TO THE CRIMINAL STATUTE (HB1240) 
During the 2019-2020 legislative session, in response to a very public sexual assault 

matter which occurred in a New Hampshire public school, the legislature passed and the 
governor signed HB1240.  This new law amends criminal laws relative to sexual assault, but 
directly affect the field of education.   

This new law amends the Aggravated Felonious Sexual Assault 
(RSA 632-A:2) and Felonious Sexual Assault (RSA 632-A:3) 
statutes to prohibit “an employee, contractor, or volunteer at a 
primary or secondary educational institution” from having a sexual 
relationship with a student regardless of the student’s age—even if 
the student is 18.  It is important to note that the victim cannot 
consent to the sexual relationship.   

The prohibition on a sexual relationship between a student and 
an educator continues up to 10 months after the student’s 
graduation or departure from school.  This provision mirrors the 

language in the Code of Conduct for New Hampshire Educational Professionals to recognize 
the inherent power differential which exists between educators—who are in a role of 
authority—and the students that they teach.  

School districts and educators should now be aware that a sexual relationship with a 
student—regardless of the student’s age—is now criminal.  (For additional information see 
Department of Educational Technical Advisory)  Such a relationship was already a violation 
of the Educator Code of Conduct.  If such a relationship is discovered, the police and DCYF 
should be contacted immediately.  A follow-up report should then be made directly to the 
Department of Education’s Governance Unit, so that, if applicable, appropriate action can be 
taken upon the educator’s credential. 

A failure to report a disclosure or a suspicion of abuse by a school 
employee to the Department of Education pursuant to Ed. 510.05 might 
result in the Board of Education imposing a sanction against the non-

reporting educator’s teaching license.   

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE REPORT HAS BEEN MADE  
Based on the information obtained from the school employee making the report, the 

DCYF Central Intake Office will make a determination as to whether the report is screened 
in.  If screened in, DCYF Central Intake determines the level of risk to the child.  The DCYF 
Central Intake Office then contacts the appropriate District Office to advise of all high-risk 
reports.  If the Central Intake determines that the child does not appear to be in imminent 
danger, the report will be sent to the appropriate District Office for a response within 72 
hours. 

When the risk level is determined to be high, the local District Office will make every 
effort to send a Child Protective Service Worker (CPSW) out to see the child the same day 
the report was made.  This initial meeting with the child often occurs while the child is still at 

Changes made 
to the sexual 
assault statutes 
by HB 1240 
clearly state that 
the consent of 
the victim, is not 
a defense.   

http://gencourt.state.nh.us/bill_Status/billText.aspx?sy=2020&id=1650&txtFormat=html
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/LXII/632-A/632-A-2.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/LXII/632-A/632-A-3.htm
https://www.education.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt326/files/inline-documents/sonh/ta-hb1240-sexual%20assault.pdf
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/ed500.html
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school.  It is for this reason that it is imperative that school employees report suspected child 
abuse or neglect as early in the day as possible.  This will allow sufficient time for the child 
to be properly interviewed and for the appropriate officials to develop an intervention plan to 
assure the child’s safety. 

In cases of serious physical injury or sexual abuse, the law requires that DCYF notify 
law enforcement.  After an initial conversation between DCYF and law enforcement, it may 
be determined that due to immediate danger of the child an interview may be necessary prior 
to the in-depth CAC interview.  In some cases, when the perpetrator does not live in the same 
household as the child and does not have ready access to the child, law enforcement may be 
the primary investigators.  Therefore, if it is determined that there will be an immediate 
response, the CPSW may be accompanied by law enforcement, or law enforcement may 
come to the school alone to interview the child.  

WHEN THE CHILD IS INTERVIEWED AT SCHOOL 
Pursuant to RSA 169-C:38, IV, DCYF child protection workers and law enforcement 

investigators have the right to enter any public place, including but not limited to schools 
and child care agencies, for the purpose of conducting an interview with a child, with or 
without the consent or notification of the parent or parents of such child, if there is 
reason to believe that the child has been abused, neglected or the victim of a crime.   

To minimize the number of interviews with the child, DCYF and law enforcement 
may conduct a joint interview.  In accordance with RSA 169-C:38, IV-V, all interviews of 
children shall be videotaped if possible.  If it is videotaped, it shall be videotaped in its 
entirety when conducted in a public setting, including schools.  If the interview cannot be 
video recorded, an audio recording shall be made.   

School personnel must cooperate with DCYF and law 
enforcement by providing such information and assistance as 
suggested in the assessment process, including, but not limited to the 
following:  

• Arrange access to the child; 
• Arrange for a private location for interviews;  
• Take every precaution to protect the child's privacy and 

confidentiality; and 
• Make sure the child is emotionally prepared to return to the 

classroom before they do so.  
It is important to note that not all investigations initiate or 

progress in the same manner and not all children will be interviewed at school.  See The Role 
of DCYF page 11, The Role of Law Enforcement page 25, and The Role of Child Advocacy 
Centers page 45, for more detailed information.   

THE SCHOOL EMPLOYEE’S ROLE DURING THE 
ASSESSMENT/INVESTIGATION 

School employees often are a stable and continuous adult influence in a child’s life and 
are deeply concerned about each child’s safety and well-being.  Given the unique 

For the integrity of 
the investigative 
process, school 
personnel should 
not be present 
during the 
interview unless 
invited by DCYF or 
law enforcement.   

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-38.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-C/169-C-38.htm
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relationships that schools have with children and families, school employees can be most 
helpful during the investigative process by:  

• Providing on-going support to the child.  
School employees are encouraged to listen 
and support the child, but to not to ask 
further questions or interview the child; 

• Reporting additional disclosures by the 
child; 

• Informing investigators of any 
behavioral changes in the child (i.e., 
acting out/disruptive behavior, 
withdrawing, unexplained absences); 

• Letting investigators know if the child 
has any disabilities or special needs.  
School employees know this child better 
than the investigators and therefore their 
insight in terms of communicating or 
approaching the child can be critical to 
investigators; 

• Sharing any additional information from the non-offending caregiver or 
perpetrator.  Either parent may approach the school employee.  Changes in family 
dynamics or living arrangements are helpful for investigators to know.  If, at any 
time, an angry parent confronts a school employee, and the school employee fears for 
their own safety, law enforcement should be called; and 

• Sharing resources.  There are times that the school is seen as a source of support for 
the non-offending parent or caregiver.  If there are supports identified by the school 
and the non-offending parent or caregiver, please share those with DCYF and law 
enforcement so care can best be coordinated to support the family and child.   

At the end of the investigation, school employees will be notified in general terms 
about the outcome of the case.  Due to the confidentially statutes, DCYF and law 
enforcement may not be able to share information that is more detailed.   

DCYF will provide guidance to schools about how best to support the child after the 
interview, including how to handle the child's concerns about going home, parents’ reaction 
to the interview or any other concerns regarding the assessment.  If school personnel are 
uncertain about how best to handle such concerns, they should consult the DCYF CPSW for 
guidance when they are at the school or contact the DCYF Assessment Supervisor at the 
District Office as needed.  

Schools are encouraged to reach out to their local DCYF District Office for additional 
training opportunities on DCYF’s process.    

To preserve the integrity of 
the assessment and 
investigative process it is 
important that school 
employees do not attempt to 
question or try to obtain more 
information from the child.  If 
the child discloses additional 
information, listen, provide 
support and report additional 
information to investigators.   
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THE ROLE OF GUARDIANS AD LITEM 
A guardian ad litem (GAL) is appointed in the Circuit Court following the filing of an 

Abuse or Neglect Petition by the Division for Children, Youth and Families (DCYF) or local 
law enforcement agency.  GALs are also appointed in Termination of Parental Rights cases 
under RSA 170-G when the GAL was involved in the underlying RSA 169-C case.  It is a 
GAL’s role to gather information about the child, engage with the child and parties over the 
life of the child protection proceeding, and report to the court on a quarterly basis.  GALs 
strictly abide by the confidentiality provisions of the child protection statute. 

In child protection matters DCYF and law enforcement, not GALs, are statutorily 
assigned the duty to investigate the facts of any case. 

In some instances of child abuse and neglect, criminal charges are sought against the 
parent(s) or individual(s) having care and control of the child.  In such a case, the GAL will 
defer to the victims’ assistance providers to assist the child through the criminal proceedings.  
The GAL will, however, be available for guidance and support as appropriate.  The GAL will 
obtain information regarding the status of the criminal proceedings from the victims’ 
assistance provider.  Absent a court order, GALs shall not disclose child protection case 
information except to parties in the RSA 169-C proceeding.   

Whether the disclosure and investigation process is completed prior or subsequent to the 
GAL’s appointment, pursuant to the GAL’s information gathering role in the RSA169-C 
case, the GAL should have access to the recording(s) or transcript(s) produced from the 
child’s interview(s). 

If, during the course of the GAL’s involvement with the child, the child discloses abuse 
or neglect, the GAL will not attempt to obtain detailed information pertaining to the 
disclosure.  As a mandated reporter, the GAL will immediately report the information to 
DCYF Central Intake for further investigation.  In addition, if the GAL suspects a child is in 
immediate danger, the GAL shall call 911.  In this instance, a report will still need to be 
made to DCYF. 

COURT APPOINTED SPECIAL ADVOCATES (CASA) OF NH 
CASA of NH is a private not-for-profit agency statutorily authorized and approved by the 

New Hampshire Guardian ad Litem Board to provide guardian ad litem services to children 
in abuse and neglect proceedings brought under RSA 169-C.  CASA recruits, screens, trains, 
and supervises citizen volunteers to act as GALs in the Family Division of the New 
Hampshire Circuit Court.  In these child protection proceedings, CASA GALs advocate for 
the “best interest of the child.” 

NON CASA GUARDIANS AD LITEM 
If a CASA or other approved program GAL is unavailable for appointment, the court 

may then appoint an attorney or other guardian ad litem as the GAL for the child.  Non 
CASA GALs are board certified by the New Hampshire Guardian ad Litem Board.   
  

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xii/170-g/170-g-mrg.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xii/169-c/169-c-mrg.htm
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YOUTH WITH PROBLEMATIC SEXUAL BEHAVIOR  
In all cases involving child sexual abuse, the allegations should be investigated 

thoroughly.  Preteen and adolescent sexual involvement with younger siblings or other young 
children is recognized as a serious offense beyond what was previously seen as curiosity, 
exploration or experimentation.  Some dynamics of Youth with Problematic Sexual Behavior 
(YPSB) can parallel those of adult offenders, such as the pattern of progression, anger, 
exploitation, power and control, and the use of bribes, threats, or coercion to maintain 
secrecy.  Since accessibility and opportunity are prerequisites for offending, the convenience 
and familiarity of family routines, as well as babysitting responsibilities, provide an 
environment that may be taken advantage of by a youthful perpetrator.  Currently, there is 
little evidence to support the assumption that the majority of YPSB are destined to become 
adult perpetrators or that they engage in perpetration for the same reasons as adult offenders.  

Though many YPSB are not victims of sexual abuse themselves, in these cases the 
multidisciplinary team investigating the case should conduct a separate, but concurrent 
investigation to attempt to determine the separate issue of whether the youth was also a 
victim of abuse by someone else.  If the perpetrator and the victim are both very young and 
immature, the behavior should be examined closely to determine whether the conduct 
resulted from childhood curiosity, experimentation, or sexually reactive behavior due to the 
child’s own abuse.  Children who are reacting to their own sexual abuse are not juvenile sex 
offenders and consideration should be given to being descriptive of the behavior (i.e., youth 
with sexual behavior problems).   

In cases where the YPSB is under the age of twelve, delinquency petitions may not be 
filed.  However, the youth may still be able to access services through voluntary services or 
CHINS by working with DCYF and community providers, where certain services may be 
provided to these youth in an attempt to address the behavior.  

For older juvenile offenders, factors for consideration in determining whether a juvenile 
delinquency petition should be filed include the following:   

• Whether the offender was more than three years older than the victim;  
• Whether the offender used a weapon, force, threat of force or intimidation upon the 

victim; and  
• Whether the victim sustained serious physical or emotional injury from the abuse.   
The maturity, mental state, cognitive development and sophistication of the offender 

should also be considered.  
Child Advocacy Center forensic interviewers do not conduct suspect interviews of 

juveniles for purposes of criminal investigations.  CAC forensic interviewers will interview 
alleged juvenile perpetrators who are also suspected victims of abuse, however the interview 
will be for the purposes of investigating their suspected victimization only.  Prior to a 
CAC interview of the YPSB, it should be determined whether or not criminal charges may be 
filed against the juvenile alleged to have committed a sex offense.   

In cases where the perpetrator is between the ages of 7 and 11 years, a referral should be 
made to specialized mental health treatment with a therapist working on behavioral 
modification specializing in offender and victim treatment. 
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For perpetrators between the ages of 11 and 18 years, a juvenile delinquency petition 
should be considered if circumstances warrant.  If the matter moves towards Disposition, a 
recommendation to the Court for an offender risk assessment should be considered to 
determine risk to the victim and community and level of treatment needed. 

If the juvenile perpetrator is between the ages of 11 and 18 and is found incompetent, 
then a CHINS peitition may be an appropirate mechanism for services.  However, it does not 
adequetly address the victim or the behavior.  In cases of sexual assault, it should be 
addressed through delinquency proceedings.  Many sexual offender treatment programs will 
not take a YPSB in for treatment unless they have had a finding corroborating the sexually 
assaultive behavior.  This is part of the treatment were the offending youth begins taking 
responsibility for their behavior. 

In cases of aggravated felonious sexual assault by juveniles over the age of 13, the 
County Attorney’s Office may consider certifying the juvenile perpetrators for adult criminal 
prosecution purposes (RSA 628:1 and RSA 169-B:24). 

 
  

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/LXII/628/628-1.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/169-B/169-B-24.htm
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NEW HAMPSHIRE VICTIMS’ COMPENSATION 
PROGRAM 

The New Hampshire Victims’ Compensation Program offers crucial financial assistance 
to children who are the victims of a crime and their families.  Family members, who are also 
eligible for assistance under this program, include siblings, parents, grandparents and/or legal 
guardians.   

Families may suffer financial stress as devastating as their children’s physical injuries 
and emotional trauma.  Recovering from violence or abuse is difficult enough without having 
to worry about how to pay for the cost of medical care or counseling. 

Fortunately, the New Hampshire Victims’ Compensation Program can provide 
substantial financial assistance to crime victims and their families; and, while no amount of 
money can erase the trauma and grief victims suffer, this aid can be crucial in the aftermath 
of a crime.  

The Victims’ Compensation Program may pay for care that helps restore victims' 
physical and mental health.  For claims approved by the Victims’ Compensation Program, 
the following crime related expenses might be eligible for payment or reimbursement:  

• Medical care; 
• Mental health treatment; 
• Funerals; 
• Lost wages;  
• Security systems; 
• Travel costs to receive treatment;  
• Moving expenses; 
• Clothing or bedding held as evidence by 

police following a sexual assault; and 
• Removal of identifying tattoos or markings of 

human trafficking. 
In order to request assistance with crime related compensation, the victim or the 

parent/legal guardian must: 

• Report the crime promptly to law enforcement, and cooperate with police and 
prosecutors; 

• Submit a timely victim compensation application; 
• Have a cost or loss not covered by insurance or another government benefit program; 

and 
• Not have committed a criminal act or some substantially wrongful act that caused or 

contributed to the crime. 

THE FORENSIC SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAMINATION 
If the victim does not have insurance or opts not to use it, the cost for a forensic sexual 

assault examination may be billed to the Victims’ Compensation Program or written off by 
the hospital or medical provider.  It is important to note that hospitals and medical providers 

The Victims’ Compensation 
Program is the payer of last resort.  
Medical insurance and other 
available financial sources must be 
used first.  However, it is still 
important that victims file a claim 
as soon possible to ensure 
coverage of eligible expenses.   
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shall not bill a victim or the victim’s family for a forensic sexual examination (RSA 21-
M:8-c).  Please refer to pages 12-13 of the Sexual Assault: An Acute Care Protocol for 
Medical/Forensic Evaluation, Ninth Edition 2018, for more information.   

Informing victims about the availability of compensation is the responsibility of every 
individual who works with victims of crime.  For more details about the program contact: 

 
Victims’ Compensation Program, NH Attorney General’s Office 

33 Capitol Street 
Concord, NH 03301 

E-mail:  victimcomp@doj.nh.gov 
Website: https://www.doj.nh.gov/grants-management/victims-compensation-

program/faq.htm 
Online application: https://ccvcnh.org/ 

1-800-300-4500/ (603) 271-1284 
Messages can be left 24 hours, 7 days a week  

The office is open Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm 
  

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/I/21-M/21-M-8-c.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/I/21-M/21-M-8-c.htm
https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/documents/acute-care-protocol.pdf
https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/documents/acute-care-protocol.pdf
mailto:victimcomp@doj.nh.gov
https://www.doj.nh.gov/grants-management/victims-compensation-program/faq.htm
https://www.doj.nh.gov/grants-management/victims-compensation-program/faq.htm
https://ccvcnh.org/
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CONCLUSION 
It is society’s responsibility to provide protection and care for children with evidence-

based approaches and to support those dedicated to assuring the best possible outcomes. 
Policies, legislation and financial support are key components of a comprehensive system 
that can assure a brighter future for all children.  This protocol is intended to be a best 
practice document and all New Hampshire professionals responding to victims of child abuse 
and neglect are encouraged to follow these guidelines.   

This protocol was written and approved by a group of multidisciplinary professionals 
representing the agencies and organizations involved in investigating and providing services 
to child abuse and neglect victims.  This protocol emphasizes interagency collaboration, 
which is a best practice approach in investigating cases of child abuse.   

It is the hope of the Attorney General’s Task Force on Child Abuse and Neglect, the 
Division for Children, Youth and Families, and the Granite State Children’s Alliance that all 
New Hampshire children will benefit from the compassionate coordinated care which is the 
hallmark of a multidisciplinary, victim-centered approach to responding to child abuse and 
neglect.   
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APPENDIX A 
PHOTOGRAPH TEMPLATE 

 
(8½ X 5 ½ paper) 

 
FRONT 

 
 

__________________POLICE DEPARTMENT 
 

PHOTOGRAPHER:  _______________________________ 
 

DATE:  ________________ TIME:  ___________________ 
 

LOCATION:  _____________________________________ 
 

INCIDENT:  ______________________________________ 
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APPENDIX B 
RESOURCES 

 

New Hampshire Resources 
Listing of the Child Advocacy Centers  
https://www.cac-nh.org   
 
Department of Health and Human Services District Offices 
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/contactus/districtoffices.htm 
 
Domestic and Sexual Violence Crisis Centers  
https://www.nhcadsv.org/member-programs.html  
 
Victims’ Compensation Program 
https://www.doj.nh.gov/grants-management/victims-compensation-program/index.htm  
 
CASA NH 
https://casanh.org/  
 
County Victim/Witness Assistance Programs 
https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/assistance-programs.htm  
 
Code of Conduct for Educators 
https://www.education.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt326/files/inline-
documents/code_conduct.pdf  
 
Bureau of Student Wellness, Department of Education 
https://www.education.nh.gov/who-we-are/division-of-learner-support/bureau-of-student-
wellness  
 
Victims’ Bill of Rights 
https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/bill-of-rights.htm  
 
National Resources 
National Child Traumatic Stress Network 
https://www.nctsn.org/  
 
American Academy of Pediatrics  
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/collection/council-child-abuse-and-neglect   
 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) 
https://www.samhsa.gov  
 

https://www.cac-nh.org/
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/contactus/districtoffices.htm
https://www.nhcadsv.org/member-programs.html
https://www.doj.nh.gov/grants-management/victims-compensation-program/index.htm
https://casanh.org/
https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/assistance-programs.htm
https://www.education.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt326/files/inline-documents/code_conduct.pdf
https://www.education.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt326/files/inline-documents/code_conduct.pdf
https://www.education.nh.gov/who-we-are/division-of-learner-support/bureau-of-student-wellness
https://www.education.nh.gov/who-we-are/division-of-learner-support/bureau-of-student-wellness
https://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/bill-of-rights.htm
https://www.nctsn.org/
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/collection/council-child-abuse-and-neglect
https://www.samhsa.gov/
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The Adverse Childhood Experiences CDC website: 
https://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/acestudy/  
 
The Center on the Developing Child at Harvard 
www.developingchild.harvard.edu   
 
Trauma and Learning Policy Initiative (TLPI) 
https://traumasensitiveschools.org   
 
The National Children’s Alliance  
https://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org   
 
American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children 
https://www.apsac.org/  
 
International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies  
http://www.istss.org 
 
Training Resources 
 
Justice Resource Institute 
https://jri.org/training/finder/off/neurobiology-trauma-lamp-training  
 
National District Attorneys Association. 
https://ndaa.org/training-courses/  
 
Office for Victims of Crime 
https://www.ovcttac.gov/  
 
National Criminal Justice Training Center 
https://ncjtc.fvtc.edu/  
 
 
 
 
 
 

  

https://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/acestudy/
http://www.developingchild.harvard.edu/
https://traumasensitiveschools.org/
https://www.nationalchildrensalliance.org/
https://www.apsac.org/
http://www.istss.org/
https://jri.org/training/finder/off/neurobiology-trauma-lamp-training
https://ndaa.org/training-courses/
https://www.ovcttac.gov/
https://ncjtc.fvtc.edu/
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JOINT GUIDELINES FOR DCYF/LAW ENFORCEMENT 
ON MANDATORY NOTIFICATION, RECORD SHARING, 

& INVESTIGATIONS 

SUMMARY 

GUIDELINE #1: DCYF District Offices (DOs) and law enforcement agencies 
(LEAs) should collaborate to establish procedures pertaining to 
DCYF’s verbal notification to LEAs.  

GUIDELINE #2: DCYF DOs and LEAs should collaborate to establish procedures 
pertaining to DCYF’s written notification mandate. 

GUIDELINE #3: DCYF DOs and LEAs must designate supervisors to whom issues 
concerning RSA 169-C:38 notification procedures may be 
addressed, and must notify each other of those designations. 

GUIDELINE #4: DCYF DOs and LEAs must designate supervisors to whom issues 
concerning RSA 169-C:29 notification procedures may be 
addressed, and must notify each other of those designations. 

GUIDELINE #5: DCYF DOs and LEAs should collaborate to establish a procedure 
by which LEAs obtain DCYF records. 

GUIDELINE #6: LEAs must ensure that their officers provide DCYF with written 
reports when requested. 

GUIDELINE #7: LEAs should designate supervisors with whom DCYF DOs 
Supervisors may address issues concerning record-sharing 
procedures, and must notify DCYF DO Supervisor of those 
designations. 

GUIDELINE #8: During joint investigations, DCYF and LEAs must 
communicate plans regarding contact with children, family 
members, and other witnesses, to ensure that such plans do not 
impede either the abuse and neglect investigation or the criminal 
investigation.  

GUIDELINE #9: DCYF DOs and LEAs must designate supervisors to whom issues 
concerning joint investigations may be addressed, and must notify 
each other of those designations. 

APPENDIX D
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I.  MANDATORY NOTIFICATION: DCYF TO LAW ENFORCEMENT 
 

RSA 169-C:38, I, requires DCYF to “immediately” notify local law 
enforcement, by “by telephone or in person,” when there is reason to believe that a child  
has been the victim of  a crime. 

 
In addition, DCYF must make a written report of the suspected crime to law 

enforcement within 48 hours, Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays excluded. 
 
DCYF district offices (DCYF DOs) and local law enforcement agencies (LEAs) 

must work together to establish RSA 169-C:38 notification procedures that work for the 
particular DCYF DO and local LEA. The procedures may vary depending on local LEA 
size, staffing, and dispatch arrangements. 

A. IMMEDIATE VERBAL NOTIFICATION BY DCYF  
 

GUIDELINE # 1: DCYF DOs and LEAs should collaborate to establish 
procedures pertaining to DCYF’s verbal notification to LEAs.  
 
The following are suggested considerations: 

 
1. Who at DCYF is responsible for verbally notifying an LEA that there is 

reason to believe a child has been the victim of a crime?  
 
o DCYF has determined that the head DO Supervisor of each DCYF DO 

will be responsible for ensuring that LEAs are notified when DCYF has 
reason to believe that a child has been the victim of a crime. DCYF will 
provide the name and contact information of the head DO Supervisors to 
local LEAs, and will apprise local LEAs of any change to that 
information. See DCYF District Office list, attached. 

 
2. Who should DCYF notify at the LEA?  

 
o For some LEAs, the dispatch number may be the best number for DCYF 

to call to provide verbal notification under RSA 169-C:38. For others, 
the on-shift police supervisor, or another officer or group of officers, 
may be the best point of contact. 
 

o LEAs will identify the name, position, and contact information for the 
law enforcement officer(s) responsible for receiving verbal notification 
from DCYF, and will provide that information to the appropriate DCYF 
DO. 
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o LEAs will update contact information as necessary and forward it to the 
appropriate DCYF DO. 

 
3. Are there special circumstances which present particular challenges to 

DCYF’s ability to effectively communicate verbal notification to LEAs?  
 
o DCYF DOs and LEAs must identify the particular challenges, if any, to 

effective verbal notification under RSA 169-C:38. For example, do law 
enforcement shift-change times present special challenges to DCYF 
notification? Is the lack of cellular phone service an issue? 

 
o If challenges have been identified, determine how to best overcome 

them. 
 

o LEAs should determine whether cellular phone numbers or other back-
up numbers should be shared with DCYF for the purpose of enabling 
notification under RSA 169-C:38. 

 
4. What information must the DCYF DO Supervisor provide verbally to 

an LEA? 
 

o At a minimum, DCYF must provide an LEA with the name of the child 
victim, the child’s current address, the name of the person(s) alleged to 
have committed a crime against the child, and a summary of the 
allegations 

B. WRITTEN NOTIFICATION BY DCYF  

GUIDELINE #2: DCYF DOs and LEAs should collaborate to establish 
procedures pertaining to DCYF’s written notification mandate. In doing so, the 
following should be kept in mind: 
 
1. DCYF provides written notification to LEAs via a “Law Enforcement 

Letter.” The Letter is computer software-generated and contains 
information reported to the DCYF Intake Unit. DCYF has updated the 
format of the Letter to eliminate redundant and unnecessary information 
such as multiple address listings. DCYF anticipates that the new Letter will 
be utilized starting in April 2016. 
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2. To whom should DCYF address the written notification?  
 

o LEAs will designate an officer to whom the Letter should be addressed, 
and must provide that information to the DCYF DO Supervisor. LEAs 
must apprise the DCYF DO Supervisor of any changes to that 
information. 

 
o The DCYF DO Supervisor will ensure that RSA 169-C:38 notification 

Letters are sent to the officer designated by the LEA. 
 

3. How should DCYF and the LEAs best ensure that a designated law 
enforcement officer promptly receives the written notification?  
 
o The LEA will determine how the designated officer should receive the 

Letter, and must notify the DCYF DO Supervisor of this determination. 
For example, depending on the LEA, receiving the Letter by fax or email 
may be appropriate. The LEA must provide the DCYF DO Supervisor 
with fax numbers and/or email addresses as appropriate. 

 
o DCYF has found that the most efficient manner of getting written 

notification to an LEA is to establish an email group to which the Letter 
is sent. LEAs should consider whether this method of delivery is 
desirable, particularly in view of considerations like LEA shift changes, 
vacations, and other periodic absences.    

 
4. Are there special circumstances which present particular challenges to 

DCYF’s ability to effectively provide written notification to LEAs?  
 

o As with verbal notification, DCYF DOs and LEAs must identify the 
particular challenges, if any, to effective communication of written 
notification under RSA 169-C:38, and must determine how to overcome 
them.  

 
o For example, if an LEA determines that DCYF notification Letters 

should be sent by fax, can the LEA ensure that the fax machine is 
checked regularly? If it isn’t, is email the better delivery method?  

 
o The LEA must also decide how to manage receipt of the Letter when the 

designated officer is not on duty, and must communicate that 
determination to the DCYF DO Supervisor. 
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5. What content does the Letter include?  
 

o The DCYF Law Enforcement Letter contains the following: 
 
 Abuse/neglect reporter information, unless the reporter is 

anonymous. 
 The name of DCYF Supervisor reporting the crime, and the name 

of the LEA officer to whom the report is being made. 
 Victim information. 
 Parent/guardian information pertaining to the victim and to other 

children in the home. 
 Alleged perpetrator information. 
 Basic information concerning other household members. 
 The date on and municipality in which the crime was allegedly 

committed. 
 The details of the alleged abuse or neglect, as documented by the 

DCYF Intake Unit. 
 An indication, consisting of DCYF Referral numbers, as to 

whether DCYF has received prior reports of abuse or neglect. 
 

o As noted, the Law Enforcement Letter will indicate whether DCYF has 
received prior reports of abuse or neglect concerning the child victim(s). 
If desired, LEAs should request information on prior reports from the 
DCYF DO which has provided the Law Enforcement Letter.  

 
 

C. WHICH CRIMES MUST DCYF REPORT?   
 
 RSA 169-C:38, I, lists five types of harm to a child which DCYF must report to 
the local LEA when DCYF reasonably suspects that the child has been subjected to 
such harm. They are:  
 

- Sexual molestation;  
- Sexual exploitation;  
- Intentional physical injury causing serious bodily injury; 
- Physical injury by other than accidental means causing serious bodily injury; 

and 
- Any circumstance in which the child is “a victim of a crime.”  
 
Crimes in New Hampshire are primarily defined in the Criminal Code, which is 

found in Title 62 of the New Hampshire statutes. 
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AGO TASK FORCE ACTIONS:  
 

The Attorney General’s Task Force on Child Abuse & Neglect will coordinate 
training for DCYF DO staff on the intersection of RSA 169-C:38, I, and the 
criminal code, and the issue of what conduct must be reported to law 
enforcement under RSA 169-C:38. 
 
 

 
D. PROBLEM-SOLVING 

 
GUIDELINE #3: DCYF DOs and LEAs must designate supervisors to whom 
issues concerning RSA 169-C:38 notification procedures may be addressed, and 
must notify each other of those designations. 
 
- If issues arise concerning notification, the designated DCYF DO and LEA 

supervisors must work together to promptly resolve them in a mutually 
satisfactory manner.  
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II.  MANDATORY NOTIFICATION: LAW ENFORCEMENT TO DCYF 
 

Under RSA 169-C:29, every person who has “reason to suspect that a child has 
been abused or neglected” is a mandated reporter and must report his or her suspicions 
to DCYF. Under RSA 169-C:30, the oral report must be made “immediately.” 
“Abused” and “neglected” are terms that are defined by statute. See RSA 169-C:3.  
 

The mandatory reporting statute specifically lists “law enforcement officials” 
amongst the types professionals who must report child abuse and neglect.  

 
RSA 169-C:30 makes explicit what information must at a minimum be included 

in the report to DCYF, if that information is known: 
 
- The name and address of the child suspected of being neglected or abused. 
- The name and address of the person responsible for the child’s welfare. 
- The specific information indicating neglect or the nature and extent of the 

child’s injuries (including any evidence of previous injuries).  
- The identity of the person or persons suspected of being responsible for such 

neglect or abuse. 
- Any other information that might be helpful in establishing neglect or abuse 

or that may be required by the department. 

 The statute directs law enforcement officers to provide a written report of the 
allegations within 48 hours if requested by DCYF. 

 
 
GUIDELINE #4: DCYF DOs and LEAs must designate supervisors to whom 
issues concerning RSA 169-C:29 notification procedures may be addressed, and 
must notify each other of those designations. 
 
- If issues arise concerning notification, the designated DCYF DO and LEA 

supervisors must work together to promptly resolve them in a mutually 
satisfactory manner.  

 
 
AGO TASK FORCE ACTIONS:  
 
The Attorney General’s Task Force on Child Abuse & Neglect will coordinate 
training for law enforcement officers concerning the definitions of abuse and 
neglect and law enforcement officers’ obligations under the mandatory reporting 
statute. 
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III.  RECORD SHARING 
 

A. PROVIDING DCYF RECORDS TO LAW ENFORCEMENT  
 
 By statute, DCYF case records are confidential. See RSA 169-C:25, III.  
 

Under RSA 169-C:34-a, III, and RSA 169-C:38, II, however, DCYF must share 
its case records with partnering law enforcement officers.  
 

When investigating child-abuse related crime, law enforcement can and should 
request relevant records from DCYF. DCYF must provide these records upon request. 
 

 
GUIDELINE #5: DCYF DOs and LEAs should collaborate to establish a 
procedure by which LEAs obtain DCYF records, bearing in mind the following: 
 
1. To whom at DCYF should law enforcement make the request for 

records? DCYF has determined that each DO Supervisor is responsible for 
assuring timely response for DCYF records related to child abuse and 
neglect investigations. See DCYF District Office list, attached. 

 
2. How should the request be made? LEAs must request DCYF records in 

writing, by sending a letter or email request to the local DCYF DO 
Supervisor. 

 
o When making the request, law enforcement must identify the reason for 

the request and the date by which the records are needed.  
 

3. Which records should law enforcement request? Requests for specific 
types of records—versus “the whole file”—may expedite DCYF processing 
time. Some examples of DCYF records are intake and assessment reports, 
service or case plans, case logs, termination reports, and a list of persons or 
entities providing services to the child or family. DO Supervisors should 
explain the types of DCYF records to LEAs. 

 
4. How will DCYF process the request for records?  

 
o Upon receipt of the written request from the LEA, if the requesting 

officer has not indicated the specific types of records needed, the DCYF 
DO Supervisor will contact the officer to help determine which records 
might be most useful to the criminal investigation. 
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o The DCYF DO Supervisor will also review DCYF’s BRIDGES 
computer software program to determine whether other DOs have 
records pertinent to the request. If such records exist, DCYF has 
determined that the DCYF DO Supervisor shall request those records 
from the other DO(s). 
 

5. When should LEAs expect to receive the records?  
 

o DCYF will provide records requested by law enforcement within 30 days 
of receiving the written request, and sooner if possible. 
 

o If the need for records is urgent, law enforcement must communicate the 
basis for the urgency to DCYF. DCYF will expedite its processing of 
records in exigent circumstances. 

 

B. PROVIDING LAW ENFORCEMENT RECORDS TO DCYF   
 
 Information generated by a criminal investigation into child-abuse related crime 
is often critical to DCYF efforts to initiate and sustain an abuse and neglect petition or 
other protective action.  
 

RSA 169-C:34, III mandates law enforcement to provide “such assistance and 
information as will enable” DCYF to conduct investigations into the safety and well-
being of children. Accordingly, law enforcement officers must provide information 
from a criminal investigation when it is requested by DCYF. 

 
 

GUIDELINE #6: LEAs must ensure that their officers provide DCYF with 
written reports when requested. 

 
- For effective presentation of a case in court, DCYF requires investigative 

reports from law enforcement.  
 

- When due to the status of the criminal investigation it is not possible for an 
LEA to provide DCYF with investigative reports, the LEA must provide 
DCYF with a written summary of the facts for use in child protection 
proceedings. 
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C. PROBLEM-SOLVING 

 
GUIDELINE #7: LEAs should designate supervisors with whom DCYF DOs 
Supervisors may address issues concerning record-sharing procedures, and must 
notify DCYF DO Supervisor of those designations. 
 
- If issues arise concerning record-sharing, DCYF DO Supervisors and LEA 

supervisors must work together to promptly resolve them in a mutually 
satisfactory manner.  
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IV.  INVESTIGATION 
 

 In most cases, DCYF abuse/neglect proceedings and criminal investigations 
proceed at very different paces.  

 
For example, other than the statutes of limitations, criminal investigations are 

not subject to statutory constraints on timing.  
 
By contrast, by statute DCYF must “promptly” investigate reports of abuse and 

neglect, be prepared for a preliminary hearing within 7 days of filing an abuse and 
neglect petition in family court, and for an adjudicatory within 30 days of that if the 
child is in an out-of-home placement. See RSA 169-C:8; RSA 169-C:16; RSA 169-
C:34.   

 
In addition, the investigation methodologies utilized by DCYF and law 

enforcement are not the same. These differences in timing and approach can result in 
unintended conflict. 

 
 
GUIDELINE #8: During a joint investigation, DCYF and the LEA must 
communicate plans regarding contact with children, family members, and other 
witnesses, to ensure that such plans do not impede either the abuse and neglect 
investigation or the criminal investigation.  
 
 
GUIDELINE #9: DCYF DOs and LEAs must designate supervisors to whom 
issues concerning joint investigations may be addressed, and must notify each 
other of those designations. 

 
 

 AGO TASK FORCE ACTIONS:  
 

The Attorney General’s Task Force on Child Abuse & Neglect will coordinate 
training for DCYF and law enforcement concerning the differing ways in which 
DCYF and criminal investigations and prosecutions proceed, including the way 
in which statutory definitions and standards of proof differ. 
 
The Task Force will also coordinate training for DCYF concerning criminal 
investigation techniques. 
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