
 
Threshold for Requirement for Audited Financial Statements Increased to $2 million 

 
Under current law, charitable organizations with revenue, gains, and other support of 
$1,000,000 or more are required to file with their annual reports and Forms 990 audited financial 
statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. During the 
2022 session, the New Hampshire Legislature enacted a law that increased the threshold to 
$2,000,000, effective August 6, 2022.  
 
As a result, any charitable organization with revenue, gains, and other support of $2,000,000 or 
more is required to file with the Charitable Trusts Unit audited financial statements, along with 
their Form 990 and annual reports. Any charitable organization with revenue, gains, and other 
support of between $500,000 and $1,999,999 must submit with their Forms 990 generally 
accepted accounting principles financial statements that may or may not be prepared by a 
certified public accountant. 
 
This change applies to all charitable organizations with a fiscal year ending 
after August 6, 2022. 
 
  



 

For all charitable organizations with a fiscal year ending after August 6, 2022: 

 

Filing  
Requirements 

New Hampshire-
Based Charitable 
Corporations or 
Associations 
 

Out of State 
Charitable 
Corporations or 
Associations 

Express 
Trusts/Private 
Foundations 

Filing Fee $75  $75  $75  

Annual Report Form 
NHCT-12 submitted 
under oath by 
president or treasurer 

NHCT-12 submitted 
under oath by 
president or 
treasurer 

NHCT-12 submitted under 
oath by president, 
treasurer, or trustee 

Financial Report 
Schedule A or Form 990 
or 990-EZ (990-N is not 
acceptable) 

Schedule A or Form 
990 or 990-EZ (990-
N is not acceptable) 

Form 990-PF 

Governing Board List 
Schedule B or a 
document with 
equivalent information 

Schedule B or list of 
Board members in 
Form 990 or 990-EZ 

Schedule B or list of 
trustees on Form 990-PF 

Conflict of 
Interest/Governance 
Report 

Schedule C N/A N/A 

Financial 
Statements/Accountings 

GAAP financial 
statements if revenue is 
between $500,000 and 
$1,999,999 
 
Audited GAAP financial 
statements if revenue 
reaches $2,000,000 or 
more 

N/A 

Copy of accounting filed 
with probate court (if filing 
with probate court is 
required) 

Additional Reports (if 
applicable) 

Schedule D (Charitable 
Gift Annuity) 
 
Schedule E (Withdrawal 
due to dissolution, 
merger, ceases 
operations in NH) 
 
Community Benefits 
Report (for healthcare 
organizations) 

Schedule D 
(Charitable Gift 
Annuity) 
 
Schedule E 
(Withdrawal due to 
dissolution, merger, 
ceases operations 
in NH) 
 
Community 
Benefits Report (for 
healthcare 
organizations) 

Schedule E (Withdrawal due 
to dissolution, merger, 
ceases operations in NH) 
 

 


